Regular price: $15.98

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!

The Eagle's Prophecy is the powerful sixth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell.

The Adriatic Sea, AD 45. Cato and Macro, centurions of the Roman army, are horrified to learn that they face possible execution after the death of their commanding officer. Fortunately, the Emperor's secretary is willing to offer them an alternative: to join the marines and hunt down a band of brutal pirates who are decimating not only Rome's reputation, but also a critical supply chain.

As they discover the true horror of battle at sea, Macro and Cato must also remember their real mission: to recover from those pirates a set of scrolls that hold secrets vital to the future of the Roman Empire. Rome will do anything to get them back....

©2005 Simon Scarrow (P)2012 Headline Digital

Critic Reviews

"It's Spartacus meets Master and Commander in this rip-roaring, thoroughly entertaining tale of swashbuckling adventure from one of the most exciting writers in historical fiction." ( Brisbane News)
"Ferocious and compelling." ( Daily Express)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    102
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    86
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    87
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jean
  • Santa Cruz, CA, United States
  • 03-21-16

Intrigue, treachery and lots of action

This is book six in the series. I have been able to read only episodes one and three as Audible does not carry the other volumes. The year is 45 AD; Centurions Marco and Cato are in Rome awaiting the results of an official investigation of the death of a fellow officer in Britain. Cato may face a death sentence. Imperial Secretary Narcissus sends Marco and Cato on a special mission to rescue an Imperial agent captured by Illyrian pirates and return the Delphic Scrolls the agent was carrying.

The book is well written, fast paced with lots of action and naval battles as well as land battles. Scarrow features the Roman Navy in this story including its structure of command as well as information about the type of ships used. Our Hero's fight side by side with the Roman Marines and learn techniques to fight aboard ships. Russell Boulter did a good job narrating the story. I wish the publisher's would stay with one narrator throughout the series.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awwsome

I absolutely love this series just as good as Conn Igleden and Bernard Cornwell. good read

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Regrettably the weakest in the series so far.<br />

Aside from the change in tone/performance, the story is lacking aswell. it's alright, not great.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • daveyates
  • 07-05-17

Okay but very hammy performance

The story is fine, a good adventure romp and a good addition to the Makro and Cato books, but this book sees a change of narrator. The book was played out to impressions of Terry Thomas, Leslie Phillips, Michael Caine, Captain Pugwash, Ernst Blofelt and Quasimodo. It was pretty ridiculous.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Phil C
  • 02-20-18

Frustrating narration!

If you're a follower of Macro and Cato, this will be familiar territory. An enemy to face and overcome, internal treachery and Roman politics, all going at a cracking pace.
But the big issue I have with this book is the narration. Not in itself - Russell Boulter is a fine narrator and in isolation does a good job. But Macro has apparently relocated his accent from London to Liverpool/ Manchester and it's off putting because it doesn't fit with the mental image of the character built up in the earlier audiobooks.
So far in narration for this series we've had three David Thorpes, two Jonathan Keebles and two Russell Boulters. Next we're going back to Jonathan Keeble all the way to book 16 - oh apart from book 11 which is Gareth Armstrong! Why can't the publisher retain the same narrator, or if that's not possible, at least agree with the new narrator that the characterisation remains consistent?
But all that said, another good yarn from Simon Scarrow.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Josur
  • 10-09-17

A filler story with a poor performance...

Ok, so I've enjoyed the other books in this series. The camaraderie between the two lead characters is endearing and the historical slant of their adventures is engaging.

This story however struggled to keep my interest with a series of clanging hints of what is to come and a protracted ending that left me hoping the pirates would just do me the favour of finishing off the Roman's whilst Vitelius trundles down another well trod path of deception.

With all that said the plodding story line is nothing compared to the reader on this book. As has been said on other reviews I understand that the same voice actor can on occasion not be used book to book however at least let them listen to the previous book to get a feel for how the audience expect the characters to sound and have their names pronounced.

It appears from this book's performance that Macro has spent too long campaigning in Britain as he now has a Lancastrian accent whilst Verspasian (previously pronounced Ver-SPAY-tion, now Ver-SPASS-ion) presumably wants to hide his identity and has started sounding like Christian Bales' Batman. Other former characters are treated to a selection of nasal whiny tones and it also appears that Michael Caine puts in an appearance thankfully stopping short of asking to blow the doors off the citadel.

All in all not great, it seems that the author is trying to setup further intrigue for later books in the series but to be honest a short summation would have been enough and certainly would have saved me a number of hours groaning and shouting at the voice actor for making this audio book frustrating at best to listen to.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Simon
  • 10-13-16

I Finally Caved In!

About a year ago I said that I was stuck because books 4 and 5 in this series were not available. Sadly at the time of writing that's still the case but I finally caved in. This series is massively fun and despite missing the two books it was excellent to catch up with Macro and Cato once again.

Things have obviously changed since I last spent time with them but all of the things that were strong previously are still very much in evidence. Simon Scarrow ably demonstrates an excellent knowledge of the time period and this time we are treated to some chariot racing and naval action.

The humour between the two main characters made me smile, particularly the scene where Cato charges the enemy!

There is lots of action, no little intrigue and at times a light touch. I won't be leaving it a year before the next one.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mr. Sjb Horth
  • 06-01-17

Good book spoiled by the reader

Another good book in the series but the narrator is just not right which is a shame

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • david Crompton
  • 08-08-18

brilliant

like all the books in this series , cant wait for the next one ! I

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 07-31-18

an enjoyable story marred a bit by the narrator not quite the same as the previous narrator.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Abigail Wheatley
  • 04-21-18

Great story

I love these books. The story is another good one with twists, turns and intrigue. The new narrator is good. The only thing I don't like is his version of Vespasian's voice.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Will
  • 03-16-18

Solid addition, but different narrator

As many others have said, the narrator is quite different in this installment from the previous two who were much more similar. You will have to get used to several complete changes in voice and accent for most characters.

The part most difficult to adjust to and which I still dislike is Macro who now has a strong Yorkshire accent, its too hard to adjust to and never really works, and while Cato is voiced in an aristocratic voice sometimes the narrator slips into Yorkshire for him too which really doesn't fit. Vespasian I'd also a bit too extreme.

However the other voices are good quality, and some are excellent and unique. I feel like the other reviews are too harsh on this, even if some are slightly comical they're all distinguished, I especially liked he pirate leader and Ajax's voices.

The plot on this one seems a bit weaker than others, it does seem to mostly be setting up the future books which is fine I guess. Cato has some good character development in this one and it's good to see Macro get more background but in terms of events happening it's a bit A straight to B.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MISS TJ JACKSON
  • 02-06-18

Awful narrator

Love these books but narrator ruined it. Macro suddenly has a northern accent. Hated it.


Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • kevinplee@hotmail.com
  • 05-14-18

Lovin' it

Brilliant narration though the previous books were read by a different narrator so the differences in some pronunciations, especially names was a frustration ...you just have to let it go I learned. Once I relaxed into it I was home with the two main characters again and their adventure. I like how these books leave you eager for the next chapter.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Paul
  • 02-03-18

Great story - pity about the narrator

The change of narrator has significantly lowered my enjoyment of the series. Great story by Scarrow as always but this will be my last.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rhys
  • 10-13-17

Good Listen

Vespasian = "Im Batman!"

I enjoyed the performance and the story is entertaining but the voice for Vespasian didn't fit the character

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Craig
  • 06-26-17

Excellent

love it . look forward to the next adventure of these two brave men. Eagles