Regular price: $14.91

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!

Praetorian is the gripping eleventh novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

AD 51. Legionaries Cato and Macro have forged a bond that has survived war, rebellion and torture. Yet nothing has prepared them for a daunting mission on the deadliest battlefield of all: the bloody streets of Rome.

Traitors are threatening to plunge the Empire into bloody chaos and no one can be trusted. The Emperor has ordered Cato and Macro to go on a deadly mission, working undercover to root out the traitors before Rome tears itself apart.

As the true scale of the corruption dawns, they realise they are facing terrifying odds. Two men against many, in a desperate race to save not only the Empire, but each other....

©2011 Simon Scarrow (P)2011 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic Reviews

"I don't need this kind of competition." (Bernard Cornwell)
"A good, uncomplicated, rip-roaring read." ( Mail on Sunday)
"A new book in Simon Scarrow's series about the Roman army is always a joy." ( The Times)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    93
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The best Macro and Cato to date

I have read all of the books and listened to unabridged audio of the series.

This is without doubt one of the most thrilling Macro and Cato stories in the series. It is the only volume set completely in Rome - the others are set in various countries where the two are sent and are more concerned with Roman Legion in which they serve.

In this book we are dealing with a conspriacy to murder the Emperior Claudius in 51AD. Macro and Cato go undercover as members of Praetorian Guards to ferret out the conspiracy against the Emperor. As usual they are working for Narcissus, the Emperor's Secretary. Some of the great historical names of the period are involved in the story such as Agrippina, Tigellinus, the future Emperor Nero etc.

As always the story moves along at a fast pace and it is hard to stop listening to it, as it is so excitement.

Simon Scarrow brings the period to life as he does in all the books of the series. It is unfortunate that Audible only has some of the earlier books in abridged format.

This is a great series and a great you won't be sorry you listened to it.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • beau
  • melbourne, Australia
  • 06-28-12

An ancient who done it.

This was my first venture into audiobook fiction.
If you like Roman history, and you were a fan of HBO's 'Rome', You'll be glued to this one.
Im going to seek his other stuff out, post haste.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good read

If you like the Cato /Macro dynamic...this is a good one. A long "detective" style adventure!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I'm biased because I like the series

again fast because I like the serious I think it's funny well written. apparently our view has to be longer than 15 words so Roman history is cool if you get past all the horrible stuff they used to do.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-14-15

Good Story awful performance.

Would you try another book written by Simon Scarrow or narrated by Gareth Armstrong?

Yes. the series is very good, with a good amount of intrigue and action.

What other book might you compare Praetorian to, and why?

Very similiar to the more political Sharpe Books

What didn’t you like about Gareth Armstrong’s performance?

Half of the characters sounds like old and feeble men despite contrary descriptions in the story itself. The voice action is more like a reading of a childrens story rather than an adult book. Difficult to identify some of the comments between the main characters. The actor obviously had a lot of saliva in his mouth during various parts of the performance as you can hear it in the recording.

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Praetorian?

happy with the story.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Simon
  • 09-25-17

A Dip in a Fine Series

This is one of my favourite series but for the first time it's hard to give it a high rating. The story is sound enough and it's a fascinating and viable thought that these two heroes of the legions might be in just as much danger surrounded by the political machinations of Rome as on any battlefield.

There are problems though. The narration is a long way below the standard of previous books and this has clearly been recognised as subsequent books see the return of Maestro Keeble. Armstrong's characters had much less personality with the lead duo seeming to suffer the most.

The plot itself is okay and there are some great Macro and Cato moments of dialogue. However, there is less action and the identities of the bad guys are fairly obvious nay given away early on. I also thought the Praetorian Guard were stereotyped a little harshly given the role that most historians agree they played.

So, I still enjoyed it but as an overall experience it felt a little lacking compared to other books in the series so far.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • James
  • 02-01-17

Great story spoilt by the narration

I enjoy these books but the constant change of narrator spoils them. This narrator especially.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 12-16-16

good story let down by the narrator

Although the story was full of the usual Simon Scarrow twists and turns, our unlucky heros faced with dealing with the nest of vipers of political rome was badly let down with the narration of this book. Gareth Armstrong made the characters of this book sound like a monty python sketch, the officers high pitched and stereotypically nassel voices grated against the commoners sounding like Brian's mother from a life of Brian.......Cato sounded weak and Macro like an old moron......I was greatly put off from getting the next book until I realised the narrator had been replaced with Keebles and I can once again enjoy the adventures of Cato and Macro.....for the story it is genuinely worth getting, if you can get past the silly narration, if not get a copy of the book and read it as I wish I had done and will do if Gareth Armstrong narrates another of the eagles series.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Tony Starks
  • 10-20-16

Love but narrator disappointing

Have read every book so far so no surprises, good story, great characters. The only let down was the narrator, he made Cato and Macro sound like teenage boys!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Carole
  • 02-16-16

Brilliant

Just like the other books in this series , you are drawn into the plot and can't put the book down until it is finished!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Andrew Sutton
  • 04-20-15

The narrator's not in keeping with the books

The narrator makes the characters sound pretty wimpy, especially when Cato and Macro are shouting commands or showing frustration. Jonathan Keeble was much better

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Alastair Majury
  • 11-24-13

Great Performance and Story

What made the experience of listening to Praetorian the most enjoyable?

I am a big fan of Simon Scarrow's Macro & Cato series of books, I have read all of his books and listening to the books again as a way of refreshing my memory. I found the audio version of the book to be very good.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Mr. Anthony D. Bateman
  • 03-29-18

spy

I find it strange that at some point a writer feels the need to change structure and write what is after all a spy thriller. I enjoyed the book but didn't love it like all the others in series. a rather bland change in narrator did much to numb me against it too.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-28-18

Good story bad narrator

Geest story but the narrator seems to have some problem
Constant sound of him swallowing between sentences does get incredibly annoying

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • William
  • 04-30-17

Another outstanding book.

Once again a great book in the Eagle Series. I am absolutely hooked to these books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ky
  • 08-31-15

Another great read!

Simon Scarrow hasn't disappointed with Praetorian, it is so well written and I am just mad about Gareth Armstrong's narration. He does the change up of voices so well.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Paul
  • 03-13-15

good yarn. .😊

as i have read all Simon Scarrow books the stories are great but i thoughg narrator was a little flat would improve if it was read as a play..☺