Regular price: $31.93

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A sharp, skilled and utterly fearless archer in the army of King Edward III, young Thomas of Hookton has been making his way through France for three years now, fighting fiercely alongside the English troops. But being a soldier in the great Hundred Years War is only a means to an end: Thomas of Hookton is hot on the trails of the man who brutally slaughtered his father and stole his only treasure - rumored to be the Holy Grail - from the ancient church of Hookton. All Europe wants the grail, and though many doubt it even exists, no one would willingly allow an enemy to find Christendom's most precious relic. To seek revenge and reclaim what's rightfully his, Thomas finds himself in a murderous race with the dangerous black rider who keeps cunningly eluding his grasp.

In the tradition of Ken Follett and Edward Rutherford, Heretic is the third book in Bernard Cornwell's remarkable new series about the search for the Holy Grail.

©2003 Bernard Cornwell (P)2014 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    312
  • 4 Stars
    112
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    304
  • 4 Stars
    85
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    277
  • 4 Stars
    90
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Barbara
  • POTTSTOWN, PA, United States
  • 02-27-15

my favorite of the grail quest series

I was sad to be done with this series. i totally enjoyed the narrator. I would like to read more of Thomas of Hookton tales

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

enjoyed!

I'm not a huge fan of detailed sword and battle violence, but it did not significantly detract from the story for me. Loved the whole trilogy.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

very interesting historical fiction

great listen just like all his books, great mix of history and fiction, enjoyed it

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • CRS
  • Texas
  • 11-08-16

Rich and fierce

Another excellent novel by Cornwell. The history is well researched and the characters are captivating. As a Follower of Jesus who is often frustrated with the organized church, I appreciate the allusions to sincere faith being more broadly defined by a couple of medieval "heretics".

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Thomas of Hooktan

I seriously don't know where to begin & end praising Bernard Cornwells historical novels. This series has me as captivated as Uhtred of Bebbanburg. I love history especially historical wars before guns when everything was sheer strength & cunning. The man is a genius!!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Elizabeth
  • HERNANDO, MS, United States
  • 03-25-16

once again, a masterpiece

Cornwell spins a tale like no other. His attention to detail is superb. The reader gets the texture, the reality of life and war in the middle ages. well done.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Love this series

Was looking for more after I finished with Uhtred. Love Thomas! Great series so far. Interesting and historically enriching. Downloading 1356 now...

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

picture perfect history

Enthralling mental picture of the 14th century in every page. An exciting and accurate look at the life and times of both peasant and nobility.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Skip this one

Not one of his good ones. Pales in comparison to Agincourt. The reader did what he could with a weak plot.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • jeffrey
  • MILTON, WI, United States
  • 01-22-15

Great story well read

Loved the book and the series very descriptive, the long bows dominance was something I didn't know about before this series.