We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Gather the Daughters Audiobook

Gather the Daughters

Regular Price:$20.65
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Emma Cline's The Girls and Emily St John Mandel's Station 11, this dark, unsettling and hugely compelling story of an isolated island cult will get under your skin.

On a small isolated island, there's a community that lives by its own rules. Boys grow up knowing they will one day reign inside and outside the home, while girls know they will be married and pregnant within moments of hitting womanhood. But before that time comes, there is an island ritual that offers children an exhilarating reprieve. Every summer they are turned out onto their doorsteps to roam wild: they run, they fight, they sleep on the beach and build camps in trees. They are free.

It is at the end of one of these summers, as the first frost laces the ground, that one of the younger girls witnesses something she was never supposed to see. And she returns home, muddy and terrified, clutching in her small hand a truth that could unravel their carefully constructed island world forever.

©2017 Jennie Melamed (P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (5 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.5 (4 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
3.8 (4 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Wendy Cape town, South Africa 09-29-17
    Wendy Cape town, South Africa 09-29-17 Member Since 2017
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    58
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good novel, kid story book narration."

    I'm actually still listening to this, and it's a good novel. But what is it with American narrators? They perform like we're an audience of 6 year-olds, or like they're doing the voiceover for a detergent commercial. I usually avoid American narrators for that reason, but I really wanted to get this audiobook, so now I have to put up with this bright, bouncy, optimistic, sing-song delivery. This is a dystopian novel, for heaven's sake. It shouldn't be read like it's Winnie the Pooh. But some people won't mind this, I suppose.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.