Regular price: $28.51

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

When a 14-year-old runs away, her parents turn to social media to find her - launching a public campaign that will expose their darkest secrets and change their family forever in this suspenseful and gripping debut for fans of Reconstructing Amelia and Gone Girl.

Don’t try to find me. Though the message on the kitchen white board is written in Marley’s hand, her mother Rachel knows there has to be some other explanation. Marley would never run away.

As the days pass and it sinks in that the impossible has occurred, Rachel and her husband Paul are informed that the police have "limited resources." If they want their 14-year-old daughter back, they will have to find her themselves. Desperation becomes determination when Paul turns to Facebook and Twitter, and launches FindMarley.com.

But Marley isn’t the only one with secrets.

With public exposure comes scrutiny, and when Rachel blows a television interview, the dirty speculation begins. Now, the blogosphere is convinced Rachel is hiding something. It's not what they think; Rachel would never hurt Marley. Not intentionally, anyway. But when it’s discovered that she’s lied, even to the police, the devoted mother becomes a suspect in Marley's disappearance.

Is Marley out there somewhere, watching it all happen, or is the truth something far worse?

©2014 Holly Brown (P)2014 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    87
  • 4 Stars
    83
  • 3 Stars
    64
  • 2 Stars
    31
  • 1 Stars
    7

Performance

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    98
  • 4 Stars
    83
  • 3 Stars
    43
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    6

Story

  • 3.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    76
  • 4 Stars
    71
  • 3 Stars
    54
  • 2 Stars
    28
  • 1 Stars
    15
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Kate
  • Saco, ME, United States
  • 08-09-14

Tedious Melodrama

The story is about Marley, a 14 year old girl who runs away from home to join her boyfriend who she met online. That's an interesting plotline and it could have been good except its way too drawn out and focuses more on the mother's thoughts and feelings than on Marley's. That also could have been good if it were not done is such a tedious manner. Every little thought and doubt is expressed repeatedly to the point you just want to gag.

The book is promoted as revealing all the families deep dark secrets as their ordeal unfolds; however, their secrets are really pretty minor and are typical of most families. Also, Marley's reason for running away is not much of an issue.

I know many teenagers are gullible, but its really hard to be believe someone is that stupid as her thought process unfolds.

I barely got through listening to this one.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Blah!

What disappointed you about Don't Try to Find Me?

It wasn't a mystery story like I thought it would be. It was rather boring.

Has Don't Try to Find Me turned you off from other books in this genre?

No. I was recommended this book based on my love of Gillian Flynn books. This does not compare at all.

What about the narrators’s performance did you like?

The narrators, I think there was more than one, did a fine job.

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

Disappointment

Any additional comments?

It was boring and I was glad when it was over.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Solid listen - Will appeal to fans of Gone Girl

Any additional comments?

It was a good listen. It was a bit predictable at times, but I still wasn't positive on how it was going to end until it ended. I agree with a previous reviewer that at times the mother was a bit annoying, however the story was about her too, not just the daughter. The father didn't develop into a strong character but that may have been intentional and meant to be part of the overall problem. It kept me engaged to and from my long commute. <br/><br/>It alternated chapters between the mother's view of what was going on and what was happening to the daughter. "B" was appropriately creepy from the start. While not as strong as Flynn's Gone Girl, I think if you liked that book, you would like this one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Not really a thriller, but a great read.

If you could sum up Don't Try to Find Me in three words, what would they be?

Captivating, unexpected, worthy

What was one of the most memorable moments of Don't Try to Find Me?

How each parent reacts to their missing daughter and how that changes, but expands their relationship.

What does the narrators bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

I did synced and did both. I prefer the paper version, but the narrators worked well together, which isn't always true with multiple narrators.

If you could take any character from Don't Try to Find Me out to dinner, who would it be and why?

I would like to be a reporter and take Michael out... He did so much damage he did and how selfish he was. A nice expose

Any additional comments?

The characters are well developed. I think it was classified as thriller, because you never know what will happen. But what does finally happen isn't sensational, it is human.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great listen!

I loved this book! I listened to the whole thing in less than a week. This story helped me enjoy my drive to and from work daily. I even listened when I'd go run errands at lunch. The characters were interested and I loved the plot!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

mind blowing

Riveting kept me listening. I could feel their pain and I cried hard to put my tablet down

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Tammy
  • Groveport, OH, United States
  • 06-27-15

Great read!

New author for me!! Glad I got the suggestion. Love when an author switches narratives.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Disappointing...

Would you try another book from Holly Brown and/or the narrators?

No

What was most disappointing about Holly Brown’s story?

I thought this was described as a mystery/thriller type read. It turned out to be just a story of a spoiled brat 15 y/o with a slightly imperfect family trying to make much ado about nothing. The plot of an on-line boyfriend/rendezvous was somewhat believable....but then it was so slow and without interest, I could hardly finish it. You find yourself hoping that something deep and troubling had happened to this family in the past and there would be some secret/mystery revealed....instead you got a distracted father and a suburban mother that likes pills....seriously, this is a mystery? If I did miss something, there is no way I could go back and listen again.

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of the narrators?

The only narrator that I liked was the guy. The mother and the teenager were annoying.

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

Disappointment

Any additional comments?

I have never reviewed anything before and I apologize for being so negative, but before others spend their money on this, they should know that it isn't a mystery/thriller.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Not a very interesting story

it was just a very basic story line. not very interesting, u were never on the edge of your seat. not worth the time

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good listen.

This book was good but not great. I would have liked a little more depth but don't get me wrong it was still a good book.