Your audiobook is waiting…

Devil's Daughter

The Ravenels Meet the Wallflowers
Narrated by: Mary Jane Wells
Length: 8 hrs and 51 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (513 ratings)
Regular price: $30.79
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Although beautiful young widow Phoebe, Lady Clare, has never met West Ravenel, she knows one thing for certain: He’s a mean, rotten bully. Back in boarding school, he made her late husband’s life a misery, and she’ll never forgive him for it. But when Phoebe attends a family wedding, she encounters a dashing and impossibly charming stranger who sends a fire-and-ice jolt of attraction through her. And then he introduces himself...as none other than West Ravenel. 

West is a man with a tarnished past. No apologies, no excuses. However, from the moment he meets Phoebe, West is consumed by irresistible desire...not to mention the bitter awareness that a woman like her is far out of his reach. What West doesn’t bargain on is that Phoebe is no straitlaced aristocratic lady. She’s the daughter of a strong-willed wallflower who long ago eloped with Sebastian, Lord St. Vincent - the most devilishly wicked rake in England. 

Before long, Phoebe sets out to seduce the man who has awakened her fiery nature and shown her unimaginable pleasure. Will their overwhelming passion be enough to overcome the obstacles of the past? 

Only the devil’s daughter knows....

©2018 Lisa Kleypas (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    386
  • 4 Stars
    100
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    406
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    352
  • 4 Stars
    86
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Delicious Perfection!

As usual, Kleypas does an amazing job with this luscious historical romance. Here, the Ravenels meet the Wallflowers (again), and the Duke himself lurks around the edges like a slightly tarnished Cupid, quietly arranging the lives of those he loves.

Wes Ravenel meets Phoebe, a beautiful young widow and the daughter of the Duke of Kingston. She initially hates him because he bullied her late husband in boarding school. But she comes to see him as only human, and they forge a path toward friendship. Of course, deeper feelings develop, and he feels unworthy of her due to his past as a rake and a drunkard. Meanwhile, he helps her begin to take charge of her young son's estate and to help her see the potential the estate has to offer. And feelings continue to deepen between them.

There are bad guys and deep secrets, it's a romance novel after all! But the dialog is amusing, the chemistry is heated, and the Duke all but steals the show. If you like historical romance, if you like Kleypas and her Wallflowers series, if you've been enjoying the Ravenel series, I think.you'll love this one. I listened in one sitting, it went down like ice cream, and I will re-listen soon. While it is part of a series, it can be read as a stand alone. There are references to other characters and events, but they are explained well enough as to not be distracting. (If you've not read any of the others in the series, I encourage you to read Marrying Winterbourne. It's the second book and just as delightful.) Highly recommended.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing. I can’t believe this is a Kleypas’ book.

I was so excited about this book that I even entered the release date on my calendar. The story ended up being disappointing.

The book reads more like an attempt by the author to hook new readers to her oldest works. Mentions of previous characters were included in areas that didn’t add to the story. Fans of Pandora and Gabriel might like to read about a conversation or two regarding their union, but that’s all.

The ending felt rushed and it left many questions unanswered: the fate of Edward and Georgiana to name a few.

After reading all of Kleypas’ work, I can’t recommend this book.

7 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointed.

Very disappointed with this book. Way too much time detailing their sex liaisons and not enough story line. Full chapters on explicit sex. What about punishing Henry’s cousin and uncle for the money they stole? All that happens is he will be removed from being executor/guardian of the estate. So are West and Phoebe going to live on Justin’s estate? What about the property Devon offered West? Seems she was in a rush to end the story.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Skip It. VERY Disappointing!

Since he's such a funny character, I thought West would have the best book. Sadly no. There is just no plot! The previous books in this series have way more going on. The last one had cops, bomb plots corruption, spies, and the "first" female surgeon (+ good love scenes). This one has farm management techniques and elementary school bullying...(+ meh love scenes)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love prevails

I loved this book. The narrator is one of my favorites and it was pleasant, beautiful and just the right amount of erotica.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Magnificent

I've already listened to this book four times. I just didn't want it to end. Phoebe, the main female character, is a complex combination of strength, naivete, wit, and intellect. West, the main male character, is a tortured soul with a healthy dose of self loathing, dry humor, charisma, and heart. The story is immediately compelling, brilliantly written, and full of humor. And we get Sebastian and Evie. The only way this book could be better is if it was longer.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fun enjoyable read!

Well written with a wry sense of humor. A fun enjoyable read. Highly recommend it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Delectable!

West is probably my most favorite character. He’s witty and funny, and I loved Phoebe’s independence and willingness to take charge. I’m so happy LK wrote his story. Now if they could just go on forever. It’s always a sad day when I finish one of her books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful!

By far one of her best books! I was so disappointed when it was over, I wanted to listen to more!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Funny and entertaining!!

Loved it! Sweet story with likable characters. The narrator was especially good, she really made the story enjoyable.