We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Lucy and Desi Audiobook

Lucy and Desi: The Legendary Love Story of Television's Most Famous Couple

Regular Price:$24.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

After eight years on the air, Desi Arnaz did not love Lucy any more. On screen, they were dynamite, a comedy pairing more successful than any Hollywood had ever produced. But when the cameras stopped rolling, they fought, screamed and threatened each other more each season. Finally, an argument in Desi's production office turned violent. Lucy hurled a cocktail glass past his head, and Desi demanded a divorce. He moved out that night. After nearly 20 years, America's favorite couple was finished.

When they first got married, no one in Hollywood thought it would last six months. Lucille Ball's acting career was on the skids, and Arnaz was just another Cuban bandleader. But together, their irresistible chemistry produced one of the greatest television empires of all time, and a love story as passionate as it was explosive.

©1991 Warren G. Harris (P)2016 Graymalkin Media, LLC

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (145 )
5 star
 (95)
4 star
 (41)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
4.6 (130 )
5 star
 (89)
4 star
 (32)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.5 (130 )
5 star
 (86)
4 star
 (28)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    iris Bell Gardens, ca, US 01-13-17
    iris Bell Gardens, ca, US 01-13-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "loved it!!!"

    As a huge I love Lucy fan , I learned a lot of both Lucille Ball's and Desi Arnaz lives that I would never imagine. I will always be a Lucille Ball fan 😘

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Juan Carrillo 03-17-17

    Love books love story's love using this as a way to detox

    HELPFUL VOTES
    24
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    116
    94
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Have always loved Lucy"
    What made the experience of listening to Lucy and Desi the most enjoyable?

    I have always been a huge fan of the show and they in someways remind me of my parents. So I love learning about there history there ups and downs and how they made life work for them selfs. I love learning about the show and the fact that back then work was work u didn't need to like one another but u needed to make it work.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Lucy hands down


    Which character – as performed by Jim Frangione – was your favorite?

    Lucy and I loved learning more about Vivian


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Oh ye many times I could feel there pain as well as there love


    Any additional comments?

    There is such a rich history with this iconic couple and I feel even after all these years we will never know the true depths of there connection what they truly met to one another.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    LWC 05-05-17
    LWC 05-05-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    52
    40
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "These Two.....WTF"
    Where does Lucy and Desi rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Good not great


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Lucy, what a crazy, controlling broad.


    Have you listened to any of Jim Frangione’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    No


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No, far to long for one sitting


    Any additional comments?

    Lucy and Desi had one of the most disfunctional relationships I have ever been exposed to. I feel bad for the kids, they grew up and expereinced their own issues because of these two fools.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Karen 07-13-17
    Karen 07-13-17 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    46
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Only if youre NOT a Lucy fan"
    This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

    Folks who enjoy sensationalism and gossip, similar to National Enquirer magazine.


    Would you ever listen to anything by Warren G. Harris again?

    Probably not.


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Jim Frangione?

    Narration really wasn't the main problem.


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    We were angry that these two people, one of whom I admire very much, are now having their darkest and most private moments not only exposed - but it is being done with leering and pettiness. It is as if the author enjoys airing this famous couple's dirty laundry. We were angry and felt misled by the title and cover photo. We were deeply saddened by what little we heard.


    Any additional comments?

    My cousin and I found this book completely un-listenable and I think the author should be ashamed. We were taking a cross-country road trip together and, both being lifelong Lucille Ball fans we thought it would be an enjoyable experience to listen to this book. We were horrified and bitterly disappointed, as well as being sad and angry for Lucy's legacy. There is no respect for these two people and what they were going through. There is no compassion for how terrible it is to be losing your marriage. Within the first few minutes, you hear things attributed to Lucy that I am fairly sure (as was my cousin) NO Lucy fan would want to know she said - even if these portrayals of them are true - which we had a good amount of doubt about. Even if the things attributed to her in this book are factual, nobody wants to be known for their worst moments or to have the awful things that are said behind closed doors revealed. This book has been written to sensationalize the falling apart of a marriage - the author lured us in with a misleading title and cover photo that made us think we were going to listen to a book that would take us behind the scenes of one of the most loved shows of all time, and maybe a bit of a peek into the private lives of someone we have idolized since we were girls. But this book is not for Lucy fans - it is not anything a real fan will want to hear because we want to stay fans. Everyone deserves privacy and not to have thier darkest parts of their lives revealed unless THEY do it themselves. We stopped listening after 10 minutes and have no plans to ever revisit this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    James Paris Michigan 06-19-17
    James Paris Michigan 06-19-17 Member Since 2015

    James

    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Well written and presented book!"

    This book is a must read for fans of Lucille Ball and Desk Arnaz. I grew up watching "I Love Lucy" and the other "Lucy" shows. But I never had a true insight into their lives until this book. I highly recommend it to friends to read this book. You will be greatly enlightened and learn a lot about this famous couple.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 05-15-17 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautiful story"

    We all know that what we see on TV isn't always how this in real life. Same goes for the Arnaz family. But what did seem to manifest in the tv show and in this book is the great deal of love Lucy and Desi had for one another until they they died. Great story, great performance and great couple.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 05-09-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "True Fans will enjoy"

    I loved it, it was so detailed and it gave me a sense like I was part of her life.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    I.Ace 05-03-17
    I.Ace 05-03-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Lucy and Desi Book-Amazing!"

    I really enjoyed this book. I can't believe how fast the time passed by. So much great information, it kept me so interested tio the end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    LindaH 04-21-17
    LindaH 04-21-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Desilu- and all"

    The book was very informative on the relationship of Lucy & Desi. Audio was great!

    I highly recommend this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Frankie W. 04-20-17
    Frankie W. 04-20-17 Member Since 2016

    Frankie

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I Love Lucy and Desi!"

    This is a great story about the life of Lucille Ball and Desi Arnaz. It's unbiased and gives the good and the bad. The author does a great job of humanizing both of them.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Colin
    WATFORD, United Kingdom
    3/17/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Fascinating Couple..."

    As a child of the 60s I was aware of 'I Love Lucy' on the black-and-white TV, but never actually got the chance to watch it. This title describes the very long, hard slog that both Lucy and Desi faced as they tried to 'make it' in the cut-throat world of post-war Hollywood. Time and again Lucy thinks she is close to her dream only to be let down. A weaker person would've given up and gone back to the farm long ago, but Lucy and Desi were made of stronger stuff.

    I also had no idea of the ground-breaking technical breakthroughs the couple were responsible for, being the pioneers of multi-camera live shoots which enabled them to film the live broadcast and then sell the show around the world, ensuring healthy repeat business. One of the first TV shows to do this, they then used the subsequent returns to buy their own studio and not be under the thumb of a studio boss.

    A wonderful book about an extraordinary and driven couple. Highly recommended.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.