Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of A Year in Provence, Lin Pardey - renowned for her sailing narratives - takes you on a voyage of the heart, sharing her and her husband Larry's remarkable tale of homesteading with equal parts candor and humor.

Internationally known for their sailing adventures, in 1980 - fresh from an 11-year journey where they forged the early years of their marriage on high seas and in exotic locales - Lin and Larry Pardey came to California looking for a good spot to build a boat, test Lin's skills as a writer, and taste the apparent security life ashore could offer.

Nestled in a rocky outcropping of sparsely populated dirt roads 60 miles from the sea and 50 miles from Los Angeles, Bull Canyon would seem an unlikely place for boat-building. Yet when Lin and Larry set eyes on the abandoned stone cottage at the top of a rutted dusty lane, it was love at first sight. The house was certainly a fixer-upper, but there was plenty of room to build the boat which would become their soon-to-be-famed Lyle Hess designed cutter Taleisin.

This remarkable book tells the tale charmingly and engagingly - as only Lin Pardey can.

©2011 Mary Lin Pardey (P)2016 New Street Communications, LLC

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

❤❤❤

Wonderful, Lin really shows her story telling ability in this one. I enjoyed every minute.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • R King
  • 11-09-17

Where the wanderers make home.

Resisted buying this until it was the only book of the Pardeys I had not read. Took a while to get my head around a land adventure. As my own cruising adventure takes an extended break while we refit the boat, I am fascinated by the ways we do do-and simultaneously do not- fit into a remote community. In this book the landscape moves around the Voyagers -not the other way around.