We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Bull Canyon Audiobook

Bull Canyon: A Boatbuilder, a Writer and Other Wildlife

Regular Price:$24.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of A Year in Provence, Lin Pardey - renowned for her sailing narratives - takes you on a voyage of the heart, sharing her and her husband Larry's remarkable tale of homesteading with equal parts candor and humor.

Internationally known for their sailing adventures, in 1980 - fresh from an 11-year journey where they forged the early years of their marriage on high seas and in exotic locales - Lin and Larry Pardey came to California looking for a good spot to build a boat, test Lin's skills as a writer, and taste the apparent security life ashore could offer.

Nestled in a rocky outcropping of sparsely populated dirt roads 60 miles from the sea and 50 miles from Los Angeles, Bull Canyon would seem an unlikely place for boat-building. Yet when Lin and Larry set eyes on the abandoned stone cottage at the top of a rutted dusty lane, it was love at first sight. The house was certainly a fixer-upper, but there was plenty of room to build the boat which would become their soon-to-be-famed Lyle Hess designed cutter Taleisin.

This remarkable book tells the tale charmingly and engagingly - as only Lin Pardey can.

©2011 Mary Lin Pardey (P)2016 New Street Communications, LLC

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

5.0 (5 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
5.0 (4 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
5.0 (4 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    ole 09-15-17
    ole 09-15-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "❤❤❤"

    Wonderful, Lin really shows her story telling ability in this one. I enjoyed every minute.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • R King
    11/9/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Where the wanderers make home."

    Resisted buying this until it was the only book of the Pardeys I had not read. Took a while to get my head around a land adventure. As my own cruising adventure takes an extended break while we refit the boat, I am fascinated by the ways we do do-and simultaneously do not- fit into a remote community. In this book the landscape moves around the Voyagers -not the other way around.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.