• A Lady for a Duke

  • By: Alexis Hall
  • Narrated by: Kay Eluvian
  • Length: 15 hrs and 26 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (80 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $29.65

Buy for $29.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A lush, sweeping queer historical romance from the bestselling author of Boyfriend Material—perfect for fans of Netflix’s Bridgerton, Evie Dunmore, and Lisa Kleypas!

When Viola Carroll was presumed dead at Waterloo she took the opportunity to live, at last, as herself. But freedom does not come without a price, and Viola paid for hers with the loss of her wealth, her title, and her closest companion, Justin de Vere, the Duke of Gracewood.

Only when their families reconnect, years after the war, does Viola learn how deep that loss truly was. Shattered without her, Gracewood has retreated so far into grief that Viola barely recognizes her old friend in the lonely, brooding man he has become.

As Viola strives to bring Gracewood back to himself, fresh desires give new names to old feelings. Feelings that would have been impossible once and may be impossible still, but which Viola cannot deny. Even if they cost her everything, all over again.

©2022 Alexis Hall (P)2022 Hachette Audio
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance

What listeners say about A Lady for a Duke

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    67
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    62
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous!

A romantic Regency slow burn with an “if only” twist: a trans heroine!

Viola was lovely, but I fell in love with our Duke—what a flawed and perfect man!

Bring your suspension of disbelief and be ready to cry and laugh in this romance which turns best friends into lovers with many of the historical roadblocks in place for people of society.

Fabulous narration!

One flaw, if possible, was the dukes’s transition from NO to YES. Gloss over that bit and it’s 5 Stars all the way! Very well done discussions surrounding identity and position in life.

You’re in for a treat (with some spicy sexy times)!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narration a Struggle

Story incredibly moving but I had to stop the audio version a few hours in. Do yourself a favor and skip the audiobook and go straight to reading it otherwise it’s a struggle to enjoy the characters.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love the story, dislike the narrator

I love and adore Alexis Hall and have quite a few of their stories in my audible library that I listen to on repeat. This, I’m sad to say, won’t be one. This is not because of the story itself, which is excellent and as well constructed as I’d hope, but entirely on the shoulders of the narrator who does no justice to the characters. There are awkward pauses that come out of nowhere mid-conversation, the character voices for the females sounds strained and uncomfortable, and there seems to be very little emotional range in the narrator’s toolbox.
I’ll likely borrow a library copy to read instead so I can enjoy the story with my own inner narrator. Disappointed.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Lovely LGBTQIA+ romance - ideal Pride Month treat

The concept and the characters were well executed throughout - my only (minor) complaint would be that the pacing was slightly inconsistent; once or twice I wished for a little less "pining" and more getting on with the plot.

The narrator did an excellent job differentiating between characters which helped draw me into their world quickly. I especially enjoyed the voicings of Viola and Lady Marley!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

the narration is brilliant

also this is a book that needed to exist and I'm glad now does exist

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Achingly sweet

The narration was perfect throughout. I loved her voices for the various characters and the emotion behind them. The writing was perfection. I was engaged every minute of the story. Also bless the ending, it left me grinning ear to ear.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • SL
  • 06-06-22

So freaking beautiful

Alexis Hall's gorgeous writing is a perfect match for this homage to the gothic, sweeping romance. Viola and Gracewood have my heart. I've never read a romance between a man and a trans woman that is written just like any other romance. No stigma, no judgment, no salaciousness.... yes, plenty of angst and, you know, feelings. 🥹❤️ The cast of characters is wonderful as well. Excellent narration. #transisbeautiful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just a lovely lovely book

Sweepingly romantic and swoony historical romance from one of the best writers out there. If you have only read his lighter books of the past few years -- Something Fabulous, Rosaline Palmer, Boyfriend Material -- the comparatively high angst level here might surprise you, but Alexis Hall can do anything. The prose was maybe a tiny bit repetitious at times. Maybe it was just a smidge preachy. (Although I suspect I only think that because I'm in the choir AJH is preaching to.) But those are quibbles. Alexis Hall's worst is better than almost anyone's best, and this was right up there at the top of his oeuvre. I loved Kay Eluvian's interpretation of the central couple, but her voices for supporting characters maybe lacked some depth and variety. But she hasn't had all that many books to herself before: she did a splendid job and I look forward to more of her work in the future.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful

I loved it! I'm not much for 19th century romances, but I have to say, I was so engrossed in this story that I listened to it straight through. Bravo to Alexis Hall for writing another masterpiece

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

5⭐

Lovely, heartfelt story with plenty of Hall's trademark humor. The narrator was phenomenal! I'm surprised to see other reviews that didn't care for the narration. I adored Eluvian's repertoire of voices and the way she brought the characters to life. There was high attention to detail that I don't often find in other audiobooks. I'd suggest playing the sample before purchasing, perhaps, to see if their narration style appeals to you. It's worth mentioning that Hall specifically chose a trans woman to narrate, which I appreciate in and of itself. Either way, I highly recommend this book regardless of which format you choose.