Sample
  • A Country Wedding Murder

  • Julia Bird Mysteries, Book 5
  • By: Katie Gayle
  • Narrated by: Lucy Scott
  • Length: 6 hrs and 39 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (25 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
A Country Wedding Murder  By  cover art

A Country Wedding Murder

By: Katie Gayle
Narrated by: Lucy Scott
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Publisher's summary

The joyous crowd applauds as the happy couple strides down the aisle. This Cotswolds country wedding has everything–friends and family, beautiful flowers and… murder?

When Julia Bird’s ex-husband Peter and his lovely partner Christopher decide to get married in Berrywick, Julia is delighted–after all, who doesn't love a country wedding? Little does Julia know that normally calm and collected Christopher will turn into a full-on Groomzilla–and that by the end of the night, someone will end up dead.

The morning after the big day, the jolly nuptial mood turns grim when Julia discovers the lifeless body of the caterer, Desmond. Someone locked him in the cold truck and the poor man froze to death. Now looking for a murderer, all eyes are on Christopher who, mid-tantrum, had publicly threatened to kill him. Convinced that Christopher is innocent, Julia vows to find the real culprit.

Julia soon discovers Desmond had a long list of enemies as she races against the clock to clear Christopher’s name. Could his death be the work of the respected wedding planner who was heard exchanging choice words with the victim? Or perhaps it was his wife–‘til death do them part–who didn’t shed a single tear at his funeral?

But just when Julia thinks she’s cracked the case, her prime suspect is found dead with a knife in their back. Can Julia find the murderer before they strike again?

An utterly gripping, charming cosy mystery set in the English countryside. Fans of M.C. Beaton, Faith Martin and Betty Rowlands will love the Julia Bird Mysteries.

©2024 Katie Gayle (P)2024 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

Critic reviews

Oh my, I loved Julia Bird she is a delight! I can’t wait for the next one! Please don’t let it be long!’—MoongloTexas

Fabulousaddictive… a witty and delightful crime novel full of delicious red herrings, rural mischief and bucolic charm.'—Bookish Jottings

I was hooked on the mystery immediately… If you haven’t read this series you are missing out! Pure entertainment… a fabulous read and I can’t wait for the next one.’—@onceuponatimebookreviews