Darren Shan
AUTHOR

Darren Shan

Darren Shan's real name is Darren O'Shaughnessy (pronounced O-Shock-Nessy, though it can also be pronounced O-Shawn-Essy or O-Shan-essy). Although he is Irish, he was born in 1972 in London. He moved to Limerick in Ireland with his parents and younger brother when he was six, and has lived there ever since.

Darren always wanted to be a writer. He bought his first typewriter when he was fourteen and never looked back. He enjoyed his first taste of literary success at fifteen, as a runner-up in a television script-writing competition for RTE in Ireland, with a dark comedy script titled A Day in the Morgue.

Darren was seventeen when he finished his first (unpublished) novel, and wrote lots more unpublished novels over the next several years. All of his early books were adult-oriented. Although Darren liked the idea of writing a children's book one day, he considered himself an adult writer first and foremost, and his initial breakthrough was with an adult book, in 1999, titled Ayuamarca (since re-released as Procession Of The Dead).

In January 2000, Darren's first children's book, Cirque du Freak, was published. The first book in a series titled the Cirque du Freak series (The Saga of Darren Shan in the UK), it attracted rave reviews and an ever-growing army of fans known as the Shansters! For the next several years Darren focused exclusively on his books for younger readers. First, he wrote a total of twelve books about vampires.

He followed up his vampire saga with The Demonata, a series about demons. Running to ten books in total, The Demonata cemented Shan's place as the Master Of Children's Horror.

Then came The Thin Executioner, a one-off fantasy novel, which Darren has cited as his favourite out of all his books.

Next he wrote The Saga Of Larten Crepsley, a four book prequel series to his original vampire saga.

Most recently Darren has written about zombies, in the twelve book Zom-B series. He also wrote a short, tie-in ebook called Zom-B Circus.

There was a very successful manga adaptation of Shan's vampire series, drawn by the Japanese artist, Takahiro Arai. It was originally serialized in Japan, but collected volumes are now on sale in the USA, UK and other countries.

In addition to writing for children, Darren has published a number of books for adults, starting with The City Trilogy, comprising Procession Of The Dead, Hell's Horizon and City Of The Snakes.

He followed up the trilogy with a one-off supernatural thrilled called Lady Of The Shades, only available in the USA as an import.

After that he started publishing his adult books under the name of Darren Dash.

By 2016, Darren's books were on sale in every continent, in 39 countries, in 31 languages, and have been children's bestsellers in America, Britain, Ireland, the Netherlands, Norway and other countries. The books have topped adult bestseller charts in Hungary, Japan and Taiwan. In total, Shan's books have sold over twenty-five million copies worldwide.

The movie rights to Cirque Du Freak were bought by Universal, and the first movie (which combined elements from the first three books in the series) was released in October 2009, starring newcomer Chris Massoglia as Darren Shan, along with a wide array of established stars such as Josh Hutcherson, John C Reilly, Salma Hayek, Willem Defoe and Ken Watanabe. The movie was called Cirque Du Freak: The Vampire's Assistant. It was released on DVD and Blu-Ray in February 2010.

A big film buff, with a collection of more than four thousand movies at home, Darren also reads lots of comics and books, and likes to study and collect original artwork, especially comic art and impressionist and post-impressionist art. Other interests include long walks, watching soccer (he's a Tottenham Hotspur and Ireland fan), listening to pop and rock music, theatre, worldwide travel, sampling the delights of both gourmet cuisine and finger-licking junk food, and dreaming up new ways to terrify his readers!

Darren spends most of his time in Limerick, Ireland, with his wife Bas and son Dante.

Darren's web site: https://www.darrenshan.com

Darren's Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/darrenshanofficial

Darren's Twitter page: https://twitter.com/darrenshan

Read more Read less

You're getting a free audiobook.
$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Best Sellers

    • Cirque du Freak: A Living Nightmare

    • The Saga of Darren Shan, Book 1
    • By: Darren Shan
    • Narrated by: Ralph Lister
    • Length: 5 hrs and 34 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 736
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 666
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 666

    In the tradition of Stephen King’s Salem’s Lot, New York Times best-seller Cirque du Freak is the first title in the popular Saga of Darren Shan series....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • I love it!

    • By Thomas on 02-11-16

    Regular price: $20.97

    • Cirque du Freak: The Vampire's Assistant

    • The Saga of Darren Shan, Book 2
    • By: Darren Shan
    • Narrated by: Ralph Lister
    • Length: 5 hrs and 5 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 444
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 394
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 389

    The nightmare continues for the new vampire's assistant in the second installment of the New York Times best-selling Saga of Darren Shan....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Great book

    • By Jacob on 07-29-16

    Regular price: $17.47

    • Hunters of the Dusk

    • Cirque du Freak, Book 7
    • By: Darren Shan
    • Narrated by: Ralph Lister
    • Length: 4 hrs and 47 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 226
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 206
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 207

    After six years of living in Vampire Mountain, Darren Shan,the Vampire Prince, leaves on a life-and-death mission....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Nice book

    • By Ludwig.H on 06-27-17

    Regular price: $20.97

    • Vampire Mountain

    • Cirque du Freak: The Saga of Darren, Book 4
    • By: Darren Shan
    • Narrated by: Ralph Lister
    • Length: 4 hrs and 13 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 293
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 266
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 266

    Darren has settled into life as a vampire's assistant and feels at home in the Cirque du Freak. But now he must leave the freak show and his friends behind....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • PERFECT!

    • By Laurie Westerfield on 06-02-17

    Regular price: $17.47

    • The Vampire Prince

    • Cirque Du Freak #6
    • By: Darren Shan
    • Narrated by: Ralph Lister
    • Length: 4 hrs and 33 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 259
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 229
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 230

    Branded a traitor, betrayed by a friend, hunted by the vampire clan - Darren Shan, the vampire's assistant, faces certain death....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • WOW

    • By Amanda on 06-08-17

    Regular price: $17.47

    • Trials of Death

    • Cirque Du Freak, Book 5
    • By: Darren Shan
    • Narrated by: Ralph Lister
    • Length: 4 hrs and 23 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 262
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 231
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 231

    There are seventeen ways to die unless the luck of the vampire is with you. Darren Shan must pass five of these fearsome trials to prove himself to the vampire clan....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • One of the best in the series

    • By Kevin on 01-24-19

    Regular price: $17.47

    • Tunnels of Blood

    • The Saga of Cirque du Freak, Book 3
    • By: Darren Shan
    • Narrated by: Ralph Lister
    • Length: 4 hrs and 45 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 352
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 318
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 317

    Darren, the vampire's assistant, gets a taste of the city when he leaves the Cirque du Freak with Evra the snake-boy and Mr. Crepsley....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Minor lull in a great series

    • By river saxton on 10-08-18

    Regular price: $17.47

    • Allies of the Night

    • Cirque du Freak: The Saga of Darren Shan, Book 8
    • By: Darren Shan
    • Narrated by: Ralph Lister
    • Length: 4 hrs and 34 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 190
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 173
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 172

    Darren Shan, Vampire Prince and "vampaneze" killer, faces his worst nightmare yet - school. But homework is the least of Darren's problems....

    Regular price: $20.97

    • Lord of the Shadows

    • Cirque Du Freak, Book 11
    • By: Darren Shan
    • Narrated by: Ralph Lister
    • Length: 4 hrs and 57 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 178
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 160
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 159

    Darren Shan is going home - and his world is going to hell....

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • UTTTER FOOLISHNESS WHERE IS BOOK 12 AH!!!!!!

    • By Curtly on 03-09-14

    Regular price: $20.97

    • The Lake of Souls

    • Cirque Du Freak, Book 10
    • By: Darren Shan
    • Narrated by: Ralph Lister
    • Length: 6 hrs and 13 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 181
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 165
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 164

    "If you step through after Harkat, you might never comeback. Is your friend worth such an enormous risk"....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Cirque du awesome

    • By Justin on 12-01-17

    Regular price: $20.97

Are you an author?

Help us improve our Author Pages by updating your bibliography and submitting a new or current image and biography.