Regular price: $20.97

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Ray Bradbury’s Something Wicked This Way Comes and Stephen King’s Salem’s Lot, New York Times best-seller Cirque du Freak is the first title in the popular Saga of Darren Shan series.

Darren Shan and his best friend, Steve, get tickets to the Cirque du Freak, a wonderfully gothic freak show featuring weird, frightening half human/half animals who interact terrifyingly with the audience. In the midst of the excitement, true terror raises its head when Steve recognizes that one of the performers - Mr. Crepsley - is a vampire!

Steve confronts the vampire after the show finishes - but his motives are surprising! In the shadows of a crumbling theater, a horrified Darren eavesdrops on his friend and the vampire, and is witness to a monstrous, disturbing plea. As if by destiny, Darren is pulled to Mr. Crepsley and what follows is his horrifying descent into the dark and bloody world of vampires.

This is Darren’s story.

©2013 Darren Shan (P)2013 Blackstone Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    458
  • 4 Stars
    155
  • 3 Stars
    51
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    14

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    436
  • 4 Stars
    127
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    8

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    422
  • 4 Stars
    120
  • 3 Stars
    56
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    11
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love it!

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend because it's FREAKING AWESOME!!!!

What was one of the most memorable moments of Cirque du Freak: A Living Nightmare?

When Darren told us about the vacuum cleaner incident. :)

Which scene was your favorite?

When they met Mr.Tall.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

He's a vampire's WHAT!?!

Any additional comments?

Peeps out there, you should listen to this!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Still love it.

I first got this book in grade 3, some 10 or so years ago and loved reading it. It really brings back great memories listening to it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My first audio book experince

I really love this book I do perfer reading to listening so this was a differnt experince for me and very interesting bit I would love to go back and read this book myself because I love to sink myself into the story but this is nice when you are doing something and you want to read something.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Peter
  • Topeka, KS, United States
  • 12-12-13

Such a great introduction book!

Would you listen to Cirque du Freak: A Living Nightmare again? Why?

Yes. I loved the narrator, and I fully enjoyed this quick listen.

Who was your favorite character and why?

I liked the circus master. I can't remember his name, but he sounds so mysterious and creepy, but you want to know more.

What does Ralph Lister bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

I started reading it, but I decided to try the audio and I'm so glad I did. He adds an extra oomph of creepy.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I did, and I'm so glad I was able too, because I loved it so much.

Any additional comments?

Start it now!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

I love this series sooooo much!

this book is a mazing and the person the pick as a narrator even better !!!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I admit, I hadn't heard of this till the movie

Often, the book is better than the movie, but the movie brings in people who'd never heard of the book. I am one of those. This book was great! The Narrator seemed to be a little old for the kid, but he was such a delight to listen to, I forgot about that quickly. I've gotten books two and three already. I listen to this on my way to work, and try to go the long way now, just so I can listen!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My kids have to read this

Buying them all for kids. Why have I, an avid reader never heard of these? I loved it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Marvelous story and execution.

As a long time fan of the Cirque Du Freak books, I was excited to find out they were also audio books and also about the sceptical! I was not disappointed. The narrator does a great job and I've loved going back and revisiting some of my favorite characters through audio!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent book

The narrator was amazing and the book keeps your attention from beginning to end as good as any first franchise book can

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love it

I really love this story brings back many memories for me. plus always loved Mr crepsley

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • charlie
  • 08-12-18

love these books

av got all the books but better listing to it good job voice is great

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Danniellee
  • 07-20-18

Brilliant!

loved these books as a kid and as an adult they are still just as enjoyable :)

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • mike
  • 01-24-17

Very well performed!

I have always taken a liking to darren shan from the demon saga. This book is definiatly the best so far, truely brilliant.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Louis-Sebastian
  • 08-27-16

Stephen King meets Harry Potter

I am so excited to continue this series after this book. The story could trim a little fat and unessesery suspense slows down a otherwise fast paced and refreshing story. I can't say now, but it looks like this is a series I'll be reading for my kids one day, along with lotr and hp series. Give it a go!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Miss Alison Shipley
  • 05-05-15

Amazing

I love this book, I mean really love it, it is well read and keeps you on the edge of your seat.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Louis
  • 05-27-17

came higly recommended

im a hufe vampire fan and this book came recomended from several friends. however ther is little original thoght to be found and almost nothing happens. every book i though ok next book stuff is going down but each finale was more disapointing tyan the one before

0 of 1 people found this review helpful