DI Hal Luchewski

2 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 20 ratings

Dead Man's Hand Publisher's Summary

The first in a new series by debut author Mark Lock, for fans of Mo Hayder, Belinda Bauer and Mark Billingham.

Detective Inspector Hal Luchewski's life is complicated. The stress of his job is getting to him - usually in the form of hard liquor. He's still living in his dead father's shadow, his relationship with his daughter is strained and his love life is complex, to say the least.... Although nearly 40, Hal's still reconciling himself to the fact he's gay....

When teenager Danny Wiseman’s butchered body is found in a squalid bedsit in South London, Hal and his team think they have a psychopath on the loose. When a second body is found - that of an ex-guard at Granton Young Offender Institution - Hal fears the worst.

Is it a coincidence that Wiseman recently spent time at Granton, a place which has become a byword for corruption and scandal? Is Hal up against a former inmate's wrath or something even more sinister? Soon enough the case gets personal - and in more ways than one....

©2015 Mark Lock (P)2016 Audible, Ltd
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • Dead Man's Hand

    • The DI Hal Luchewski Series, Book 1
    • By: Mark Lock
    • Narrated by: Paul Thornley
    • Length: 12 hrs and 18 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 14
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 14
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 14

    The first in a new series by debut author Mark Lock, for fans of Mo Hayder, Belinda Bauer and Mark Billingham. Detective Inspector Hal Luchewski's life is complicated. The stress of his job is getting to him - usually in the form of hard liquor. He's still living in his dead father's shadow, his relationship with his daughter is strained and his love life is complex, to say the least.... Although nearly 40, Hal's still reconciling himself to the fact he's gay.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Left me panting for more!

    • By Anna on 01-25-16

    Regular price: $20.24

  • Book 2

    • The Mismade Girl

    • Hal's Law Series, Book 2
    • By: Mark Lock
    • Narrated by: Paul Thornley
    • Length: 12 hrs and 36 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 6
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 6
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 6

    When Julia Seagrove is found dead, a name carved into her body, old memories are stirred up for DI Hal Luchewski. The name is that of a murdered sex offender and the man who killed him, convicted in Hal's first ever murder case, has just been released from prison. As he digs deeper, Hal discovers multiple links between Dr Seagrove, the recently released killer Nino Gaudiano, and Nino's long-missing daughter Louisa.

    Regular price: $20.24