• The Scholar

  • The Cormac Reilly Series, Book 2
  • By: Dervla McTiernan
  • Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
  • Length: 10 hrs and 19 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (15,651 ratings)

Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Audible Plus auto-renews for $7.95/mo after 30 days. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
The Scholar  By  cover art

The Scholar

By: Dervla McTiernan
Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
Try for $0.00

$7.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $15.56

Buy for $15.56

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

A compulsive new crime thriller set in the fiercely competitive, cutthroat world of research and academia, where the brightest minds will stop at nothing to succeed.

When Dr. Emma Sweeney stumbles across the victim of a hit-and-run outside Galway University early one morning, she calls her boyfriend, Detective Cormac Reilly, bringing him first to the scene of a murder that would otherwise never have been assigned to him. The dead girl is carrying an ID that will put this crime at the center of a scandal—her card identifies her as Carline Darcy, heir apparent to Darcy Therapeutics, Ireland's most successful pharmaceutical company. Darcy Therapeutics has a finger in every pie, from sponsoring university research facilities to funding political parties to philanthropy - it has even funded Emma's own groundbreaking research.

As the murder investigation twists in unexpected ways and Cormac's running of the case comes under scrutiny from the department and his colleagues, he is forced to question himself and the beliefs that he has long held as truths. Who really is Emma? And who is Carline Darcy?

A gripping and atmospheric follow-up to The Ruin, an "expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden" (Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King's Daughter), The Scholar is perfect for fans of Tana French and Flynn Berry.

©2019 Dervla McTiernan (P)2019 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

Editor's Pick

Going back to Galway
"My discovery of The Cormac Reilly Series last year is an example of a happy accident. I hadn’t heard of Dervla McTiernan yet (few had since The Ruin was her debut novel), and while I do like a good police procedural now and again, it’s not my go-to genre. It was the Galway, Ireland setting that first caught my attention (one of my favorite places in the world). I downloaded The Ruin with few expectations and after just a few chapters in I was hooked—hooked on a new author and what’s becoming a breakthrough series. Luckily, that Galway setting has been carried into book two, The Scholar, and the perfectly cast narrator Aoife McMahon is also back for a repeat performance! Everything about this series is smart, yet more entertaining than challenging, making for a super satisfying listening experience. I’m thrilled to know there is more coming from Dervla McTiernan in the not-to-far-off future." —Tricia F., Audible Editor