The Sanctity of Sloth

Seven Deadly Sins, Book 3
Series: The Seven Deadly Sins, Book 3
Length: 10 hrs and 1 min
5 out of 5 stars (6 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

There's one thing more dangerous than testifying to a crime - staying silent. 

Locked in the ruins of a California Mission, Abby Travers watches helplessly as a girl dies outside her window. As she struggles between her moral obligation to come forward as a witness and her commitment to a Medieval religious practice that requires her to retreat from the world, the situation spins out of control. 

Abby's hesitation starts a series of catastrophes. She finds herself at the center of a deadly cover-up where every minute counts and indecision could be fatal. She questions all her beliefs, and everyone she knows becomes suspect. To save herself and those she loves, she must break free from her self-imposed prisons of stone and fear.

The Sanctity of Sloth is a taut psychological thriller that answers the question: What happens when a good woman does nothing? Fans of Paula Hawkins and A.J. Finn will enjoy this third book in Greta Boris's Seven Deadly Sins Series.

©2018 Fawkes Press (P)2018 Fawkes Press
What members say
Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good Psychological Thriller

Abbey spending forty nights in a room built by her father at a Californian mission. To say nothing and to see the effects of not doing so, would test her. To break free of the fear and the medieval ritual. A taut, tense psychological thriller, which the author is good at. Given audio which added to this for my voluntary review and my
honest opinion

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read

I enjoyed listening to this book very much. Even though it is not the genre I normally look for, I was very glad I read it and will probably seek out more like it. I think the characters were very relatable, and I was fully invested in the outcome from the start. It is a very intricate storyline that was well set up and resolved. I highly recommend this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An interesting story with engaging narrator

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I don't normally get books from the middle of the series but I'm glad I gave it the chance. Very interesting character development. I actually ended up doing some of my own research on anchorites after finishing this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous South OC California mystery

Another winning mystery by Greta Boris! I’m addicted to her fast-paced, twisty stories with characters that I feel by the end of the book are my best friends. Not the villains—those I hope never to meet outside these pages.
The story fascinated me with anchorite lore and even some peeps into landscaping and tourist trade at a California mission. Best of all was the suspense of the mystery that kept going deeper and deeper.
I’m not sure I should say anymore about the plot as I don’t want to spoil the surprises, which just keep coming. I bought the book but I mostly listened to it. It made housework and daily walks fly by. In fact, I think I walked faster during the scary parts.
The narrator was fabulous. The story required a wide range of accents, which she handled easily. I thought at one point I knew who the villain was through a narration inadvertent revelation but no—the narrator was able to fool me along with other story red herrings.
Totally recommend the ebook and audio book to mystery and suspense and thriller readers and to those who like to learn about arcane religious practices.