1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot  By  cover art

The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot

By: Marianne Cronin
Narrated by: Sheila Reid,Rebecca Benson
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $20.54

Buy for $20.54

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“A beautiful debut, funny, tender, and animated by a willingness to confront life’s obstacles and find a way to survive.... It celebrates friendship, finds meaning in difficulty and lets the reader explore dark places while always allowing for the possibility of light. Lenni and Margot are fine companions for all our springtime journeys.” (Harper’s Bazaar, UK)

A charming, fiercely alive, and disarmingly funny debut novel in the vein of John Green, Rachel Joyce, and Jojo Moyes - a brave testament to the power of living each day to the fullest, a tribute to the stories that we live, and a reminder of our unlimited capacity for friendship and love.

An extraordinary friendship. A lifetime of stories. 

Seventeen-year-old Lenni Pettersson lives on the Terminal Ward at the Glasgow Princess Royal Hospital. Though the teenager has been told she’s dying, she still has plenty of living to do. Joining the hospital’s arts and crafts class, she meets the magnificent Margot, an 83-year-old, purple-pajama-wearing, fruitcake-eating rebel, who transforms Lenni in ways she never imagined.

As their friendship blooms, a world of stories opens for these unlikely companions who, between them, have been alive for one hundred years. Though their days are dwindling, both are determined to leave their mark on the world. With the help of Lenni’s doting palliative care nurse and Father Arthur, the hospital’s patient chaplain, Lenni and Margot devise a plan to create one hundred paintings showcasing the stories of the century they have lived - stories of love and loss, of courage and kindness, of unexpected tenderness and pure joy.

Though the end is near, life isn’t quite done with these unforgettable women just yet.

Delightfully funny and bittersweet, heartbreaking yet ultimately uplifting, The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot reminds us of the preciousness of life as it considers the legacy we choose to leave, how we influence the lives of others even after we’re gone, and the wonder of a friendship that transcends time.

©2021 Marianne Cronin (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,950
  • 4 Stars
    441
  • 3 Stars
    136
  • 2 Stars
    26
  • 1 Stars
    13
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,988
  • 4 Stars
    242
  • 3 Stars
    46
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,743
  • 4 Stars
    377
  • 3 Stars
    118
  • 2 Stars
    26
  • 1 Stars
    10

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Must Read (Listen)

I suggest you listen to this book rather than read it. The narration and accents (to the American ear) bring this story to life. I do not mean to imply the story does not stand on its own. It does! I just think the narration makes it even more spectacular. I read somewhere that the author took seven years to write this book. I believe it. You will love and enjoy the story and the characters.

45 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Surprising and wonderful!

My eyes are damp from crying at the ending of Lenni & Margot. At first I didn't think I'd like it, but not for long. It was wonderful! It really does the thing you want a story to do; It's one of those books that you're reminded of at random times of life. Like when you're looking at the stars...

Do read or listen to it. I listened, and the excellent narration added to the enriching experience.

32 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

You will laugh You will cry.

Intense subject, life in all of its glory and frailty. Having listened to this at the age of 57 I am realizing my own place in life and what has happened to me. This story of Margo and Lenni was deeply touching. It drew me in right away and I thoroughly enjoyed the audio version. Laughing and crying while driving on the Pennsylvania turnpike! If you enjoy a good emotional workout you will love this story.

24 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

I started this book thinking it would be alright, not wonderful. I was mistaken. Following the lives of both Lenni and Margot was an adventure. I didn't want it to stop. The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot is a rare book that transported me to so many times and places. Both narrators know their craft well. The actor who played Margot was especially good at convincing me she was an elderly lady with giggles and chuckles that added to the story.
One of the best books I've experienced in a long time!

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

If sobbing were my job, I’d be a millionaire.

There are books that just change you. This is one of those books. I feel privileged to have read it.

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent book

the narration was the best I've heard and the book itself was funny and sad and heartwarming

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Endearing original, unforgettable

Don’t miss this book in audible. It is a complete production where a girl in pink pajamas will steal your heart through the song of her voice from the beginning question for Father Arthur, “Why am I dying”. You will want to send this book to everyone you love.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

weird narration

every last word of every sentence is drawn out. "dresserrrr" "mealllll" herrrrr" "Cradllllle" it's too annoying. can't listen past 5 min. returning this

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Story

I loved both Narrators, but Margo's was spectacular. lived her little giggles here and there. That made it so special.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story but sloshy speech for Margo was awful

The narration by Margo was difficult - it sounded like her dentures were not secure. The result was a slurring and slurpy speech that was very distracting and irritating.
The story itself was beautifully written - maybe read instead of listen to this one.

8 people found this helpful