A Fire Sparkling

Length: 13 hrs and 12 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (4,381 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $29.99

Buy for $29.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

You may also like:

Publisher's Summary

An Amazon Charts and Washington Post best seller.

From the USA Today bestselling author of A Curve in the Road comes a spellbinding novel about one woman's love, loss, and courage during wartime.

After a crushing betrayal by the man she loves, Gillian Gibbons flees to her family home for a much-needed escape, but when she finds an old photograph of her grandmother in the arms of a Nazi officer, Gillian's life gets even more complicated. Rattled by the discovery, Gillian attempts to unravel the truth behind the photos, setting her off on an epic journey through the past....

1939. England is on the brink of war as Vivian Hughes falls in love with a handsome British official, but when bombs begin to fall and Vivian’s happy life is destroyed in the blitz, she will do whatever it takes to protect those she loves....

As Gillian learns more about her grandmother's past, the old photo begins to make more sense. But for every question answered, a new one takes its place. Faced with a truth that is not at all what she expected, Gillian attempts to shine a light not only on the mysteries of her family’s past but also on her own future.

This gorgeously written multigenerational saga is a heart-wrenching yet hopeful examination of one woman's struggle to survive, perfect for fans of The Nightingale and Beneath a Scarlet Sky.

©2019 by Julianne MacLean Publishing Inc. (P)2019 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved.

Critic Reviews

“Julianne MacLean’s A Fire Sparkling is a beautiful, sweeping tale about love, courage, family secrets, and forgiveness that is impossible to put down.” (Jane Healey, best-selling author of The Saturday Evening Girls Club and The Beantown Girls)

“A wonderful, sweeping saga about the secrets we keep and the lies we tell in order to survive. Full of intriguing characters and set against the terrifyingly vivid backdrop of wartime London and Europe, Julianne MacLean certainly knows how to keep her readers guessing. I loved it!” (Victoria Connelly, bestselling author of The Rose Girls)

“War tests the bonds of family and the heart in Julianne MacLean's newest novel. A Fire Sparkling is a touching examination of the intricacies of love with a cleverly interlaced plot that kept me reading at a breakneck speed.” (Olivia Hawker, best-selling author of The Ragged Edge of Night

What listeners say about A Fire Sparkling

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3,174
  • 4 Stars
    887
  • 3 Stars
    235
  • 2 Stars
    51
  • 1 Stars
    34
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,898
  • 4 Stars
    751
  • 3 Stars
    216
  • 2 Stars
    59
  • 1 Stars
    32
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,933
  • 4 Stars
    725
  • 3 Stars
    204
  • 2 Stars
    48
  • 1 Stars
    30

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a great read.

What a great read. I connected with the characters early and enjoyed the flow of the book allowing the reader to listen to each individual characters story one at a time (I wasn’t sure I’d like this, but I did). I enjoyed the reminders of life lessons we can use and should remember when stuck or repeating the same types of mistakes, in order to continue forward and make progress out of a situation. I love how the characters learned about themselves, the love they shared and the beliefs they held about on another as the book went on. I’m usually pretty astute early on or at least by the middle as to where a book is taking me and though there were parts this still held true the author did a clever job had her twists and throwing in that moment to give you pause and say ah hah. I’m glad I read this.😁

33 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love it when I LOVE the unexpected!

So, you know how a book will sometimes take an unexpected nose dive? Well, this one actually has a few surprises that are all surprising in a good way. The storyline is good, the narration is good, and I was not anticipating the twists and turns. It does not go into great detail about the horrors of the war but still covers the historical points from a different perspective than any I have read so far, which is about 50!

54 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another must read book

Excellent storyline for a very gripping book. Covers the war in very believable descriptions. Enjoyed every written word.

21 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Read

do not pass this one up, its excellent, keeps you engaged, did not want to put it down!

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful.

I am a voracious reader (listener). I have finished 60 books this year! A Fire Sparkling is one of the best books I have ever read. I'm especially fond of WWII novels; this one is at the top of the list. There are many twists and surprises. The 2 narrators are very good. The accents, even of the American pilot, are believable. I liked all of the characters and that plays a large part in my liking of a novel. If you're a fan of England and/or WWII, definitely listen to this book. I loved it!

69 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best audio books I’ve ever listened to

wow. What a story. What a love story. What a history lesson Couldn’t
Put down My only regret is that eventually it had to end This is what historical fiction should be The good the bad the ugly Great character development you felt like you were with them in London Paris in A small home in Connecticut. You won’t be sorry you used a credit

53 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic !

I reluctantly chose this book not quite sure it would be worth a credit. I am so happy I did! The characters were well developed and I found myself empathizing one minute then irritated another with all of them . The historic setting was so well described that I swear I saw a pic that was discussed often throughout the book. I Loved this book!

26 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

A great story

This book kept my attention, page after page. I immensely enjoyed the narrators as they helped me visualize the characters and made them come alive. This was an entertaining and suspenseful story.

25 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved every minute!

Even when I thought I had the story figured out, there was a twist that I didnt see coming. This story is beautiful, and my favorite Julianne MacLean story so far. Love love love!!!

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Stunningly exciting story

This story was full of intrigue and twists. I loved the believable characters. I recommend this book.

18 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Emma Griffin
  • Emma Griffin
  • 06-23-20

Lots of twists!

I love a story that catches me with a twist, and this book did that more than once. I found the Ameircan narrator a bit whiny though.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mintychristine
  • Mintychristine
  • 08-27-19

Two Stars

I'm not sure I would recommend this book There is so many books in this genre that are better Found myself appalled by the deception of the family of the deceased male character There was no good reason to lie so blatantly just so she could have a comfortable home The SOE storyline was not convincing to me

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 09-02-19

Loved it!

I ended up really enjoying this book. It ended up having a very satisfying ending.