Regular price: $3.73

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices know that Magnus Bane is banned from Peru—and now they can find out why. One of 10 adventures in The Bane Chronicles.

There are good reasons Peru is off-limits to Magnus Bane. Follow Magnus’s Peruvian escapades as he drags his fellow warlocks Ragnor Fell and Catarina Loss into trouble, learns several instruments (which he plays shockingly), dances (which he does shockingly), and disgraces his host nation by doing something unspeakable to the Nazca Lines.

This standalone short story illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality populates the pages of the number-one New York Times best-selling series The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices. This story in The Bane Chronicles, What Really Happened in Peru, is written by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan.

©2013 Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan (P)2013 Simon & Schuster

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    193
  • 4 Stars
    108
  • 3 Stars
    100
  • 2 Stars
    37
  • 1 Stars
    26

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    201
  • 4 Stars
    100
  • 3 Stars
    67
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    13

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    171
  • 4 Stars
    85
  • 3 Stars
    90
  • 2 Stars
    42
  • 1 Stars
    23
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Entertaining

I am new to this series, having read only The City of Bones so far. I am listening to these short stories and enjoying them a lot. I like Magnus and enjoy learning more about him.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So fun, Loved It!

I loved this book. Jesse Williams did a wonderful job narrating. The flow and the tone is just how I imagined Magnus Bane would be. Very entertaining, I would love to see more stories of Magnus Bane, especially if Jesse Williams would be the narrator.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Cute insight to Magnus, But waste of time

Would you listen to What Really Happened in Peru again? Why?

No, because you don't find out what happened in Peru!

What was most disappointing about Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan ’s story?

It had it's funny points but to leave us with no answer was mean, I felt robbed of my money.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I laughed

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Would you listen to What Really Happened in Peru again? Why?

Yes. I love Magnus Bane he is my favorite character.

What did you like best about this story?

Loved his drunken adventure. Him being so drunk and flying around on a magic carpet.

Have you listened to any of Jesse Williams’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

No

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Learning about his childhood. So sad about what his mother did.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

I have loved reading the books by Cassandra Clare but this one was really drab. It just seemed to waffle, no real story line just jumping here and there. Very disappointed.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

I have read almost all of Cassandra Clare's novels. The Mortal Instruments series, The Infernal Devices, The Dark Artifacts, and this was the first of the Bane Chronicles that I have read. I am very disappointed in the book. it lacks a great deal. The storyline is very dull, and didn't hold my attention nor keep me enthralled as her books usually do. I came away from this book feeling like "That's it!? I waisted my time and money on that?" I would recommend any of her other books from the series listed above but I wouldn't recommend this one at all, save your time and money.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

I have read other Clare Cassandra stories before which I found entertaining . The however was a waste of time.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So fun

Loved the characters, fun read. My only complaint is that it abruptly ended and was way to short

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

AGH....

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

the listening was fine, the narrator reads and portrays the characters well. I had a problem with the series not really being what i expected

What do you think your next listen will be?

the next bane chronicles book because i am hoping it will be worth the money spent on them

Which character – as performed by Jesse Williams – was your favorite?

none

What character would you cut from What Really Happened in Peru?

the entire book

Any additional comments?

should be sold in set of short stories...not only for a continuous read, but it would be more economical to the reader

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not Interesting at all

Let me start by saying that I am a huge fan of Cassandra Clare's books. With this book however, I was deeply disappointed. It read like a diary thru the years of Magnus Bane's life and travels in Peru, which would have been fine, except that it was utterly boring. I found that I couldn't connect to these characters enough to care about their adventures. Secondly, the book was so short, that I feel it was a ripoff at the price I paid. It isn't likely that I will purchase the other books in this series.