Regular price: $30.79

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From the critically acclaimed author of Allegedly, Tiffany D. Jackson, comes a gripping new novel perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Gillian Flynn about the mystery of one teenage girl’s disappearance and the traumatic effects of the truth.

Monday Charles is missing, and only Claudia seems to notice. Claudia and Monday have always been inseparable - more sisters than friends. So when Monday doesn’t turn up for the first day of school, Claudia’s worried.

When she doesn’t show for the second day, or second week, Claudia knows that something is wrong. Monday wouldn’t just leave her to endure tests and bullies alone. Not after last year’s rumors and not with her grades on the line. Now, Claudia needs her best - and only - friend more than ever. But Monday’s mother refuses to give Claudia a straight answer, and Monday’s sister April is even less help.

As Claudia digs deeper into her friend’s disappearance, she discovers that no one seems to remember the last time they saw Monday. How can a teenage girl just vanish without anyone noticing that she’s gone?

©2018 Tiffany D. Jackson (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

4.5 Stars

I love that this novel highlights the injustices of missing black girls, but the time jumps confused me a bit and it wasn’t necessary. Claudia was a bit annoying with how clueless she was. The ending was not expected, but knowing the author and how ALLEGEDLY turned out, I should’ve expected the unexpected. Overall good book. Definitely worth a listen and recommendation.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic narrator, author, and story!

I read a LOT of YA/Teen fiction and I loved Jackson's first book. Given how much I read within this genre, I did NOT see the ending coming at ALL! For ME to be shocked with a book, you KNOW it's well-written. Read this! Now! Fantastic narrator, fantastic author, fantastic story!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

I just can't with Jackson's stories.

Unlike others who've negatively reviewed the book, I did not find the timeline confusing, but like another reviewer mentioned, Jackson can drag a climax or plot reveal out like no other. It was beyond annoying and frustrating. I, like another reviewer, just fast forward to the end (I couldn't sit through 20 more chapters of is she or isn't she - I'm a truck driver btw, so that says a lot). I also don't like teenage angst stories, I just want to shake these characters, Jackson develops her characters really well and most realistically, that is why they frustrate me so!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good, until the end

The twist was not interesting, the ending sucked..The storyline was great. Wish the character's were older

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can’t even

Beautiful story with beautiful characters. I enjoyed every minute of this book. This book made me laugh and cry and yell... reacting as if I was in the story myself. Thank you to the author...

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

READ ME. NOW

I usually don't recommend books, but this one was soooooo good. I finished it in one day. The story flows so well it hooks you in. You as the listener can see everything as if you were in the story yourself. Once you think you know how it ends you are in for an awesome twist. Enjoy!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow...Miss Jackson You've Done It Again!

This story is so tragic yet absolutely compelling. I can only imagine what it'd be like reading this as a parent, but I'm sure even more emotional, excluding those that are more like Patty Charles that is.🤨 I love how Claudia was so dedicated to her friend and the search to find her, but absolutely hate how blind she was to all the red flags for so long. She had a serious case of forest for the trees where Monday was concerned and it was sad to listen to at times. That being said, it's definitely an enlightening story concerning all the girls going missing in the community depicted. The timeline did get a little confusing for me toward the end leaving me with a few questions, but maybe another read will solve that, which I most certainly don't mind. All in all, DEFINITELY worth the credit OR the price!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I just loved it

I loved everything about this book! I laughed I cried and I was angry. There are some people who should not be parents in that’s all I’m say!!! But I love that Claudia never gave up looking for her friend she was a ride or die.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book!

Jackson’s newest novel is even better than her first one. I think I would have rather read the hard copy to get a better sense of the time jumps and of Claudia’s struggles and triumphs with her writing but the narrator did a good job. Loved the twist at the end!