• All Her Little Secrets

  • A Novel
  • By: Wanda M. Morris
  • Narrated by: Susan Dalian
  • Length: 11 hrs and 40 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (872 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.93

Buy for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

All Her Little Secrets is a brilliantly nuanced but powerhouse exploration of race, the legal system, and the crushing pressure of keeping secrets. Morris brings a vibrant and welcome new voice to the thriller space.” (Karin Slaughter, New York Times and international best-selling author)

In this fast-paced thriller, Wanda M. Morris crafts a twisty mystery about a Black lawyer who gets caught in a dangerous conspiracy after the sudden death of her boss.... A debut perfect for fans of Attica Locke, Alyssa Cole, Harlan Coben, and Celeste Ng, with shades of How to Get Away with Murder and John Grisham’s The Firm.

Everyone has something to hide....

Ellice Littlejohn seemingly has it all: an Ivy League law degree, a well-paying job as a corporate attorney in midtown Atlanta, great friends, and a “for fun” relationship with a rich, charming executive, who just happens to be her White boss. But everything changes one cold January morning when Ellice arrives in the executive suite and finds him dead with a gunshot to his head.

And then she walks away like nothing has happened. Why? Ellice has been keeping a cache of dark secrets, including a small-town past and a kid brother who’s spent time on the other side of the law. She can’t be thrust into the spotlight - again.

But instead of grieving this tragedy, people are gossiping, the police are getting suspicious, and Ellice, the company’s lone black attorney, is promoted to replace her boss. While the opportunity is a dream-come-true, Ellice just can’t shake the feeling that something is off.

When she uncovers shady dealings inside the company, Ellice is trapped in an impossible ethical and moral dilemma. Suddenly, Ellice’s past and present lives collide as she launches into a pulse-pounding race to protect the brother she tried to save years ago and stop a conspiracy far more sinister than she could have ever imagined....

©2021 Wanda M. Morris (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

Editor's Pick

Delizioso!
Warning: Taste by Stanley Tucci is not to be listened to on an empty stomach. Like Tucci, my family hails from Southern Italy, and we watched his CNN series, Searching for Italy, with rapt attention. My husband even went so far as to make the zucchini alla nerano featured on the show, and our family text threads included debates about Bolognese, serious bouts of wanderlust, and a deep admiration for Tucci’s white pants. Taste explores how his love of food has touched all areas of his life. The dulcet tone of his voice makes you feel like you’re listening to a friend as he recounts stories from his childhood and career, makes food puns, and shares plenty of recipes. Make yourself a drink (and a snack), grab your headphones, and get ready to devour this listen (see what I did there?). —Katie O., Audible Editor

What listeners say about All Her Little Secrets

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    567
  • 4 Stars
    205
  • 3 Stars
    67
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    13
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    604
  • 4 Stars
    140
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    7
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    477
  • 4 Stars
    197
  • 3 Stars
    63
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    19

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Could barely finish this book

I rarely review but have to say the main character in this book is beyond annoying. She is supposed to be a strong brilliant woman but makes the dumbest decisions at every turn and is hours behind the reader in catching on with the plot. Very aggravating experience.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow just wow

This was such a good book! The suspense was so worth it! I liked the narrator as well, kept you engaged.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

This book is kind of a legal thriller me. I say kind of because the protagonist is a well paid corporate lawyer but her knowledge of the law pays little role in the book except beingfor her excuse for making stupid decisions.

The death of a long term lover, her European boss, of ALL THINGS, sets the action however it barely seems to effect her. Not playing in the company pool is corporate survival 101 for a black woman, there is no explanation as to WHY she was in a relationship that could never end well for her. While she supposedly feels overtly responsible for he shiftless younger brother not even her closest friends knows he even exists. And her big shame, the reason she is so secretive, I didn’t buy it.

And I think that’s the issue with the entire book, I don’t buy it. She is a corporate lawyer, an achievement for any black woman but she act like a new graduate just entering the workforce. Not a seasoned professional. I was literally yelling at the reading as she let the European protagonist walk right over her. The corporate environment is indeed toxic for Sisters but she was too stupid for having been in corporate America 20 years.

The resolution makes no sense. Instead of using her vaunted legal skills to get out of her problem she uses the same solution she did as an abused 14 year old.? What?

In the end, I am not certain what lessons she learned. Her trauma response was trying GB to handle everything herself and after it’s all over…she process to do the same. People show her they are there for her but she NEVER lets anyone help.

There was so much potential in the story, sans the dimmest Sister ever.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • AB
  • 11-08-21

Don’t waste your time or a credit!

Don’t believe the hype about this book! It’s mostly drivel. It’s full of tired, trite tropes, and an inconsistently written main character. It’s also not up-to-date. I I did my best to give this book a chance, but there were too many frustrations with the plot and characterizations that it just got to be incredibly annoying. Skip it. It should never have made it past submissions.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I couldn’t stop listening

Great story, great reader! It had me thinking it was going one way, then off in another direction. I loved the suspense and the thrill & my heart broke with the sadness.
Going to check out both Wanda M. Morris & Susan Dalian works

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Modern Day Thriler

Great storyline. I loved the main character. I can't wait for more from this author.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The twists pile up.

For her debut, it's excellent. Fans of John Grisham, like myself, are happy as clams. An amazing legal thriller. Narration is also well done.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

page turner

At first I thought it was a dud, but to hell with my initial thought. It quickly turned into a page turner. So many turns and the unexpected. "The Brethren ", a secret society, the exposed crooks on the 20th floor, the deaths and finally realizing that you don't need to hide parts of your life. it's what makes you, YOU! Once Ellice realized that she was then able to live, by then she lost the only person who she ever loved and claimed she was protecting. #Book49of2021 #bookworm #whatsnext

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow!

This book awesome! I found a friend in Elise. This book may be fiction but absolutely rooted in reality. Scary stuff…but a must read!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved

secrets always get you caught up. the unraveling of the secrets kept me locked in....and #blackgirlmagic

.