Regular price: $19.95

Sale price: $19.95 or 1 credit

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

My name is Sawyer William Vincent - I know, it sounds like three first names - but most people know me as the Red Raptor.

Well, technically no one knows I'm the Red Raptor, he's just a bit more popular. 

Wow. Enough about my name. Let me start over. I’m a superhero - the legendary Black Harrier’s partner. Not sidekick. I don't care if I'm still in high school. We work together to bring down the city's most dangerous villains. 

When the Black Harrier gets a mysterious note, then goes missing in New York City, things are pretty much left up to me. But don’t worry...I’ve got this. Piece of cake. 

If you like Tim Drake as Robin or ever wondered what Peter Parker would be like if he lived in Gotham, Rap-tors is right up your alley. 

From number one Audible best seller Jaime Castle and CJ Valin comes a new superhero universe perfect for fans of both DC and Marvel.

Actually, it’s for fans of anything superhero-related. You’re gonna like it. Promise.

©2021 Aethon Books (P)2021 Audible, Inc.

What listeners say about Sidekick

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    180
  • 4 Stars
    70
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    191
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    157
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superhero fans rejoice!

The description said fans of Marvel and DC would be pleased. This is true... though I think it’s important to note that true superhero fans, comic book reading, movie watching, old-school fans will be THRILLED.

I’ve read a lot of superhero fiction. One thing that is true of nearly all of it is the exhaustive focus on the REASON superheroes exist in the world. The other authors seem to forget that we, as comic book fans, don’t really get fixated on that. We accept it.

Sure, we care about the individual origins of characters, but why the God of Thunder, Son of Zeus, and a radio-active spider-man all exist in the first place? We don’t need a ton of answers there. That’s why we read. We are exhilarated by the very concept.

What Castle and Valin do is skip all the pretense of why and just give us some new superheroes that feel familiar and could easily fit into the Marvel catalog. It’s like a Wednesday at the local comic book shop, only it’s a novel and a damn good one.

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Whoa, Jack Meloche

Who is this guy? Where did he come from? He just shot to the top of my list. MORE FROM MELOCHE.

The story is great, too.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding superhero story with great characters

I had a blast listening to this. A fresh, contemporary spin. The narrator was a perfect match for the material.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun for hero and coming of age fans

This is a great easy listen for Hero fans that might enjoy the 'sidekicks' perspective. Part coming of age story, part underdog.
I enjoyed the banter and awkward high school interactions with he love interest, as well as the frustrations the sidekick has with his partner.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

High octane!

Start to finish powerhouse. Book two next month? I can hardly wait. I think I’ll listen again before then.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fresh ideas join forces with the familiar!

A fantastic listen throughout, this story doesn't set out to totally reinvent the wheel and doesn't need to, but it never feels like a rip-off and it goes in some unexpected directions. It's not a long book, but it covers a lot of events and details without ever feeling rushed. Characters are well-realized and relatable, predicaments are believable, and I'm definitely ready for more stories following this hero and more spin-offs in this universe of supers. While he's great from start to finish, Jack's performance of the main villain nearly stole the show.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun story

I enjoyed it. The story was very engaging and entertaining. Very much a superhero story reminiscent of Spider-Man or the like without being a ripoff.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sidekick

Here’s my required 15 words to say I enjoyed the book and am looking forward to more.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hidden Gem... immediately reading the next one

I was a bit skeptical before trying it that I would like a super hero book, but was pleasantly surprised. The pacing was excellent, the story kept me entertained, and the narrator was perfect for the characters in the story.
I looked into the authors other works and they’ve got stuff in my normal go to genres too. If they can make me enjoy a genre I’ve beforehand not really been super interested in, I can only imagine how much I’ll enjoy reading their stuff in fantasy and sci-fi.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Pretty cool premise and love some super hero stories. I saw the twist coming a mile away and still loved every second of it. Can't wait for more.

3 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Scorpion kickboxer
  • Scorpion kickboxer
  • 04-12-21

A love letter to super hero’s

This book has everything you could want for a super hero story, old hero’s, new hero’s struggling to find the balance, mysterious capes appearing from nowhere. The old grizzled I’m to good for this bullshit hero’s.

If your a fan of super story’s this book is a must have for you ! Why are you reading this review just buy it now !!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Glennccc
  • Glennccc
  • 03-28-21

Great Story

Everything you need in a superhero book, a superhero with hang ups, a geeky young sidekick, a love interest, proper villains, great action and a fascinating back story. all delivered very well by Jack Meloche.