We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Girl with All the Gifts Audiobook

The Girl with All the Gifts

Regular Price:$28.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Audible Editor Reviews

Editors Select, June 2014 - All I knew going into M.R. Carey's The Girl with All the Gifts was that it is a zombie novel centered around a special, enigmatic little girl named Melanie. Now that I've finished, I have a dilemma — I want to convince everyone I know to listen to it, but I don't want to give a single thing away. What I will say is this: The Girl with All the Gifts is one of the most imaginative, original, and deeply human takes on the zombie genre I have ever encountered in any form. It's definitely a thriller in the true sense of the word: every time I thought I knew where the story was going, Carey completely changed the game, and there were plenty of those harrowing, suspenseful scenes that make the genre so irresistible. But what made this story truly unique were the characters — multidimensional, believable, and sympathetic personalities that stayed with me long after the story was over. If you like zombie fiction, or just great, smart thrillers, make this your next listen. And don't dare let anyone spoil the ending for you. —Sam, Audible Editor

Publisher's Summary

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr Caldwell calls her "our little genius".

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don't like her. She jokes that she won't bite, but they don't laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children's cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she'll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn't know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

The Girl with All the Gifts is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin, and Neil Gaiman.

©2014 M.R. Carrey (P)2014 Hachette Audio

What the Critics Say

"A great read that takes hold of you and doesn't let go.""If you only read one novel this year, make sure it's this one, it's amazing.""The story of Melanie and the people around her is so thoughtfully crafted, so heartfelt, remorseless and painfully human, that it takes the potentially tired trope of the zombie apocalypse and makes it as fresh as it is terrifying. The story spirals towards a conclusion so surprising, so warm and yet so chilling, that it takes a moment to realize it's been earned since the first page, and even before. It left me sighing with envious joy, like I'd been simultaneously offered flowers and beaten at chess. A jewel."

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (25975 )
5 star
 (13710)
4 star
 (8665)
3 star
 (2690)
2 star
 (605)
1 star
 (305)
Overall
4.3 (23957 )
5 star
 (12304)
4 star
 (7696)
3 star
 (2887)
2 star
 (696)
1 star
 (374)
Story
4.6 (23961 )
5 star
 (16313)
4 star
 (5987)
3 star
 (1313)
2 star
 (207)
1 star
 (141)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    05-22-17
    05-22-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "WOW! amazing story..."

    I was absolutely full on hooked from the first paragraph to the last few words. Mr Carey Hassan imagination Second to none!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lorraine United States 05-19-17
    Lorraine United States 05-19-17 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    66
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I don't like science fiction."

    The choice was a mistake for me. In fairness, I gave it a higher rating then my listening tastes appreciated. If you like zombies and The Walking Dead TV series, you will like this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 05-18-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent"

    Excellent and compelling story, great narration. An interesting and creepily plausible take on the apocalypse story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Scott Wellston, OK, United States 05-17-17
    Scott Wellston, OK, United States 05-17-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    72
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    300
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent"

    A great read for young adults, adults, zombie, and dystopia lovers, really everyone. Well worth the money.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    averageamy 05-17-17
    averageamy 05-17-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    116
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant on all levels"

    The most beautifully written, utterly terrifying, perfectly narrated novel I've "read" in a long time.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Chris Christensen 05-15-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Worth the Slow Build"

    Slow build up but the amazing writing and superb finish make it well worth the investment. Must listen!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bjorn Smars Neverwhere 05-15-17
    Bjorn Smars Neverwhere 05-15-17 Member Since 2012

    The Raven

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    109
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I mean, wow."

    This was an amazing listening experience. The book itself is great, but add an excellent narrator to the mix, and you've got a winning combination.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    05-14-17
    05-14-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Verry riviting story "

    this is an amazing book well written, it cultivates the questions that you have to have asnwered

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Yolanda S. Bean Chicago, IL 05-12-17
    Yolanda S. Bean Chicago, IL 05-12-17 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    66
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    67
    67
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Riveting Listen!"

    This book has been lingering in my TBR pile for about two years now - in both print and audio. I decided to start listening - and I am glad that I did! I really liked the performance!

    But, one of the downsides of waiting to start reading it is that I knew a bit more exactly what the titular girl with all the gifts really is - though initially it caught my attention based on the author and its good reviews. While zombies are not my favorite in the recent resurgence in the popularity of supernatural fiction, I have to admit that the "hungries" here and the whole origination of this gave the story a fresh and horrifying spin. I quite enjoyed it - much more than I expected to, really! The characters - both good and villainous - are well-developed and all are sympathetic at times. I like the author's writing style and I am looking forward to checking out the movie - as it certainly has a cinematic flair! And I am looking forward to listening to the prequel soon, too!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alyssa 05-10-17
    Alyssa 05-10-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing!"

    Great narration. Amazing story. Kept me guessing the entire way through. Character development is excellent.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.