Regular price: $28.50

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Editorial Reviews

Editors Select, June 2014 - All I knew going into M.R. Carey's The Girl with All the Gifts was that it is a zombie novel centered around a special, enigmatic little girl named Melanie. Now that I've finished, I have a dilemma — I want to convince everyone I know to listen to it, but I don't want to give a single thing away. What I will say is this: The Girl with All the Gifts is one of the most imaginative, original, and deeply human takes on the zombie genre I have ever encountered in any form. It's definitely a thriller in the true sense of the word: every time I thought I knew where the story was going, Carey completely changed the game, and there were plenty of those harrowing, suspenseful scenes that make the genre so irresistible. But what made this story truly unique were the characters — multidimensional, believable, and sympathetic personalities that stayed with me long after the story was over. If you like zombie fiction, or just great, smart thrillers, make this your next listen. And don't dare let anyone spoil the ending for you. —Sam, Audible Editor

Publisher's Summary

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr Caldwell calls her "our little genius".

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don't like her. She jokes that she won't bite, but they don't laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children's cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she'll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn't know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

The Girl with All the Gifts is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin, and Neil Gaiman.

©2014 M.R. Carrey (P)2014 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"A great read that takes hold of you and doesn't let go.""If you only read one novel this year, make sure it's this one, it's amazing.""The story of Melanie and the people around her is so thoughtfully crafted, so heartfelt, remorseless and painfully human, that it takes the potentially tired trope of the zombie apocalypse and makes it as fresh as it is terrifying. The story spirals towards a conclusion so surprising, so warm and yet so chilling, that it takes a moment to realize it's been earned since the first page, and even before. It left me sighing with envious joy, like I'd been simultaneously offered flowers and beaten at chess. A jewel."

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    15,964
  • 4 Stars
    9,733
  • 3 Stars
    3,024
  • 2 Stars
    675
  • 1 Stars
    345

Performance

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    18,906
  • 4 Stars
    6,699
  • 3 Stars
    1,469
  • 2 Stars
    235
  • 1 Stars
    156

Story

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    14,317
  • 4 Stars
    8,697
  • 3 Stars
    3,243
  • 2 Stars
    790
  • 1 Stars
    419
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A very different take on the zombie apocalypse.

A great performance and a compelling story, giving a different take on the zombie apocalypse that leads to a conclusion you may not expect.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good story, even though I am not a fan of zombies

Would you listen to The Girl with All the Gifts again? Why?

There are some subtle meaning and scenes that provoke thoughts of culture and provenance wolven into the story that makes it very interesting.

How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

The prolonged descriptions of gore are not pleasant

Which scene was your favorite?

The final scene (no spoilers)

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

A new humanity

Any additional comments?

Not a fan of zombies and was not aware this was a zombie story until after I purchased it. There is also a movie made from this book, but compared to the book it is awful.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

exceptionally well done

The narrator made all the difference just with a small change in tone you always knew which character was being embodied. Bravo actually BRAVA

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

stimulating

My interest was held throughput the story. great use of metaphor. point of view shifted a little, but still cohesive. Voice and tone were just right. I enjoyed it immensely and recommend it!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

potential nearly squandered.

after a stunning act 1 this book devolves into trope tripe. it's ending is uncharacteristic, unrewarding, unremarkable, and underwhelming. still, though, dat act 1

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Average read. Did manage to keep my attention.

I’m not much for the zombie craze, so maybe that is why I didn’t particularly love this book. Narration was above average.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

An original spin on the zombie craze

Shades of I am Legend with a dash of the Day of the Triffids. Just when you think we've run the gamut of zombie apocalypse ideas, here comes a new slant. Really, just read this. It's got everything you want.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Eerily fantastic to the very end

The characters and the transitions of The Who is talking is fantastic. The narrator did an excellent job. The story is one of the most fascinating story lines of a distopian future. The girl with all the gifts takes you on a journey of this post apocalyptic world that I have never read or listened to before.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

pays off in the end

I really struggled to finish this one. Maybe because of the sense of dread with which the story is infused. But it becomes exciting in the last hour or two when everything starts happening.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

The narrator was perfect for this book

The story was fine but the narrator really bright it to life.

I really enjoyed the ending of the story but the story itself was a little dry.