Regular price: $21.81

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Alex Verus is tracking down dangerous magical items unleashed into the world by Dark Mages - however, when the Light Council decide they need his help in negotiating with the perpetrators, Alex must use all his cunning and magic to strike a deal.

The ninth novel in the urban fantasy series which began with Fated - the Alex Verus novels are magic-filled fan favourites, perfect for fans of Jim Butcher and Ben Aaronovitch.

©2018 Benedict Jacka (P)2018 Hachette Audio UK

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Magbug
  • 07-08-18

More of the same

It's fine but after 9 books, I'd appreciate a bit more plot development. Verus doesn't really have much depth and the Light council are increasingly unbelievable. I will plough on with book 10 when it appears but without much anticipation.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Sararara
  • 07-16-18

Another day another battle

I really wish that these Verus books were better than they are. The magical setup is good, characters are diverse and story arc keeps you guessing but the books are always a bit disappointing.
There’s very little ‘real’ London in this book, many of the most interesting characters and devices are absent.
It’s all shouty political and military manoeuvres with some soppy love interest thrown in.
Set pieces conjure up gaming visuals and the narration is increasingly like a straight-to-video voiceover.
Central character Anne is dull by name, dull by nature. And this instalment is pretty dull too, which is a real shame. But the cover is nice.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-09-18

Fantastic

Thoroughly enjoyed the book and the narrator - he did the voices very well indeed

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • D. Clough
  • 07-07-18

Further adventures

This review of the ninth Alex Verus book is inevitably also of all the others which I've consumed as fast as possible in the last couple of weeks; just as I'll be consuming ten, eleven and twelve, when - and if - they come along in due course. A thoroughly entertaining read and a well constructed and convincing story world. Gildart Jackson is also well suited as a reader, with a slightly donnish quality to his reading which makes the magical anti-hero sound a bit like Inspector Morse at times.

If comparisons are invidious, it's also safe to say that, if you liked Jim Butcher's Dresden books or Kevin Hearne's Iron Druid series, then these books will be your cup of henbane. It's the same formula as those books, a Chandleresque outsider going down the meaner streets of magic but this time in a London setting. (Despite this, I'd say that the books have more in common with the American writers than, say, Aaronovitch's Peter Grant who comes from a different genre stable. There's more noir touches for one thing, and a 'scooby' crew who back up Alex when he gets in a jam.

All these heroes have a tough time with authority but Jacka scores special points for his depiction of the vicious, hypocritical officials who rule his magic world. Somehow that rings true. Perhaps JK Rowling should take notes as she climbs into the ring with Trump?

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Andrei
  • 07-06-18

finally, he told her his feelings!!!

I've been waiting for this for a long time, but now I really need to see what's going to happen 😁

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Helene
  • 07-14-18

Superb

As always Benedict Jacka writes and excellent story which is expertly brought to life by Gildart Jackson. I can't wait to hear more.