Regular price: $13.85

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally best-selling author Veronica Roth's stunning new science-fiction fantasy series.

On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favoured by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape the future. While most benefit from their currentgifts, Akos and Cyra do not - their gifts make them vulnerable to others' control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates and their lives and reset the balance of power in this world?

Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra's currentgift gives her pain and power - something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother's hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet and smarter than he knows.

Akos is from the peace-loving nation of Thuvhe, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Though protected by his unusual currentgift, once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get his brother out alive - no matter what the cost. When Akos is thrust into Cyra's world, the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. They must decide to help each other to survive - or to destroy one another.

©2017 Veronica Roth (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great book

What made the experience of listening to Carve the Mark the most enjoyable?

So well read, bringing the characters alive, just as I imagined them in the book.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Akos, the main male character in the book is loyal, wise and dependable.

Which character – as performed by Austin Butler and Emily Rankin – was your favorite?

Cyra was brought to life for me by Emily Rankin.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

Since she was 8 seasons old Cyra has endured the gift of pain, a pain that only the enslaved Akos can ease. Both carry marks carved into their skin, one for each person they have been forced to kill. While fighting against the tyranny of Cyra's older brother together they learn that the condition of monstrousness doesn't have to be permanent.

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Zedd
  • 02-26-17

Brilliant

Had me totally hooked. Both he narrators did an amazing job I'm actually sad it ended :( but hope if there is another they choose the same cast.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • David Glease
  • 01-29-17

Good story, so-so dialogue

The plot is interesting enough, but there's a lot of monologue exposition and flowery dialogue

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • jon
  • 01-27-17

An OK listen

Not the easiest book to listen to at the start but keep with it as it improves greatly as the story progresses.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • g
  • 01-28-17

Terrible

Would you try another book written by Veronica Roth or narrated by Austin Butler and Emily Rankin ?

I thought this book was awful. I wouldn't recommend it at all. I couldn't wait for it to be over.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Kelsey
  • 10-11-17

First off, I'm 23 and I loved this...

I read the hardback copy of this book and loved it so much I bought the audible version too! The plot itself is so gripping and this world that Roth has created is described so well that I can easily imagine it. The characters are relatable and you instantly feel connected with them. It's an amazing new take on the dynastopian trend that's been taking over everywhere. Love it and I'll continue to listen to it agin and again!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Mrs M.
  • 07-05-17

Worth hanging in there

What does Austin Butler and Emily Rankin bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

A sense of the personality of the two main characters.

Any additional comments?

It did feel a bit slow to start, and the names of people are a bit too similar to each other and so different from names I recognise, that they did remain a bit confused even till the end of the book. <br/><br/>However, the world that Veronica has created is so interesting and really in-depth. This isn't a book with only a surface level of detail about some mythical world, with unrealistic events. This is very well thought through - they feel like real people, with real lives. It means you're invested in seeing what happens next. I felt Veronica invested herself in this world, and I wanted to as well.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • glewis
  • 06-03-17

Didn't get it!

The names of the characters and places were too abstract to retain to memory and distracting, making it difficult to follow the story. The 'fates' seemed meaningless and irrelevant. The storyline was weak, I couldn't care less what happened to any of the characters by the end, I just wanted to get to the end! The narrators were very good though. Not sure what age group this is aimed at or would appeal to?

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Miss N D Walter
  • 05-01-17

An interesting and exciting new world.

I struggled at first to get into the story. This new world is vast and the vocabulary took some getting use to. something I do not think would be an issue if you had the physical book in front of you.
However, I really got into it and the dual narrative added an extra layer of interest. I love forward to the next book.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • james
  • 04-19-17

not bad listing

it is a good story but try and keep up with what is what to meany names of people or things bit confusing.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-13-17

Fantastic

The narrators were awesome, and the book is amazing, twisting and turning through the story.

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amazon Customer
  • 02-01-17

A fascinating and well thought out universe

Emily Rankin is a wonderful narrator and she reads majority of the book, I was less impressed with Austin Butler but the story made up for that. The characters are well developed and the story was very interesting. Definitely worth a try.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Helen
  • 11-23-17

Roth missed the mark

this story was overly detailed in areas, and missed others. too fussed around the personal stories of the main characters. no where near as good as her first series.