Regular price: $49.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.
©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

Critic Reviews

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)
"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)
"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    25,023
  • 4 Stars
    7,110
  • 3 Stars
    2,170
  • 2 Stars
    527
  • 1 Stars
    364

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    20,641
  • 4 Stars
    6,336
  • 3 Stars
    2,861
  • 2 Stars
    850
  • 1 Stars
    622

Story

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    23,083
  • 4 Stars
    5,593
  • 3 Stars
    1,908
  • 2 Stars
    461
  • 1 Stars
    255
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Roy Detrice is committed

What did you love best about A Dance with Dragons?

I love this narrator! He has done most (if not all) of these audio recordings, and he is amazing! They even put him in the show as a cameo character! Great voices.

What did you like best about this story?

I love this series as a whole.. this one is decent, but I liked the first 3 4 better.

Have you listened to any of Roy Dotrice’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

Yes! You can tell he's getting old, but still does a great job.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

Shit hits the fan!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Steve
  • North Potomac, MD, United States
  • 04-19-16

Can't wait for Book 6 to come out.

A great read. Roy Dotrice should enlist the aid of a female to help read. Every female character sounds like the same old hag. He does a great job for the male characters.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Whats next

Cant wait for Winds of Winter and season 6 of course. wonder how it will all end

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Another great book!!!!

If you haven't noticed the narrator of the book ends up changing the voices of a few of the characters. You can't blame the guy but after a few chapters you get used to it and get drawn into the amazing book 5th of its series!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

tell the darn story

let's tell the damn story stop telling me about their clothes and the food they're going to eat

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Excellent book series and narration!!

Love the Fire and Ice series and as always, Roy does an amazing job narrating.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

good, enjoyable, not great

story drags at times in detail, narrator only decent, but worth it for fantasy lovers

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Well narrated

Roy Dotrice really helps an already beautifully written world come alive, while the multiple stories blend seamlessly together.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Dotrice Laid an Egg

Mr. Martin has every right to kill his characters with his pen, however, Roy Dotrice has no right to kill those characters with his voice as he is done by changing so much in pronunciation and voice acting in this volume compared to the previous. I miss Aria most of all, and I have no connection with the old hag who replaced her in the voice of Dotrice.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

good book but the narrator is just OKAY

The story is great, the narrator has changed up his voices for certain characters nagging Dany sounds like a girl from the gutters and others have been altered to sound odd, but is still worth a listen.