Regular price: $49.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.
©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

Critic Reviews

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)
"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)
"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    25,016
  • 4 Stars
    7,109
  • 3 Stars
    2,170
  • 2 Stars
    527
  • 1 Stars
    364

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    20,635
  • 4 Stars
    6,336
  • 3 Stars
    2,859
  • 2 Stars
    850
  • 1 Stars
    622

Story

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    23,075
  • 4 Stars
    5,593
  • 3 Stars
    1,908
  • 2 Stars
    461
  • 1 Stars
    255
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

I loved it! I love this book!must read this, if yo

read from front to back!! great read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!if you have read or listened, you would love it!!!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

so fuggin good.

you made it this far you don't need a review. you know this shizz is the bomb.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Roy Dotrice is great

Roy Dotrice is an amazing story teller and the perfect match for A Song of Ice and Fire. The only other replacement could possibly be Iain Glen, who has the sexiest voice.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

good story, keeps me wanting more <br /><br />

love to book, the best yet it was worth the read. I look forward to the next book.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Winter arrives

This is a great book. Answers many of the lingering questions from the series, yet leaves more mysteries to be solved in the next book. Can't wait!
The performance was great! Roy Dotrice has performed all the other books and does an excellent job with the characters.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Awesome buy very very cleverly acted

Excellently acted... the narration is delicate and the story is well.. typical George Martin Magnificence

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A good time, 20% of the time

Some chapters are amazing, moving the story forward, keeping you interested. The rest are all junk. Long drawn out explanations about what people are wearing, back stories on. characters who are already dead and not even the slightest bit relevant to the story, and damned if we don't know what everyone in Westeros as for breakfast each morning.

I picked up the books because I wanted more from the TV series, not sure if it was worth it.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

I love GRRM Good stories.

narrator is a little raspy and all the dany voice is slightly disturbing otherwise he did lots of things really well. Jons voice is the best!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Roy struggles at times but the story is compelling

Roy's narration is at times jarring. Too many female characters have the old crone voice. The thoughts of characters and the spoken dialog are confusing because they are narrated in the same voice.

Still, Roy has an amazing ability to give a dynamic feel to this epic story. I have enjoyed listening for countless hours and I will absolutely buy The Winds of Winter so long as Roy is the narrator.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Roy changed his voices!

Go back and listen to yourself on the other books then record this again!