Regular price: $49.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.
©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

Critic Reviews

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)
"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)
"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    25,551
  • 4 Stars
    7,199
  • 3 Stars
    2,196
  • 2 Stars
    531
  • 1 Stars
    365

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    21,085
  • 4 Stars
    6,421
  • 3 Stars
    2,897
  • 2 Stars
    860
  • 1 Stars
    628

Story

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    23,552
  • 4 Stars
    5,669
  • 3 Stars
    1,935
  • 2 Stars
    466
  • 1 Stars
    257
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great

Amazing series. I enjoyed every entry. Tremendous. Yuuge. I listened as I went to bed.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

wonderful story

I really like the story, I listened to it as I walked. It is a little hard to listen to because of the different characters, some sound like pirates or leprechaun. Overall the story makes it hard to put down. I look forward to the 6th book

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

this book is the best in the series

as the title says this is the best book in the series. It has the most action, the most thorough plot, and it's just well written. if the sixth book is written as well as this one we are in for a treat

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • TDMC
  • MINNEAPOLIS, Mongolia
  • 01-06-17

great voice for male characters, not for females

2 things: slow story telling in this one- very long winded and the reader can't do a female's voice to save his life. beautiful voices for men. The women sounded more like the crow that screams CORN than any actual woman.

Going back to the first point: we love the main characters who are still alive and we don't really care to have 5-10 new main characters added. I understand you want the "punch in the gut" feeling when people are dying but there should be more happening with the main characters still alive.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Fantastic book

Great addition to any library. Intriguing story with great production value. Roy's interpretation of the characters is refreshing, but can be confusing to the listener. This because a handfull of characters get an accent change which make it hard to identify who is speaking.

Other than that a great audiobook and a well deserved applause.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

great story - - some mix-up with voices and name p

loved the story, I'm on the edge of my seat most of the time. But I did find frustrating was that Roy mispronounced names that he had pronounced another way for most of the series so far and then sometimes their voices change. It was a little hard to catch up on who exactly was talking when that happens. That being said, I realized that creating all those voices and dialects is quite a job and despite the mix-up, I love the story.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

G.o.t

I like how each character has a back story and history; an explanation for what has made them their selves.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A great story read plainly.

I enjoyed this book. It's greatest strength is it's characters. I also enjoy how well-developed the world is. This is one of the best fantasy book series ever written. It's a shame that the audiobooks were performed with such mediocrity. The narrator makes female characters sound like sqealing pirates. Especially Aria and Daenyrs.

If you enjoy this series and need something to read while waiting for the next, check out some of these series: Mistborn, by Brandon Sanderson; Red Rising, by Peirce Brown; A Raven's Shadow, by Anthony Ryan; Cold Magic, by Kate Elliott.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

playback terrible

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

play skipped a lot with long pauses between sentences. Had a little in previous book but this time it was extremely annoying

What didn’t you like about Roy Dotrice’s performance?

character's voices changed from previous version

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Enthralling.

The best work in a Song of Ice and Fire to date. cannot wait for the next one.