We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (31835 )
5 star
 (22253)
4 star
 (6685)
3 star
 (2049)
2 star
 (503)
1 star
 (345)
Overall
4.6 (28264 )
5 star
 (20516)
4 star
 (5250)
3 star
 (1812)
2 star
 (437)
1 star
 (249)
Story
4.4 (28264 )
5 star
 (18359)
4 star
 (5866)
3 star
 (2676)
2 star
 (785)
1 star
 (578)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Mukuka Mwamba 06-21-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "fantastic book"

    Loved it. Another great book by a master storyteller. Can't wait to try out another book and witness the various pieces come together.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    matrix 06-20-16
    matrix 06-20-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story,delivery had ups and downs"

    The story was gripping and hard to turn off. The reader had a very epic voice, like what you'd imagine a medieval storyteller would sound like: regal and at times powerful. However, the same reader did all the character voices, which made it confusing sometimes, and outright ridiculous when he did voices for women and children. Still, a really good listen.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alison L. Morris 06-19-16 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    11
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Third time listening. ..intrigued as ever!!!"

    Always hear something new each time I listen! love the suspense, the plots, and can't wait to read the next book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    zachary 06-19-16
    zachary 06-19-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "winter is coming"

    Jon Snow is the greatest character in the history of fantasy. I can't wait to see where he ends up.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sylvia Jordan. 06-18-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "when is book six coming?????"

    awesome book. cant wait for the next one!! they just ended at a pivotal point!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mike wright 06-16-16
    mike wright 06-16-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "amazing plot/action/characters/world building"

    book 1, 3, and 5 are my favorites, and #5 is my favorite of all so far, things are really coming together well :)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ward Cameron 06-16-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it and sad that it is over..."

    Compelling story accompanied by excellent narration! Highly recommend for an entertaining listen. it did not disappoint!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael Bendele San Antonio TX 06-15-16
    Michael Bendele San Antonio TX 06-15-16 Member Since 2015

    squirel

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "So many hours of listening, so little satisfaction."

    As far as I'm concerned the author can take his time finishing the rest of the story. I'm exhausted and done.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wheelman 06-15-16
    Wheelman 06-15-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    332
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    7
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story! Loved this! However....."

    Roy Dotrice, the narrator, was not in his best form here. Don't let that deter you from a very good book, though.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alexander Smith 06-04-16 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "average story, average performance."

    I am really disappointed in this book, almost as much as book 4. the plot hardly moves and I find myself just reading dialogs of characters who have nothing to talk about. there were several chapters of interest, but overall it was an average story. the performance is nothing to rave about either, he has the same 2 voices for all the characters... a little drab if you ask me. I hope Martin can deliver more next time. give me book 3 magic again.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.