Regular price: $32.20

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The adventure novel of the year! Inspired by The Whipping Boy and Feed, this adrenaline-fueled thriller will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games for its razor-sharp insights into the nature of human survival and its clever writing.

Knox was born into one of the City's wealthiest families. A Patron, he has everything a boy could possibly want - the latest tech, the coolest clothes, and a Proxy to take all his punishments. When Knox breaks a vase, Syd is beaten. When Knox plays a practical joke, Syd is forced to haul rocks. And when Knox crashes a car, killing one of his friends, Syd is branded and sentenced to death.

Syd is a Proxy. His life is not his own.

Then again, neither is Knox's. Knox and Syd have more in common than either would guess. So when Knox and Syd realize that the only way to beat the system is to save each other, they flee. Yet Knox's father is no ordinary Patron, and Syd is no ordinary Proxy. The ensuing cross-country chase will uncover a secret society of rebels, test both boys' resolve, and shine a blinding light onto a world of those who owe and those who pay. Some debts, it turns out, cannot be repaid.

A fast-paced, thrill-ride of novel full of non-stop action, heart-hammering suspense and true friendship - just as moving as it is exhilarating. Fans of Anthony Horowitz's Alex Rider series, James Dashner's Maze Runner, Patrick Ness's Chaos Walking series, and Marie Lu's Legend will be swept away by this story.

©2013 Alex London (P)2013 Penguin Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    78
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    70
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    72
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • a.bane
  • CHULUOTA, FL, US
  • 12-25-15

Skeptical but then enthralled.

Any additional comments?

Honestly, I just want Audible to hurry up and put the second book on here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Interesting idea, but not very realistic

If you could sum up Proxy in three words, what would they be?

Easy, fun, illogical

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

The general idea of proxies is interesting, but there were many instances where things happened that simply would and could never happen. I mean, I'm all for suspension of disbelief in stories, but I like the story to stick to the rules it sets for its universe. There were moments during this book when I was actually saying, "oh, come ooonnn!" out loud. That being said, if you allow yourself to just get over these inconsistencies, this is certainly a fun listen.

What does Andrew Sweeney bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Andrew does a wonderful job. I always love listening to a book where the narrator is a guy (or girl), but I don't even notice when they are reading the characters who are the opposite sex. Andrew is one of those narrators. He creates a voice for each character, but none of them are so over the top that they distract from the story.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

There were a few times when I kept listening even after I got out of the car during particularly exciting parts.

Any additional comments?

This is an intriguing idea, and I did enjoy myself overall. One of my favorite things about this book is that the main character is gay but the story isn't about him being gay. His homosexuality is simply a part of who he happens to be. In that regard, this book is ahead of its time.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved this book

I wonder why I've never heard of this before. I loved this book! The MC really grabbed my heart. He's not your typical YA antagonist but a wonderful character to get to know. I recommend this book to any YA reader no matter how old they are. (I am one of the oldest YA readers I know.)

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I liked it.

Quite good, if you like futuristic post apocalyptic stuff.
I could definitely sense something allegorical going on but it's also good if you're not the literary analysis type.
I'm pretty sure there were some religious overtones.
One of the main characters is LGBT+ but the plot doesn't revolve around it at all, he's just casually gay.
Some of the characters sound like surfer dudes but that's their accents based on where they're from.
I don't know what it is but something felt off about the writing style. It doesn't affect the story, it just feels like some vague second hand awkwardness.
All of this said, I'd been looking to read this book since a couple of years ago and I was not disappointed at all. It lived up to it's hype and kept me hooked. I couldn't stop listening until it was over. If I had to put it any other way, it feels like Angels and Demons (Dan Brown) and Elysium (Movie) had a baby and this is it.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Bury your gays trope

*rings bell* Bury your gays! Bury your gays! (srsly tho if you are hoping for fun times with a gay protagonist lower your expectations. The romance is lame and does not have a happy ending. Potentially traumatizing.)

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

perfectly fine

freedom, debt, social justice, and class issues in a cyber punk world. while I could agree with what was being said about social issues I wasn't particularly entertained or felt like I learned anything new. when there's only one theme in the novel it's hard to not feel beaten over the head by it. that said, I can see it being a very beneficial book for someone else.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Strong characters, simplistic but enjoyable plot

It seems perhaps foolish to chastise a children's book for having a plot that feels overly simplistic and that's why I still rated this story so highly. It has a great dialogue dealing with concepts of capitalism and socialism well developed characters that critic the way female, people of color, and queer characters are often written about. I very much enjoyed the way Knox's character seems to be exploring concepts of romantic attraction vs sexual attraction at a level that is understandable and relatable to young audiences!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

Loved the narrator, loved the story, loved everything! This story is perfect for people who love sci-fi and I thought it was well written.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Claire
  • 09-08-16

o my gosh im crying

this book is so sad! its really good but what a twist i did not expect that!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful