• Predator

  • A Crossbow Novel
  • By: Wilbur Smith
  • Narrated by: Ben Onwukwe
  • Length: 15 hrs and 20 mins
  • 4.1 out of 5 stars (206 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Predator  By  cover art

Predator

By: Wilbur Smith
Narrated by: Ben Onwukwe
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $36.50

Buy for $36.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Former operative Major Hector Cross must face off against a pair of lethal enemies and prevent an international catastrophe in this gripping contemporary adventure-thriller - perfect for fans of Clive Cussler, Ted Bell, and Vince Flynn - from the legendary worldwide best-selling author of Desert God and Golden Lion.

One of the most formidable fighters in the world, ex-SAS warrior and former private security consultant Major Hector Cross has survived explosive tangles with depraved enemies - warlords, pirates, and arms dealers - from the Middle East to the heart of Africa. Now Cross must take the law into his own hands once again to stop a vengeful old enemy who has resurfaced - and hunt down a deadly new nemesis in pursuit of global domination.

Cowritten with internationally best-selling author Tom Cain, this exciting tale, filled with knife-edge tension, cunning global intrigue, rip-roaring action, and breathtaking adventure, demonstrates the extraordinary vision and talent of a writer with a gift for consistently delivering nonstop entertainment.

©2016 Orion Mintaka (UK) Ltd (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Predator

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    99
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    12
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    99
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    11
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    83
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    13

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

NOT Wilbur Smith

First off, this book cannot be from Wilbur Smith an immensely talented writer. He should stick to African family based stores or historical type novels where he is best. This book is terrible & the performance is even worse, perhaps the worst I have heard on Audible!!
Don"t bother with this book

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Where was the producer?

I enjoyed the story because I had read the first two but this reader made me crazy with his mangled pronunciations. Why the producer didn't do their job is beyond me. Pretty much ruined it for me!!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Non-stop action

This is the first book I've read by this author and I have well over 1,000 books in my library. I really don't understand the less than 5 star reviews. This book had characters who were well drawn and you cared about or despised. The action was non-stop until the end. I'd put this up there with any book by Vince Flynn, Brad Thor or Brad Taylor. I enjoyed it so much that I just went back and downloaded the first book in the series.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Do not waste a credit

story was a mess. Hector Cross series is so bad...narrator hard to understand...very disappointed. Have been a Wilbur Smith fan for decades.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

terrible narrating...

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

only if you can cope with the narrating...too much emphasis and inappropriate pauses...

If you’ve listened to books by Wilbur Smith before, how does this one compare?

one of the worst

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Ben Onwukwe?

someone like Scott Brick, Jeffrey Kafer

Any additional comments?

couldn't get beyond first part...and had to return it to Audible

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not disappointed

I've been a Wilber Smith fan for many years and have liked some books more than others. This was a great "listen" in every way! Narration was exceptional.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another great Wilbur Smith book!

I wish it had been a bit longer! Narration was excellent. I must now go back and read the prior novel.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Sadly not up to Par!

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

I found it very difficult to finish this story.. The narration is monotone, the storyline is far below previous writings of Wilbur Smith, and I have read all but his Egypt series.

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

As far as I am concerned there is nothing most or least interesting in the novel the storyline was very predictable. flatly written and narrated..

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Ben Onwukwe?

Maybe Derek Perkins, he seems to be consistent as a narrator

If this book were a movie would you go see it?

No absolutely not.. it would take a lot of screen magic to make this story stand out..

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very interesting.

If you enjoy being highly entertained and engaged, this book will work for you. When you are a tired driver, you need some super charged listening to keep you awake. This fits the bill

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • MK
  • 03-17-17

Not as good as book 1 or 2

I was very unhappy with the fact that they changed narrators for each of the 3 books. Book 1 narrator was excellent. Book 2 story was good but the narrator wasn't as exciting as in book 1. Both the narrator and the story in this book, book 3 were not good. Not a good end to a trilogy.