adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B0821SC3ZP
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B0821SC3ZP

Try our newest plan – unlimited listening to select audiobooks, Audible Originals, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
$7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

He's the campus golden boy. She's picking up the pieces of her broken past. But in Cecy Robson's scorching novel of second chances - perfect for fans of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn - their differences only make their connection more explosive.

Every memory Lety Tres Santos has from her childhood comes with a scar - some emotional, some physical. Her father is an abusive drug addict, and her mother enables his destructive behavior. College offers Lety a fresh start...until her father finds a way to ruin that, too. Now, after losing her scholarship to kick off junior year, Lety must somehow stay in school, pay tuition, and turn a deaf ear to the whispers that follow her. And she intends to do it all without Brody Quaid's help.

Brody is a lacrosse star, a 4.0 student - and as a freshman, he fell hard for the beautiful and spirited Lety. But their relationship crashed and burned because he couldn't break through the walls she's put up around her heart. With Lety hurting more than ever, Brody strives to win her back and make her believe in real love and true partnership. That will mean opening up secrets locked away in his own past - and trusting someone more than he's ever dared.

Lety knows how painful it can be to depend on the wrong man. She also knows how much Brody wants to do this the right way. But it takes more than sizzling desire to move on and build a future together.

©2015 Cecy Robson, LLC (P)2017 Audible, Inc.

Critic Reviews

"This family drama filled with past horrors and possible salvation tugs at the heartstrings. Full of romance and humor - and a bit of steamy sex - this story from [Cecy] Robson is sure to be a hit in any collection." (Library Journal)

What listeners say about Once Loved

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    542
  • 4 Stars
    104
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    504
  • 4 Stars
    88
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    502
  • 4 Stars
    91
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It's ok

Even though I didn't love the first book in this series, I wanted to know more about Lety and Brody. I liked this story but the unnecessary drama kept me from loving it. There's also some inconsistencies in the location that I just couldn't let go.

I really am not a fan of this narrator. It feels like she's just reading a book aloud but not really narrating it.

I'll give the third book in this series a try since I'm curious about Sophia and Killian

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

An uplifting story

Lety Tres Santos can’t seem to escape her abusive father’s reach. He was responsible for her break up with her boyfriend Brody Quaid and now threatens her college scholarship. Despite her reluctance, Brody won’t give up on their relationship as they resume it and try to live some semblance of a normal life.

I fell in love with these characters, especially Lety. Her family circumstances were horrible, unfortunately not unusual. Her resilience, spirit and drive were beyond admirable while staying in the authentic zone. Brody wasn’t the stereotypical wealthy and entitled college frat boy on a Lacrosse Team and once his backstory is revealed, you get a sense of his true values.

It’s not an exciting story though there are some harrowing moments. But, it’s an uplifting one where you just want these two people to succeed in life and with each other. There are some strong themes here that resonate in high volume. As with the first book in the series, the cultural aspects are realistically presented and not in a gratuitous way. The narrator was almost pitch perfect and she WAS Lety. I’m really looking forward to the final story in this trilogy, which was deftly teed up in this one.

(I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review)

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

oh the drama.

TRIGGERS: Domestic Violence, Child Abuse. So, I have to say that I enjoyed this book a lot more than the first one but to be honest, it has been a long time since I read the first book. I loved the reintroduction of Evie and Mateo and seeing how their relationship has grown. This story, while still dealing with the Tres Santos family, is about his younger sister, Letty and her off and on boyfriend Brody. There was awesome character buildup up for both Letty and Brody as well as Brody's family. I liked that it isn't just the Tres Santos family that has issues but now we have a new family involved and they are just as screwed up. It wasn't hard to figure out what was going on with Brody's family but three dramas within their circle was very well written and kept your wheels turning constantly. This was a really good book. Kudos to CR.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow!

This is my favorite book in the series so far. I love Lettie’s character. She’s such a strong amazing woman. The twist with Lettie’s employment was shocking! I’m so glad this couple persevered and I hope we hear more about them.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Love this series

Cried like baby! Love love love. Story of the family dynamic is what got the tears rolling. Their relationship stood the test. Can’t wait for Killian and Sophia!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very Good Story

4. 25 Stars for me!

My rating range throughout the story... 2.5 - 4.5 Stars

Main Character Ratings... H = 8/10 - h = 6/10

Scenes with heat.. Several
Heat Rating... 7/10

The back story... Broken up couple come back together and have to deal with traumatic experiences that affected both of their lives.

The Romance... Always there once the h quit trying to run away.

The drama explosion... Bad family member goes off

Final Notes... This was a very good story as it covered redemption and putting families back together before it is too late. It also covers dealing with abusers.

The only drawbacks for me was the constant martyr attitude of the H plus the common thread amongst romance writers to have the h's turn any and all help away to show their 'independence'. It just makes them look like obstinate children in my book.

HEA or HFN? HFN which will be an HEA.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

narration fell flat

loved the story, but female narration lacks emotion and took away. from the story. I am however enjoying the series but would prefer better narration

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good stuff

Thoroughly enjoyed this series and all the characters…. Each story is unique and promising!!! Definitely worth the read!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love it

I love this book I couldn’t imagine myself going through what she did and at the end she made it and let it go

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

bad narration

The book ending was rushed. Left me wanting more.

Narration was horrible. The narrator was too monoton.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-19-19

excellent

Great second story in set. Looking forward to the third book.

The stories are highly engaging and need to be read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S. Lacey
  • S. Lacey
  • 11-12-17

Amazing!!!

I love this new series by Cecy, this is the second book in the series, the first centred around Mateo and Evie, this one is centred around Mateo's younger sister Lety and her boyfriend (an old friend of Evie's) Brody.

The story is heart breaking at times as both Lety and Brody have some serious trauma in their pasts, Lety's is similar to Mateo's given that they grew up together in the same house, but she suffered in different ways, including being shamed by the events surrounding her conception.

Brody has his own family trauma that we also learn about in the book and it may not be as extensive a history of suffering like Lety had to go through but it is heart wrenching too.

They were perfect for each other because they made each other better and healed each other's pain. The ending was bittersweet for me, I liked how things ended for Lety and Brody as a couple but was sorry that her mother never truly stood by her kids or supported them. She seemed to make a small gesture at the end but it was a case of 'too little, too late'.

I also loved the updates on how Mateo and Evie were doing, I love those two and was happy with where they were at in their relationship and their lives. A really great book and I'd recommend getting it!

1 person found this helpful