Regular price: $14.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Fermat's Last Theorem and Einstein's Dreams, a novel about mathematical obsession.

Petros Papachristos devotes the early part of his life to trying to prove one of the greatest mathematical challenges of all time: Goldbach's Conjecture, the deceptively simple claim that every even number greater than two is the sum of two primes. Against a tableau of famous historical figures-among them G. H. Hardy, the self-taught Indian genius Srinivasa Ramanujan, and a young Kurt Godel-Petros works furiously to prove the notoriously difficult conjecture. Decades later, his ambitious young nephew drives the defeated mathematician back into the hunt to prove Goldbach's Conjecture...but at the cost of the old man's sanity, and perhaps even his life.

©1992, 2000, 2010 Apostolos Doxiadis (P)2012 Audible, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Assigned this Novel to my 'Math For Poets' Class

If you could sum up Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture in three words, what would they be?

Math Is Addictive

What other book might you compare Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture to and why?

Proof: The Play, Fermat's Room: The Movie. Truthfully, this is one of the most UNIQUE math novels that combines truth and fiction into a mystery. It is also HIGHLY accessible to non-mathematicians and is also LOTS of FUN! Even the more abstract parts such as Godel's Incompleteness Theorem, The Twin Prime Conjecture and of course, Goldbach's Conjecture are used expertly in the plot so that a professional understanding is not required to enjoy the mystery.

Which scene was your favorite?

The Ending--which I won't divulge!

Any additional comments?

When this book was first released in 1992, The Publisher was offering a MILLION dollar prize to anyone who could PROVE The GC. That is no longer the case, but nevertheless, this is a an expertly crafted book that combines Mathematical History and Lore into an engaging mystery. The Narrator was EXCELLENT in performing the various voices and accents. Highly recommended listening.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • RB
  • 10-13-16

Delightful, moving, intelligent story

Ultimately, this is a human story, worth reading for the drama alone. The drama is an intellectual one, but no less potent for that. The reader will also gain a nice view of the major characters and issues of early 20th century mathematics. Altogether, not a truly great work but a very good one, entertaining and edifying while highlighting a set of characters and concerns rarely involved in literature.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Fascinating story

Well written and easily read (or maybe listened to), will keep you good company. One should not fear its mathematical "scent" as it just adds to the mystery.