We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture Audiobook

Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture: A Novel of Mathematical Obsession

Regular Price:$14.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Fermat's Last Theorem and Einstein's Dreams, a novel about mathematical obsession.

Petros Papachristos devotes the early part of his life to trying to prove one of the greatest mathematical challenges of all time: Goldbach's Conjecture, the deceptively simple claim that every even number greater than two is the sum of two primes. Against a tableau of famous historical figures-among them G. H. Hardy, the self-taught Indian genius Srinivasa Ramanujan, and a young Kurt Godel-Petros works furiously to prove the notoriously difficult conjecture. Decades later, his ambitious young nephew drives the defeated mathematician back into the hunt to prove Goldbach's Conjecture...but at the cost of the old man's sanity, and perhaps even his life.

©1992, 2000, 2010 Apostolos Doxiadis (P)2012 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (24 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.3 (24 )
5 star
 (13)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.5 (24 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Sandra Bronx, NY 06-14-17
    Sandra Bronx, NY 06-14-17 Member Since 2017

    Love to listen while cooking or cleaning at home

    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Assigned this Novel to my 'Math For Poets' Class"
    If you could sum up Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture in three words, what would they be?

    Math Is Addictive


    What other book might you compare Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture to and why?

    Proof: The Play, Fermat's Room: The Movie. Truthfully, this is one of the most UNIQUE math novels that combines truth and fiction into a mystery. It is also HIGHLY accessible to non-mathematicians and is also LOTS of FUN! Even the more abstract parts such as Godel's Incompleteness Theorem, The Twin Prime Conjecture and of course, Goldbach's Conjecture are used expertly in the plot so that a professional understanding is not required to enjoy the mystery.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    The Ending--which I won't divulge!


    Any additional comments?

    When this book was first released in 1992, The Publisher was offering a MILLION dollar prize to anyone who could PROVE The GC. That is no longer the case, but nevertheless, this is a an expertly crafted book that combines Mathematical History and Lore into an engaging mystery. The Narrator was EXCELLENT in performing the various voices and accents. Highly recommended listening.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    RB 10-13-16
    RB 10-13-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Delightful, moving, intelligent story"

    Ultimately, this is a human story, worth reading for the drama alone. The drama is an intellectual one, but no less potent for that. The reader will also gain a nice view of the major characters and issues of early 20th century mathematics. Altogether, not a truly great work but a very good one, entertaining and edifying while highlighting a set of characters and concerns rarely involved in literature.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Avid Reader 10-01-15
    Avid Reader 10-01-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fascinating story"

    Well written and easily read (or maybe listened to), will keep you good company. One should not fear its mathematical "scent" as it just adds to the mystery.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.