We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Third Option Audiobook

The Third Option: Mitch Rapp Series

Regular Price:$28.30
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

CIA counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp falls prey to government forces with an agenda of their own after Dr. Irene Kennedy is named the successor to dying CIA Director Thomas Stansfield—a choice that enrages many inside the world’s most powerful intelligence agency. Her detractors will resort to extreme measures to prevent her from taking the reins—which makes Rapp an expendable asset. But Mitch Rapp is no one’s pawn, and he will stop at nothing to find out who has set him up.

Hear Mitch Rapp, the CIA's top operative, battle global terrorism in more of Vince Flynn's political thrillers.

©2011 Vince Flynn (P)2011 Simon & Schuster

What the Critics Say

"Flynn hits his stride in this thriller about high-end Washington politics...[he] has an exciting, Ludlum-like series going here." (Booklist)

"Flynn's latest thriller...is an old-school spy story...updated with heavy helpings of international intrigue and domestic politicking and betrayal." (Library Journal)

"Fans of Ludlum and Clancy will want to check it out.' (Pioneer Press)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (6135 )
5 star
 (3879)
4 star
 (1773)
3 star
 (386)
2 star
 (61)
1 star
 (36)
Overall
4.6 (5390 )
5 star
 (3525)
4 star
 (1453)
3 star
 (348)
2 star
 (47)
1 star
 (17)
Story
4.4 (5418 )
5 star
 (3226)
4 star
 (1483)
3 star
 (485)
2 star
 (140)
1 star
 (84)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Schnelle 10-28-16
    Schnelle 10-28-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Exciting & Fast Past"
    What did you love best about The Third Option?

    I loved the legacy that Thomas Stansfield is leaving and how Mitch makes his way home.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Mitch is always my favorite because he is smart, skilled, and compassionate.


    Which character – as performed by Nick Sullivan – was your favorite?

    I liked the voice of Thomas Stansfield, it made me really see that character.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    It made me laugh more than cry with people thinking they could just take Mitch out. They found out that they can't.


    Any additional comments?

    All of Vince Flynn books are a must read and I look forward to reading about Mitch Rapp well into his 50's.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Patricia Oak Harbor, WA, United States 10-02-16
    Patricia Oak Harbor, WA, United States 10-02-16 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    126
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great as always"

    i always look forward to Mitch Rapp adventures. He is a character of tough & vulnerable.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    David H. Van Loon Waterford, MI United States 09-22-16
    David H. Van Loon Waterford, MI United States 09-22-16 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    27
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another great Vince Flynn ruined by Nick Sullivan"

    Great storyline and very interesting progression. Excellent character development as well bit once again Nick Sullivan ruins the party. Sullivan not only does a severely poor job conveying the author's intent and feeling bit he can't even get the words printed in front of him correct. Incorrect pronouns (she for Rapp and he for Kennedy) making listening to his narration insufferable. Nick belongs on a road crew holding the "SLOW/STOP" sign and certainly not reading spy novels. I could go on for hours but i will not. Two in a row is enough Nick. Let's just hope we get George back for the next one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Eric J. Toll 09-18-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    37
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    81
    34
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "If you're a Flynn fan, you need to read this"

    The third option was one of Flynn's early books, and it's necessary in order to pick up on a number of characters and events that will come to greater life later in the series.
    "The Third Option" is well written, as are all Flynn's books, but the narration is excruciatingly bad. This may be a book better as an eBook or print book.
    Sullivan mispronounces Anna Reilly's name as Anna "Really," which is fingernails on the blackboard. Most of the narration and characters are prissy as men, and whiny as women. His foreign accents are, well foreign accents, but I don't know which countries he had hoped the would be representative.
    The plot is critical for the next two books, and I still recommend reading or listening to it, just know that George Guidall it isn't.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nice 08-21-16
    Nice 08-21-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Similar to Kill Shot, fairly good though"

    The plot is quite similar to Kill Shot, but it entertaining and elaborates something bigger to be finished later (hopefully :))

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. Graham earth 08-18-16
    J. Graham earth 08-18-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good, except - is this missing the final chapter?"

    Wonder if the author got tired and gave up at end? Or the last chapter is lost ???
    Otherwise good read until chap 25

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alexander S. Loa Salt Lake City, UT 08-15-16
    Alexander S. Loa Salt Lake City, UT 08-15-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    46
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great installment with a cliff hanger of an ending"

    Another great addition to the Mitch Rapp series. A great cliffhanger about political espionage and intrigue. If you like Mitch Rapp, you won't be disappointed!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stretchr Georgia, USA 08-12-16
    Stretchr Georgia, USA 08-12-16 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    74
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narrator almost ruins it."

    Mispronounces simple names (O'Reilly/"O'Reely???), over enunciating, stilted and terrible characterization all but ruins a good story. Bring back George Guidall as Rapp.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Phillip United States 08-03-16
    Phillip United States 08-03-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    193
    108
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another excellent Rapp novel"

    This novel covered a lot of ground and did an excellent job setting up the next one. Not a cliffhanger ending, but a few plot threads left open and a couple of coming changes have me looking forward to the next novel. The four stars on the story are because it seemed that too many things went right for Rapp through the book. I know it would have made the book longer but it would have been more interesting and suspenseful as well to see him have to deal more with Murphy's law.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    KBF texs 07-21-16
    KBF texs 07-21-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "love the series"

    this is a great series I am really enjoying the audio books. I think there are probably more truths and the series then we desire to admit

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.