We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Third Option Audiobook

The Third Option: Mitch Rapp Series

Regular Price:$28.30
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

CIA counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp falls prey to government forces with an agenda of their own after Dr. Irene Kennedy is named the successor to dying CIA Director Thomas Stansfield—a choice that enrages many inside the world’s most powerful intelligence agency. Her detractors will resort to extreme measures to prevent her from taking the reins—which makes Rapp an expendable asset. But Mitch Rapp is no one’s pawn, and he will stop at nothing to find out who has set him up.

Hear Mitch Rapp, the CIA's top operative, battle global terrorism in more of Vince Flynn's political thrillers.

©2011 Vince Flynn (P)2011 Simon & Schuster

What the Critics Say

"Flynn hits his stride in this thriller about high-end Washington politics...[he] has an exciting, Ludlum-like series going here." (Booklist)

"Flynn's latest thriller...is an old-school spy story...updated with heavy helpings of international intrigue and domestic politicking and betrayal." (Library Journal)

"Fans of Ludlum and Clancy will want to check it out.' (Pioneer Press)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (5139 )
5 star
 (3161)
4 star
 (1547)
3 star
 (346)
2 star
 (51)
1 star
 (34)
Overall
4.5 (4464 )
5 star
 (2863)
4 star
 (1254)
3 star
 (291)
2 star
 (42)
1 star
 (14)
Story
4.4 (4490 )
5 star
 (2612)
4 star
 (1278)
3 star
 (411)
2 star
 (119)
1 star
 (70)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    A User Magnolia, NJ, United States 05-30-16
    A User Magnolia, NJ, United States 05-30-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One bad listen"

    I love Vince Flynn (RIP). I loved all the books. In the series's except this one. I gave it 3 stars because of Flynn and Rapp. I listened to all the other bulks before this one. I only read it because I was joesin for more Rapp however there was noooooo character development. It's like all the characters were thrown in a blender and they came out with no identity. Do not read this first it may sour you away from a great series. Leave it for last

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    alxhllr 05-25-16
    alxhllr 05-25-16 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can't stand narrator"

    Bad Midwest accents, mispronounced words, awkward story-interrupting pauses. Just plain bad, especially compared to George Guidall who has read other books in this series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Trudy Owens Orem, UT, US 05-20-16
    Trudy Owens Orem, UT, US 05-20-16 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    492
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    314
    275
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    17
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "by itself--meh; for continuity of story--okay"

    This is more about Washington politics than Rapp's special talents. It really describes how you can never know when you will be on the other end of the hit list. And it ends on a cliff-hanger, so isn't very satisfying as a stand-alone book. However, if you are into this series, then you need this just for continuity. And I don't know where the years went. Rapp was in Europe in love with Greta, then here's Rapp with 10 years under his belt, and no more mention of Greta. It's all about the reporter from the Olympus White House Has Fallen Down previous book. Feels as if there were about 3 books missing.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mnrumohr 05-20-16
    mnrumohr 05-20-16 Member Since 2016

    Never thought I would use it as much as I have. Watch for bargins. Average price of my collection is less than half the regular price

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    43
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Keep on going Mitchell."

    loved it. I need to get back to the first in the series. Thank you.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 05-16-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    "Worth it"

    While not quite as charismatic as Guidall, the narrator was pretty good. The "lack of an ending" is nothing like that, just that the thread continues in the next book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John 05-13-16
    John 05-13-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "No ending?"

    There was not as much action as previous novels. The "ending" is anti-climatic. I felt the same way as I did at the end of The Empire Strikes Back. May as well said to be continued...

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Books and Crannies Recycled Torrington, CT 04-26-16
    Books and Crannies Recycled Torrington, CT 04-26-16 Member Since 2012

    Avid Audio book listener, Blogger and Book-Seller.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    139
    32
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    10
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I miss you George Guidall!"

    If you happen to be reading the series out-of-order, I should mention that the next book in the Mitch Rapp series, Separation of Power (Book 5), is an immediate continuation of the story in this one, The Third Option.

    In fact, The Third Option doesn't even have a concrete ending. You have to suck it up, take the pseudo-cliff hanger for what it's worth, and continue on to the next book to learn what happens. Lot's of people (evidenced by the many reviews I've read), get quite upset with the lack of an ending. Not me. By this time, I'm already deeply invested in the characters and story, so I know I'm going to read the rest of the series in short order. Besides, Vince Flynn is hardly the first author (or maybe the editor is to blame) to employ the cliff-hanger tactic to keep readers coming back. No skin off my back...well maybe a little. I'm no sadomasochist, but I actually enjoy the anticipation of waiting on the next book of a riveting series to come out. Fortunately for all of us, the whole series (13 books anyway), is already published.

    A distinct lack of an ending doesn't detract much from what I got out of the book as a whole. Characters are important here, and not just the main one. Aside from being introduced to Scott Coleman (Navy Seal extraordinaire), we get lots of interesting input from DCI (Director of Central Intelligence) Stansfield, his underling Irene Kennedy, President Hayes, General Flood (Chairman of the Joint Chiefs) and a plethora of senators, chairpersons and aides that keep the political intrigue pegged in the red. There's lots going on here, and lots more to learn in the next installment.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 04-16-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "exciting"

    keeps you on edge and is most personal of Rapp books. shows his humanity.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    steve wilcox 04-08-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "1/2 a story!"

    This is a great start of a story but it's like a TV series. The author has clear designs on making this a two or more book series. That's fine but that should be indicated prior to buying the book. I feel cheated. Bo Hiss Mr Flynn just handed me a "Mickey Flynn" and you know it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 03-01-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Flynn is the best"

    I intend to read all of the rest of the Flynn series I wish he was still here to create some more great stories

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Amazon Customer
    LONDON, United Kingdom
    1/7/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Third Option"

    I read this book back in the early 2000's and enjoyed it then. I have just purchased the audio version and have again found the characters engaging, the story intriguing and the political infighting very disturbing!

    If you are new to Vince Flynn read the books in order. He is a writer who will be missed.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • B
    6/19/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thoroughly entertaining"

    Loved this book. Clever "political" thriller revolving around the secretive world of the CIA and the protection of "the Land of The Free". While dirty deeds and treachery are the corner stones of the "Intelligence" world there is a clear distinction made between the " baddies and the good guys" . A thoroughly entertaining yarn not as cerebrally challenging as a John le Carre but more substantial, believable and rewarding than a typical James Bond.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • gunner548
    1/30/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not bad!"

    A little too intricate in the upper levels of Washington and not enough Mitch Rapp action! Still a good story though!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Lotus
    PERTH, United Kingdom
    3/11/13
    Overall
    "Another great Mitch adventure"

    Another fast pace adventure for Mitch, found myself driving the long way home just to be in the car longer.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.