We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Third Option Audiobook

The Third Option: Mitch Rapp Series

Regular Price:$28.30
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

CIA counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp falls prey to government forces with an agenda of their own after Dr. Irene Kennedy is named the successor to dying CIA Director Thomas Stansfield—a choice that enrages many inside the world’s most powerful intelligence agency. Her detractors will resort to extreme measures to prevent her from taking the reins—which makes Rapp an expendable asset. But Mitch Rapp is no one’s pawn, and he will stop at nothing to find out who has set him up.

Hear Mitch Rapp, the CIA's top operative, battle global terrorism in more of Vince Flynn's political thrillers.

©2011 Vince Flynn (P)2011 Simon & Schuster

What the Critics Say

"Flynn hits his stride in this thriller about high-end Washington politics...[he] has an exciting, Ludlum-like series going here." (Booklist)

"Flynn's latest thriller...is an old-school spy story...updated with heavy helpings of international intrigue and domestic politicking and betrayal." (Library Journal)

"Fans of Ludlum and Clancy will want to check it out.' (Pioneer Press)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (5702 )
5 star
 (3566)
4 star
 (1679)
3 star
 (365)
2 star
 (57)
1 star
 (35)
Overall
4.6 (4987 )
5 star
 (3230)
4 star
 (1374)
3 star
 (321)
2 star
 (46)
1 star
 (16)
Story
4.4 (5015 )
5 star
 (2955)
4 star
 (1397)
3 star
 (457)
2 star
 (129)
1 star
 (77)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Janet C. Walker Summerville, SC 07-06-11
    Janet C. Walker Summerville, SC 07-06-11 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    270
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    970
    47
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    1
    Overall
    "Really?"

    I read this one years ago in print. Now listening to this narrator I find Mitch's fiance is named Anna Really. Huh, certainly lookled like Reilly to me. You learn something every day. Lol

    8 of 12 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Avid Reader 08-27-12
    Avid Reader 08-27-12 Member Since 2017

    You are the sum of what you read!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    57
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    960
    33
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    12
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Where is the ending?"
    Would you try another book from Vince Flynn and/or Nick Sullivan?

    I liked this book until I got to the ending. I hate movies and books that don't tie up loose ends. It is an obvious ploy to force me to buy the next book to see how it ends. It's very disappointing end to an otherwise very good book. I did not like Nick Sullivan's voice at normal speed. I needed to listen to it at 1.5 speed. At that speed it was much better.


    How could the performance have been better?

    Get a different narrator.


    Could you see The Third Option being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

    No


    Any additional comments?

    A different narrator would improve the listening pleasure of this book.

    6 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    KD 10-01-13
    KD 10-01-13 Member Since 2009

    kdhkdh

    HELPFUL VOTES
    38
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    77
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "It is a good thing I read the book before"
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    Any other narrator.


    What didn’t you like about Nick Sullivan’s performance?

    When the end of the book said, Hope you have enjoyed listening to Audible.


    Any additional comments?

    I decided to go back and "listen" to a few of the books in the Rapp series that I actually read first time through. It was a good thing I knew the story because if this was my first Audible book, I would have stopped halfway through.

    Top operatives like Mitch Rapp should not sound like an elementary school librarian that is scarred of dust mite. However, the worst part has to be the narrator's failure to correctly annunciate the major characters names. It is a good thing Vince created such good characters and a story that kept me hitting the play button on my iPhone. It was also interesting to hear/see how Vince developed as an author when comparing the dialog and story with some of his early works. He will be missed.

    Save the money, read the book on this one.

    5 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jeanene 07-30-12
    Jeanene 07-30-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    155
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very disappointing"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    Yes, above all the narration.


    Would you ever listen to anything by Vince Flynn again?

    Of course, I am a faithful fan


    Would you be willing to try another one of Nick Sullivan’s performances?

    No


    Do you think The Third Option needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    Yes but one written more sophisticatedly like his other novels. Maybe the narration affected my reaction.


    Any additional comments?

    I felt I was listening to a very simply written novel by a teenager not a seasoned author. Mr. Flynn can and always has done much better.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brian Weaver Michigan 09-25-17
    Brian Weaver Michigan 09-25-17 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Other Reviewers have it wrong"
    Where does The Third Option rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I am an avid reader and audio book listener. Just getting through these Mitch Rapp books and so far I am enjoying them. I was hesitant to get this book becuase of the reviews, but I pulled the trigger anyway. I was pleasantly surprised. I'll admit that the Nick Sullivan is not my first choice, but he does a decent job. Certainly he does a better job than what most reviewers post. As for the story, it is interesting and intriguing. I thought the ending was perfect regarding the plot. Not every book should end with everyone dying at the hands of Mitch ... I thought the ending set up future plots / subplots. Worth the read / listen.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Mitch Rapp - he is a BAMF


    What does Nick Sullivan bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    He is a tad boring, but does a decent job.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    No ... entertaining for long drives!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Richard 09-23-17
    Richard 09-23-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    56
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Had I not read other reviews I would have thought it was defective"

    The book ends mid sentence. The narrator is not good. I feel I am being generous giving it a 2.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 09-18-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book, awesome narration!"

    I am a huge Mitch Rapp fan and this book did not disappoint. This is my first Vince Flynn audiobook. I've spent lots of time driving recently so not a lot of time to read. I will say that of the hundreds of books I've listened to, this narration is in my top 10%. Not over the top with the voices but enough character to discern the different players with great consistency. The story was on point, as usual with Flynn. Looking forward to the next one!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    nathan berry 09-16-17 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not as good as others"

    maybe because it's just half a book but alot of dry boring spots. Not as good as others

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dan V. 09-09-17
    Dan V. 09-09-17 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent Rapp session, but don't like no ending"

    I really like all of the Mitch Rapp, but can't believe Flynn left us pretty much in sentence without an ending. If this is a way to continue to the next book perhaps to earn more money then shame on him. I understand that he is now past away and I am sorry to hear that. The narrator was also really good. I saw that others rated him poorly, but not sure why. I have listened to several in the past that I could say that about, but not Nick Sullivan.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    R. Easterling 08-28-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Character Assassination"

    Sullivan is not afraid to kill off even his best characters! The landscape and characters change so the novels are not formulaic

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.