Regular price: $28.30

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

CIA counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp falls prey to government forces with an agenda of their own after Dr. Irene Kennedy is named the successor to dying CIA Director Thomas Stansfield—a choice that enrages many inside the world’s most powerful intelligence agency. Her detractors will resort to extreme measures to prevent her from taking the reins—which makes Rapp an expendable asset. But Mitch Rapp is no one’s pawn, and he will stop at nothing to find out who has set him up.

Hear Mitch Rapp, the CIA's top operative, battle global terrorism in more of Vince Flynn's political thrillers.
©2011 Vince Flynn (P)2011 Simon & Schuster

Critic Reviews

"Flynn hits his stride in this thriller about high-end Washington politics...[he] has an exciting, Ludlum-like series going here." ( Booklist)
"Flynn's latest thriller...is an old-school spy story...updated with heavy helpings of international intrigue and domestic politicking and betrayal." ( Library Journal)
"Fans of Ludlum and Clancy will want to check it out.' ( Pioneer Press)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4,377
  • 4 Stars
    1,921
  • 3 Stars
    423
  • 2 Stars
    66
  • 1 Stars
    40

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3,640
  • 4 Stars
    1,623
  • 3 Stars
    535
  • 2 Stars
    154
  • 1 Stars
    91

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3,957
  • 4 Stars
    1,600
  • 3 Stars
    383
  • 2 Stars
    50
  • 1 Stars
    23
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Henry
  • Sugar Land, TX, United States
  • 06-07-11

If it had an ending, I'd give it a 5.

I can't get enough of the Mitch Rapp series, and this is no exception. My only complaint is that I could not believe this installment ended when it did. I was convinced that I failed to download a segment. Alas, the narrative was at an end. Fortunately, I have already downloaded Vince Flynn's next book. Great series Mr. Flynn!

26 of 30 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • earle
  • marion, OH, United States
  • 07-15-11

why no ending???????????????????

book was great all the way to the non ending. left a big hole, felt like a jigsaw puzzle with the last piece missing.

24 of 28 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great novel nearly ruined by the reader.

Would you listen to The Third Option again? Why?

Yes.

What didn’t you like about Nick Sullivan’s performance?

He sounded like he was narrating a science text book.

Any additional comments?

Vincent Flynn novels not read by George Guidall should be re-recorded by George Guidall.

33 of 40 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Vicki
  • New Albany, IN, United States
  • 05-17-16

Another Great Series

This time, Mitch Rapp finds himself battling terrorists at home on the streets of DC and in the homes and "kingdoms" of powerful Washington potiticals. There never seems to be an end to Washington politicians trying to take over the parties and control both foreign and domestic policies. Once again, a strong drive toward the Presidency presents Mitch with a challenge to keep the politicians in line without revealing himself to the public and even to some Washington insiders. The continuation of a love connection started in the last book makes it very hard for Mitch to concentrate on combating terrorism, even at home. This book just ilustrates how difficult, if not impossible, it is for Mitch to function in "the business" or even to have a somewhat "normal" life. Again he proves to be the best of the best. Irene Kennedy increases her influence within and without the CIA, particularly in the counter-terrorism group as Director Stansfield fades into the end of a succesful carreer because of his terminal illlness. Kennedy at the reins will prove to be a strong influence on Mitch as she supports his actions. Reader is simnply "ok." I miss George Guidall in this series.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The Third Option

Started off a bit slow but I couldn't stop listening by the time I hit the chapters in the late-teens. The ending is phenomenal!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

no part 3???!!

There must be a part 3 somewhere. It couldn't possibly end at the end of part 2. What gives, Audible?

10 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Rapp fans won't be disappointed

There are apparently three options to solve problems: political, military and covert operations. Mitch Rapp is the ultimate overt operator...although he leaves quite a wake of violence, death and destruction in his activities - hard to call it 'covert'. This is a story of a race between several cells of terrorists that plan to bomb different places along the east coast in a short period of time. It falls onto a combination of military, intelligence agents and Rapp to stop these bombs - did I mention they were nuclear bombs? The method of smuggling in the bombs was plausible as was the general terrorist plans..in fact, they were all to real given what happens in real life now....

The book was first released in 2001 so it was eerie that some of the actions of the terrorists turn out to be close to what they do in real life.

There's lot of action and everybody's rights get trampled as Rapp is hell bent on stopping an atomic bomb from going off in DC. Interesting story on line on how key people in the government are dispersed when DC is threatened.

If you like action political thrillers and especially if you like Mitch Rapp - you will like this earlier offering by Vince Flynn.

12 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

"Non" Ending and Basic Pronunciation Errors

First, the pros. The story is good and the character development is what you'd expect from the series. Listening to the book is helpful if you want to follow the Rapp story arc sequentially. Now the cons. The book ends with no resolution, which is very unsatisfying. Had I not read other reviews before listening, I would have been certain that it was a download error.

Nick Sullivan's voice is fine; it's what he does with it that had me wanting to correct him in my head. For example, the character Anna Reilly comes from a family of Chicago cops. Is it at all reasonable to think it would be pronounced "Reelee"? Flynn writes the name Reilly countless times in the book, and every time Sullivan mispronounced it it was like nails across a chalkboard in my skull. I thought it was ridiculous that he kept pronouncing McLean, Virginia as "Macleen," but that only comes up a few times in the book. You'd think the production team would at least get the pronunciation of the main ensemble's names right.

The problem with those type of "unforced errors" is that they take the reader out of the story, dampening the fun of escaping into the author's world.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

A good book ruined by the narrator

Another good one from the Mitch Rapp series. Unfortunately I could not enjoy this one as much as American Assassin, Memorial Day, or Third Option due to the girly voice of this narrator. It's just hard to hear Mitch Rapp, General Flood, or even Senator Clark in this guys voice. It really distracts you from the story...
Oh, which is it Anna Reilly or Anna Riley? Little things like this grated on my nerves ...

26 of 36 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Minda
  • Redington Shores, FL United States
  • 10-29-12

Narration was a turn-off

What disappointed you about The Third Option?

The narration.

What could Vince Flynn have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

Re-do the audio book with Guidall.

How could the performance have been better?

Change the narrator to Guidall.

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

Disappointment. Unfortunately, I paid for this book because I ran out of credits. After listening to the American Assassin and Kill Shot, I decided to start from the beginning of the series. I was forewarned by other reviewers about the poor narration but I was hoping to prove them wrong. My husband listen to the books to keep him awake during long driving trips. But we had to turn off this book because he started to get drowsy.

Any additional comments?

Any future Mitch Rapp audiobook purchase much have Guidall for the narrator. I hope the powers that be will decide to redo the old audiobooks with Guidall. Otherwise, we will read them to fill in the blanks of the series.

14 of 20 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-07-16

The Third Option

I read this book back in the early 2000's and enjoyed it then. I have just purchased the audio version and have again found the characters engaging, the story intriguing and the political infighting very disturbing!

If you are new to Vince Flynn read the books in order. He is a writer who will be missed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for B
  • B
  • 06-19-15

Thoroughly entertaining

Loved this book. Clever "political" thriller revolving around the secretive world of the CIA and the protection of "the Land of The Free". While dirty deeds and treachery are the corner stones of the "Intelligence" world there is a clear distinction made between the " baddies and the good guys" . A thoroughly entertaining yarn not as cerebrally challenging as a John le Carre but more substantial, believable and rewarding than a typical James Bond.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for gunner548
  • gunner548
  • 01-30-15

Not bad!

A little too intricate in the upper levels of Washington and not enough Mitch Rapp action! Still a good story though!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lotus
  • Lotus
  • 03-11-13

Another great Mitch adventure

Another fast pace adventure for Mitch, found myself driving the long way home just to be in the car longer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paul Y.
  • Paul Y.
  • 08-25-17

another fantastic book by Vince Flynn

I am totally engrossed in these stories and Mitch Rapp is the ultimate warrior and is a fantastic character. can't wait to start the next book as this was left on a cliff hanger