We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Man Who Went Up in Smoke Audiobook

The Man Who Went Up in Smoke: A Martin Beck Mystery

Regular Price:$11.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

His holiday with his family has just begun, but a phone call sends Martin Beck packing off to Budapest, where a boorish journalist has vanished without a trace. With the aid of the coolly efficient local police, who do business while soaking at the public baths, Beck must troll about in the Eastern Europe underworld for a man nobody knows - while he is at the risk of vanishing along with his quarry.

The Man Who Went Up in Smoke gives us the dedicated Beck at his most engaging: indulging in the sumptuous Hungarian cuisine, longing for a decent cigarette, and evading a predatory nymphet, even as he pursues a case whose international boundaries grow with every new clue.

Crack another case with Martin Beck.

©1997 Random House, Inc.; (P)2008 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (118 )
5 star
 (41)
4 star
 (47)
3 star
 (20)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
4.1 (71 )
5 star
 (28)
4 star
 (27)
3 star
 (13)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.2 (70 )
5 star
 (29)
4 star
 (30)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Mark Reno, NV, United States 08-25-13
    Mark Reno, NV, United States 08-25-13 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    565
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    152
    136
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    15
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Minor, uneventful police procedural"
    Any additional comments?

    Minor Swedish police procedural from 1969 about a journalist who disappears. Largely set in Hungary. Downbeat, uneventful but pleasant enough if you’re a fan of the genre. I wouldn't recommend it to any friends. Narration was excellent.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Linda Longview, TX, United States 07-27-12
    Linda Longview, TX, United States 07-27-12 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    289
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    437
    46
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    7
    23
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "need a new translation ??"

    I listened to about 3/4 of this and finally gave up. A dull translation of a dated book.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    never mind 01-14-13
    never mind 01-14-13 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love Martin Beck"

    The cynical view of Sweden, it's people and its politics is both amusing and entertaining. There is still enough caring and thought among the the committed cops of the homicide department to make this a fun listen.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 05-30-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book, terrible performance"

    This exceptional book is impossible to listen to. The performance is terrible. The monotone reading and strangely inappropriate emphasis on words at the end of sentences drove me to distraction. What a shame!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brad Simkulet Jacksonville, FL 03-13-17
    Brad Simkulet Jacksonville, FL 03-13-17 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Strong Entry in the Series"

    This is one of the oddest episodes of the Martin Beck series in that it focuses most clearly on Beck -- the pseudo-protagonist and namesake of convenience -- with the rest of the series' characters barely making an appearance, and Sweden itself disappearing into the distance as Beck travels to Budapest for his investigation.

    Kollberg and the other members of the National Murder Squad barely factor into The Man Who Went Up In Smoke, and that is both sad and glad tidings for readers: sad because they are such an important part of most of the stories; glad because it is nice to focus on Martin Beck for a while and just linger on his detachment as he goes through the procedure of figuring out what happened to missing Swedish journalist, Alf Matsson.

    It is also nice to see Budapest as a character, and for readers of Henning Mankell or China Mieville, the environs of Budapest will be familiar for completely different but no less fascinating reasons.

    Probably the best part of listening to this book, however, is the silky gravel of Tom Weiner's voice. It absolutely IS the Martin Beck novels to me, and in a lesser chapter in the series, like The Man Who Went Up In Smoke, any of the cracks are puttied over by Weiner's delivery. I am guessing Weiner doesn't read the Swedish Language audios of this series, and I feel sad for native Swedes that he doesn't because his voice is a perfect match for the National Murder Squad and their decalogue.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.