Regular price: $18.70

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Get hooked on Heck: the maverick detective who knows no boundaries.

The perfect listen for fans of Stuart Macbride and Luther. DS Mark ‘Heck' Heckenburg is used to bloodbaths. But nothing can prepare him for this. Heck's most dangerous case to date is open again. Two years ago, countless victims were found dead - massacred at the hands of Britain's most terrifying gang.

When brutal murders start happening across the country, it's clear the gang is at work again. Their victims are killed in cold blood, in broad daylight, and by any means necessary. And Heck knows it won't be long before they come for him.

Brace yourself as you turn the pages of a living nightmare. Welcome to The Killing Club.

©2014 HarperCollins Publishers Limited (P)2014 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

Praise for Stalkers:

"Stalkers is ace. Really terrific, compulsive stuff which was given top marks…definitely a talent to watch."(The Bookseller: One to Watch)
"Stalkers is a very dark premise… it'll have you by the throat until you get to the end."(Books and Writers)

Praise for Sacrifice:
"Avon's big star…part edge-of-the-seat, part hide-behind-the-sofa!"(The Bookseller)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Chasing and shooting

Not much of a story. Without the chasing and shooting book would be a couple hours. Much to skim in this one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Graeme from Preston
  • 08-18-14

Engrossing with great detail

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes. The horror in this one is of armed violence and fear of betrayal, and so would suit most crime readers.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Killing Club?

The geography round Britain as the police try to track down the criminals includes a trip to Holy Isle and great use is made of this local landmark.

Have you listened to any of Paul Thornley’s other performances? How does this one compare?

I don't think so, and his style needed a bit of getting used to. He has a very clipped style, but after a while it was easy to listen to.

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

Monsters are being hunted but by the Police or other monsters?

Any additional comments?

Not only just as good as the first two Heck novels, they seem to be getting better.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Suzanne
  • 08-02-14

A Great Listen.

What made the experience of listening to The Killing Club the most enjoyable?

Enjoyed the story and love Heck, the central character. Have read or listened to all this series and look forward to more from this author.

What about Paul Thornley’s performance did you like?

I love Paul Thornley`s narration. He can make drinking tea sound dangerous and exciting. He also narrates the Stephen Leather and Simon Kernick novels. If I know he is going to be the narrator for a book I'm interested in, I make sure to get the Audible copy.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Judith
  • 07-12-15

What the Heck..

Another fast paced, action filled chapter in the life of DS Mark Heckenburg . Very entertaining, he is fast joining my list of favourite detectives, Morse, Wallender, Sherlock etc.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • caroline
  • 01-21-15

The audio is OK the narrator great

Any additional comments?

I have now listened to four books by Paul Finch. Each one gets progressively sillier and sillier. I personally felt I was listening to Die Hard in England. Whilst our maverick copy swaps his white singlet for jeans and trainers, his agenda like that of Bruce Willis, is to save innocent people from nasty bad ones. And of course the baddies are armed to the hilt with grenades, AK's, rocket launchers, knives etc etc and yet our good old cop only has his wits and bare hands......... please why make a story so unbelievable. Paul Thornley however is the best action hero narrator and makes the most ridiculous yarn enjoyable. Enjoy the books for a bit of senseless fun and if you like action movies then you won't complain, release the maverick in you.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • gillian
  • 07-03-15

Good fast paced story line

Good book - lots of action (in fact so much so that it can get a bit unbelievable at times), but still a good listen

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Linda
  • 06-22-15

Throughly entertaining, great story

Probably a bit far fetched but entertaining all the same. Good narrator, love his writing style descriptive without overkill. Good old Heck.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Rob
  • 05-14-15

enjoyable gripping story

the story was well written and had plenty of action to keep your interest through out

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Michael
  • 02-26-15

They just get better

There is nothing better than finding an author who has a back list as gripping and addictive as this. DS Heckenburg is surely destined for the big screen but please don't sell out to Tom Cruise!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Cliff
  • 11-05-17

An Epic Book

This is an epic tale. It’s exceptionally well written and Paul Thornley makes the characters believable and real. I have to say that after listening to 3 “Heck” stories so far, I think it’s one of the best series of books I have purchased.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Mary
  • 08-02-17

Action Packed

Reading the Heck series is like watching a Chris Nolan film - so much action. Seriously, I'm not sure how the author keeps up the pace and the variety of the chase & fight sequences.
Love Heck!