We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Mr. Churchill's Secretary Audiobook

Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Maggie Hope Novel, Book 1

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill’s Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge - and the greatness that rose to meet it.

London, 1940: Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by the day. But none of this deters Maggie Hope. She graduated at the top of her college class and possesses all the skills of the finest minds in British intelligence, but her gender qualifies her only to be the newest typist at No. 10 Downing Street. Her indefatigable spirit and remarkable gifts for codebreaking, though, rival those of even the highest men in government, and Maggie finds that working for the prime minister affords her a level of clearance she could never have imagined - and opportunities she will not let pass.

In troubled, deadly times, with air-raid sirens sending multitudes underground, access to the War Rooms also exposes Maggie to the machinations of a menacing faction determined to do whatever it takes to change the course of history.

Ensnared in a web of spies, murder, and intrigue, Maggie must work quickly to balance her duty to King and Country with her chances for survival. And when she unravels a mystery that points toward her own family’s hidden secrets, she’ll discover that her quick wits are all that stand between an assassin’s murderous plan and Churchill himself.

In this daring debut, Susan Elia MacNeal blends meticulous research on the era, psychological insight into Winston Churchill, and the creation of a riveting main character, Maggie Hope, into a spectacularly crafted novel.

©2012 Susan Elia Macneal (P)2012 Random House Audio

What the Critics Say

“This wonderful debut is intelligent, richly detailed, and filled with suspense.” (Stefanie Pintoff)

“A terrific read.... Chock full of fascinating period details and real people including Winston Churchill, MacNeal’s fast-paced thriller gives a glimpse of the struggles, tensions, and dangers of life on the home front during World War II.” (Rhys Bowen, author of Royal Blood and winner of the Agatha, Anthony, and Macavity awards)

“Think early Ken Follett, amp it up with a whip-smart young American not averse to red lipstick and vintage cocktails, season it with espionage during the London Blitz, and you’ve got a heart-pounding, atmospheric debut. I loved it.” (Cara Black, author of Murder in Passy)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (1601 )
5 star
 (578)
4 star
 (630)
3 star
 (281)
2 star
 (72)
1 star
 (40)
Overall
4.0 (1422 )
5 star
 (504)
4 star
 (542)
3 star
 (265)
2 star
 (70)
1 star
 (41)
Story
4.2 (1417 )
5 star
 (647)
4 star
 (493)
3 star
 (190)
2 star
 (51)
1 star
 (36)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    DWREAM 03-14-13
    DWREAM 03-14-13 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    11
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Winner!"
    Would you listen to Mr. Churchill's Secretary again? Why?

    We lived through WWII but never appreciated burdens shouldered by the Brits or the accomplishments of Winston Churchill. Details in this book squared with knowledge that we had of that era, presenting them through the eyes of fascinating characters. The story moved briskly with fascinating twists and turns.


    Have you listened to any of Wanda McCaddon’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    Wanda McCaddon is a superb narrator. She gives an amazing rendition of Mr. Churchill's unique voice. The variety of tone and inflection she gives the characters makes it easy to recognize each person when he or she speaks. We had not heard her before, but would be interested in other fiction narration by her.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Robin 03-08-13
    Robin 03-08-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    389
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    286
    215
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    24
    10
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Ok but not compelling"

    This was an ok read but nothing special. I would have liked more of Churchill who I thought was the most interesting character. The author explained certain things multiple times, which was annoying. On the other hand, it was hard to keep straight some of the characters.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    LaurelOlivia Carlsbad, ca, United States 03-05-13
    LaurelOlivia Carlsbad, ca, United States 03-05-13 Member Since 2013

    LauralOlivia

    HELPFUL VOTES
    150
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    286
    254
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not my cup of Tea"
    Would you try another book from Susan Elia MacNeal and/or Wanda McCaddon?

    No


    Has Mr. Churchill's Secretary turned you off from other books in this genre?

    No, I love English books and mysteries.


    How could the performance have been better?

    The premise is great, just not execution.


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    Disappointment.


    Any additional comments?

    I was not curious enough to finish the book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    K. Gibson Washington DC 03-04-13
    K. Gibson Washington DC 03-04-13 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    31
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Bit Long, But Well Written"
    If you could sum up Mr. Churchill's Secretary in three words, what would they be?

    Fascinating historical conjecture


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Mr. Churchill's Secretary?

    The first appearance of Winston Churchill


    Have you listened to any of Wanda McCaddon’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    Never heard this narrator before.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    You thought you knew history.... here is the story behind the story you know.


    Any additional comments?

    The only complaint I have is that there are too many endings to the book... either the various story lines need to be tied more closely at the end, or shorten the book. Still, a very good listen, well worth the time and credits!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Linda Burkett 03-03-13 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "wartime intrigue"

    Political intrigue in London during World War II provides the setting. The writing is clunky, with two-dimensional characters and stilted dialogue, but the interesting plot kept me listening. Churchill's staff struggles with Hitler's bombing and the IRA at the same time.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 03-02-13

    eo

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent Period Piece"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes, brings wartime England alive, especially the interesting peek into the inner workings of Churchill's wartime office and MI5.


    Did Wanda McCaddon do a good job differentiating all the characters? How?

    Adequate. But doesn't hurt the story at all.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elinore 02-24-13
    Elinore 02-24-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Charming historical mystery"

    Enjoyed this book immensely and immediately recommended it to my mom. Perfect audiobook--just enough suspense.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mark Jeffrey Morgins, Switzerland 02-15-13
    Mark Jeffrey Morgins, Switzerland 02-15-13 Member Since 2012

    Brit Abroad. Nearly six hundred Audible books heard, many more than once. Yes I'm hooked.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    175
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A good yarn, if you can overlook the errors"
    What did you like best about Mr. Churchill's Secretary? What did you like least?

    The reading was excellent, whoever she is! Donada Peters, or Nadia May, or whoever.The story is pacey, fairly complex, and weaves in some historical people and situations.


    What was most disappointing about Susan Elia MacNeal’s story?

    The story suffers from a large number of errors.Some of these are artistic license for the sake of the story (e.g. German spies in places where they would have done massive damage if they existed - don't want to spoil the story so can't say where).Some however are Americanisms of expression ("math", "wash up"), or blatant inaccuracies such as WRNS in brown uniforms which could have been picked up be a British editor. These were made more obvious by using an English reader.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    The crazy professor.


    Do you think Mr. Churchill's Secretary needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    It's a good starting point, though the cascade of characters can be a bit daunting.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Janet H. Maddox 01-30-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    263
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    185
    92
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    24
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting book, well read"

    I thoroughly enjoyed this perspective on England's involvement in WWII. I have no way to ascertain the veracity of the depiction of Mr. Churchill or of his office as prime minister, but the story is certainly interesting. The narration is also excellent. Highly recommended for those who enjoy historical fiction or just a good read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JoAnn 01-29-13
    JoAnn 01-29-13 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    237
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    289
    94
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    13
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not Bad"

    This was to listen to especially because I like historical fiction. You could picture in your mind what was happening during the bombings and how the war impacted everyone. All in all, a good book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.