Regular price: $31.50

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Jenny Milchman’s Cover of Snow is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard.

Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong. When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered: Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicide.

The first few hours following Nora’s devastating discovery pass for her in a blur of numbness and disbelief. Then, a disturbing awareness slowly settles in: Brendan left no note and gave no indication that he was contemplating taking his own life. Why would a rock-solid police officer with unwavering affection for his wife, job, and quaint hometown suddenly choose to end it all? Having spent a lifetime avoiding hard truths, Nora must now start facing them.

Unraveling her late husband’s final days, Nora searches for an explanation - but finds a bewildering resistance from Brendan’s best friend and partner, his fellow police officers, and his brittle mother. It quickly becomes clear to Nora that she is asking questions no one wants to answer. For beneath the soft cover of snow lies a powerful conspiracy that will stop at nothing to keep its presence unknown…and its darkest secrets hidden.

©2013 Jenny Milchman (P)2013 Random House Audio

Critic Reviews

“Everything a great suspense novel should be - tense, emotional, mysterious, and satisfying... Let’s hope this is the start of a long career.” (Lee Child, #1 New York Times best-selling author of A Wanted Man)
“Terrifically suspenseful... Reading Cover of Snow feels like racing across a frozen lake: heart-pounding, exhilarating, frightening.” (Louise Penny, New York Times best-selling author of The Beautiful Mystery)
“A terrific debut.” (Harlan Coben, #1 New York Times best-selling author of Seconds Away)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 3.9 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 3.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • NJ User
  • NJ, United States
  • 03-05-13

so disappointing

What disappointed you about Cover of Snow?

Weak and implausible plot. More description of snow than of any of the characters. I get it - it's snowing. Hyperbole describing the main character's reactions. "The thin hospital blanket a strangling force". Really? A strangling force?

Has Cover of Snow turned you off from other books in this genre?

Possibly.

You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

Just a waste of time.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Disappointing

I struggled to get into this book. I found the characters lacked depth and the plot and dialogue improbable. The narrator read with an intensity that continued to annoy me to the end. I nearly gave up but thought I would give it a chance to redeem itself. It didn't. I just read Chasing Fireflies by Charles Martin which was a great read, gripping me to the end. Made me realise in contrast just how much I disliked this book!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Outstanding Winter Thriller!

What did you love best about Cover of Snow?

I loved the taut suspense and lush sense of place. I already adore The Adirondacks, and winter is one of my favorite seasons, so this book was a real pleasure to listen to. The characterizations were superb, the writing smooth and interesting, and the fast paced action never let me take a deep breath. Loved that.

What other book might you compare Cover of Snow to and why?

This book was actually very unique, but perhaps it could be in the same category as Joan Hall Hovey's THE DEEPEST DARK.

What about Cassandra Campbell’s performance did you like?

Cassandra's voices were distinctive and consistently recognizable, and I felt the emotion of the character through her narration. Outstanding job!

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

When Nora Hamilton wakes to find her husband dead one winter morning, it's just the beginning as one secret after another is revealed during a wild roller coaster ride through the snowy mountains.

Any additional comments?

I listen to a lot of "good," books, but this really stood out as one of the best in a long, long time. I keep thinking of the story - days later - and that's always a good sign! Thanks for a wonderful listen. ;o)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Baby it's cold outside

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

Despite some predictability and lots of improbablity Milchman knows how to crank up the suspense and keep you engrossed.

What did you like best about this story?

The sense of place. Cold. Snow. Gray. I wouldn't want to live there but I enjoyed reading about it. The creepiness of the place fit the plot.

Did Cover of Snow inspire you to do anything?

Sit close by the fireplace.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Excellent story line

Other than never clarifying what tools she carried around, a truly good story well narrated.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Loose ends-- too many questions unanswered

Narration lacked emotion & accents
need a lot of work. Dialogue slow & simplistic. Had a lot of potential but lost it towards middle. Thankful I had whisper sink so I could read it on Kindle. Won't be recommending this book.:(