• Murder on the Pier

  • A completely gripping cozy mystery novel (A Flora Steele Mystery, Book 2)
  • By: Merryn Allingham
  • Narrated by: Charlie Norfolk
  • Length: 7 hrs and 18 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (353 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Murder on the Pier  By  cover art

Murder on the Pier

By: Merryn Allingham
Narrated by: Charlie Norfolk
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Meet Flora Steele - bookshop owner, bicycle-rider, daydreamer, and amateur detective!

Sussex, 1955: When bookshop owner Flora Steele goes for a walk along the pier she isn’t expecting to spot a young woman’s body in the stormy waters below. And she’s shocked to discover the victim is someone she knows....

Convinced the death was not an accident, Flora persuades attractive local crime writer Jack Carrington to help her find out what really happened to poor Polly Dakers, a popular young woman with a complicated love life, who’d been at the heart of village life in Abbeymead.

Jack is reluctant to get involved in another murder case at first, but even he can’t deny that Polly’s fall seems fishy. An argument at a party, a missed hairdresser’s appointment, and a red woolen bobble found on the wooden boards where Polly last stood provide a trail of clues....

As they grow closer to solving the puzzling mystery, the unlikely pair stumbles upon several surprising secrets about those closest to Polly. A number of potential suspects begin to emerge. But who really disliked Polly enough to kill her? Was it Raymond, her jilted first love? Harry, her latest beau? Or Evelyn, Harry’s jealous estranged wife?

As the investigation brings them closer to the truth, Flora is intent on unmasking the killer - but will her stealthy sleuthing lead her down a dangerous path?

An utterly delightful cozy crime novel set in the fictional Sussex village of Abbeymead. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Faith Martin, and Joy Ellis!

©2021 Merryn Allingham (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

Critic reviews

"Fantastic cozy mystery.... Fun to read.... This author knows how to keep the reader’s attention from the first chapter!" (Books and Benches)