Your audiobook is waiting…

Maxwell Cain: Burrito Avenger

Narrated by: J. D. Ledford
Length: 6 hrs and 33 mins
5 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

An action novel for fans of John Wick, Demolition Man, or Die Hard.

Maxwell Cain, also known as “Bloody Rain Cain,” is a cop fed up with the murderous hooligans who control the streets of San Pajita, California.

After years of public service, Max is fired for executing too many dirtbags, and he seeks solace at his favorite taqueria. When his comfort burrito is sullied by the careless actions of brutal thugs, Max finally snaps. What begins as an argument over a ruined lunch quickly spirals into a hurricane of blood and revenge.

Max is joined in his fight by the gorgeous Kate Valentine, a baker with an itchy trigger finger. As the two rush into battle against an entire criminal organization, they are hunted by the relentless terror of the seedy underworld: Johnny Legion.

This book is designed to feel like watching a classic 80s or 90s American action flick.

©2019 Adam Lane Smith (P)2019 Adam Lane Smith

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • timj26
  • ontario canada
  • 04-29-19

Very entertaining

It’s like every action film from my youth in one audiobook
Nonstop action a high death count and some humour to balance it out
The narrator Did a fantastic job with these characters
now Suspend disbelief grab a burrito And enjoy the ride
I received a free review audiobook and voluntarily left this review

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Die Hard meets Judge Dredd

Do not let the title throw you off! This is a good book.

This book is the best 80's action movie never made.

Max is a hard nosed cop with a love of his citizens and a need for justice who just wanted to eat his lunch before things spiraled out of control. The world that Adam Smith created is gritty and more realistic than I think people might be comfortable admitting. Between all of the graphically violent action that is mixed with some pretty great humor is quite a bit of social commentary on where we are heading as a people.

J.D. Ledford does a phenomenal job narrating the book making sure the action scenes are actiony and the dialogue is believable.

The book was so much more than I would have ever guessed from the title and the book cover. People who like action stories should give this a shot.


I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • TU
  • 06-11-19

so good

I was given this free review copy audio book at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

This was a fantastic listen! It's completely over the top, action movie-esque and wonderful. As long as you go in with the right expectations you will enjoy this book. In other words, realize this is all about action and not deep character development and story elements. That's not a bad thing. What I mean by that is simple. You don't go see a movie like Fast & Furious or The Expendables expecting an Oscar-worthy performance. You're going for badass action, hot chicks and explosions. As long as you go in with that in mind, you enjoy it and are good. The narration is perfect for this book. All in all, this is one of my favorite listens of late. I'm actually contemplating listening to it again...which is saying something.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

That's a wrap! Riveting story

The narrator was fantastic, her delivery really brought the characters to life, but then, when you have a great story to tell matched with a great narrator it comes so naturally.

Maxwell Kane has had a rough morning and all he wants is to eat his meal - but no, that is to be denied him and in true action hero style one encounter leads to another, and another, and like Stairway to Heaven each action builds, crescendo upon crescendo, leaving the reader/listener gasping for breath as our heroes leave a love letter to destruction across the city of San Pita.

The only thing missing from this book is a recipe for making the perfect carne asada for your own burrito.

5 out of 5 stars, will be recommending this to all of my friends.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Mid 90s jokey action movie as a book

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

TLDR; If you take a Die Hard style action movie, but make the motivation about a ruined lunch (a Burrito if you couldn't guess), you'd have this book.

So I'm not really sure what else to say with this one, the Narration is good, Given the type of book that it is, it probably wouldn't have to be, but it's a nice bonus that Ledford does a good job with it. The whole thing is a trip down memory lane, for the 80s/90s action movie fan. The action scenes play out well, and there are some decent laughs, and the story doesn't have any major plot holes. It's just a solid example of a fun, action book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

For fans of over-the-top 80's movies...

Maxwell Cain: Burrito Avenger by Adam Smith and narrated by J. D. Ledford is a revenge gone right reminiscent of the 80’s and even some movies today (Kung Fury, John Wick, Turbo Kid). If you enjoy over-the-top action with lots of carnage and revenge, this book is for you. If that isn't your thing or you don't have an appreciation for these things, stay clear.

What’s it about? A good guy, who just wants to eat his burrito, gets screwed over by others and attempts to take out the gangsters/bad guys with his strong-willed partner.
Over-the-top: ✔️
Excessive gunfire: ✔️
Nonstop (or close to it) revenge and action: ✔️
Violence: ✔️
Some humor: ✔️

You're not going to experience earth-shattering emotions/dialogue/etc. because that's not what this book is about, but you will be rooting for the duo. I listened to this in one sitting.

The narrator, J. D. Ledford, did a great job with this one. I am interested to hear her other narrations.

Overall, I would recommend. I imagine I’ll be listening to this again and would listen to a sequel in a heartbeat.

Parental guidance/trigger warnings: This is an adult book- it contains adult themes. Lots of violence, revenge, guns and swords, swearing, and similar things.

*I was given a free review copy of the audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review. Thank you for allowing me to listen and review the book!

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • A Reader
  • 05-01-19

Makes me miss the 80s and 90s.

This was a fun story that thankfully didn't let up on the action, wit, and great characters. I was raised on this kind of storytelling and have missed it lately. Glad to know it's still around. As for the Narrator? Ledford has a voice I could listen to for hours.