Your audiobook is waiting…

Frostblood

Narrated by: Jennifer English
Length: 10 hrs and 39 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (166 ratings)
Regular price: $26.22
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The Frost King will burn.

Seventeen-year-old Ruby is a Fireblood who has concealed her powers of heat and flame from the cruel Frostblood ruling class her entire life. But when her mother is killed trying to protect her, and rebel Frostbloods demand her help to overthrow their bloodthirsty king, she agrees to come out of hiding, desperate to have her revenge.

Despite her unpredictable abilities, Ruby trains with the rebels and the infuriating - yet irresistible - Arcus, who seems to think of her as nothing more than a weapon. But before they can take action, Ruby is captured and forced to compete in the king's tournaments that pit Fireblood prisoners against Frostblood champions. Now she has only one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who has taken everything from her - and from the icy young man she has come to love.

Vivid and compelling, Frostblood is the first in an exhilarating series about a world where flame and ice are mortal enemies...but together create a power that could change everything.

©2017 Elly Blake (P)2017 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"Ruby's a spitfire who faces her challenges with grit...." ( Kirkus Reviews)
"This is an enjoyable, fast-paced debut that blends romance into a story of suspenseful battles, royal prisons, and rebel schemes.... This series opener is perfect for fans of Red Queen and will delight those who love fantasy, adventure, and romance. A strong addition to any YA fantasy collection." ( School Library Journal)
"This enchanting and fast-paced debut lights up the page with magic, romance, and action, all of which is expertly interwoven throughout the text. Readers will be eagerly anticipating the next book in the series." ( Booklist)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    103
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    105
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    97
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this book

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Absolutely, I think this is my new favorite book!

What other book might you compare Frostblood to and why?

It almost reminds me of the series' 'Throne of Glass', 'Poison study', and 'Possession'. Almost but not really.

What about Jennifer English’s performance did you like?

I loved how she narrated it, her emphasis, the way she genuinely sounded happy when the book needed it, and also just her voice.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Not sure

Any additional comments?

Later in the book, I found myself guessing most everything that was going to happen. Which wasn't such a bad thing, keeping me snared. Finishing it in only one night, I am antsy to read the next.
-Kate

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Did not want to stop listening

Well written fantasy. Likeable heroine, action packed with a little romance. Looking forward to book #2.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Totally worth it! Give it a try!

I will admit the first 2 chapters were a little slow. I had to start over a few times. But by chapter 3 I was hooked. I found myself holding my breath in anticipation for what was coming next. Think hunger games with the action of red rising mixed with a little of the teenage angst from twilight. A sure hit. can't wait for book 2

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

just awesome

I dont normally like Romance heavy fantasy but this was so well written. you would think fire and ice would be original but it was absolutely original and masterfully written. so many fantasy books are filled with love and dragged out the story with little bits and pieces of action not this book.The pacing was perfect not too fast not too slow. Every word meant something. I've read over 700 books and this book is in my top 5. I will be buying next part of this series right after this review. the narrator was absolutely amazing she really brought the character to life and gave personality.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I received this book from a book club site. I wasn’t sure if I would enjoy it, but I read it in one sitting. I loved the characters and the story line. I also like the fact that the two main characters’ relationship wasn’t about lust, but was about respect toward one another. You don’t read stories like that very much these days. It was refreshing just to read a love story that was just so sweet and beyond the physical.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Read!

Elly wrote so much emotion into her story that it was easy to connect with the characters. I couldn't put the book down and will be buying the sequel straight away!

Update: I bought this for my mother this year and she said it was the first time in years that she sat up reading until 5am! Then she proceeded to get the sequels so she could read them back-to-back. Needless to say, my mother needs some sleep! LoL

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

ok not great

it was interesting but boring in spots the end wasn't bad but way to predictable.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

AMAZING!

This book got me out of my book slump and I am speechless after being lost in this world! I cannot wait to read the next one! Thank you, Ms. Blake for the wonderful story you have shared! It was absolute perfection!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good book and performance

this book was a bit slow to start but I thought it was well-written and really got you invested in the main characters. The vulnerability and strength of Ruby was relatable and made you root for her. Performance was great and heartfelt.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

aHHHHHHHH IM CRYING THIS WASSS GREATT

this was great!!!! This was such a good book!! like ahhhHHHA a a a :)