adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $26.22

Buy for $26.22

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The Frost King will burn.

Seventeen-year-old Ruby is a Fireblood who has concealed her powers of heat and flame from the cruel Frostblood ruling class her entire life. But when her mother is killed trying to protect her, and rebel Frostbloods demand her help to overthrow their bloodthirsty king, she agrees to come out of hiding, desperate to have her revenge.

Despite her unpredictable abilities, Ruby trains with the rebels and the infuriating - yet irresistible - Arcus, who seems to think of her as nothing more than a weapon. But before they can take action, Ruby is captured and forced to compete in the king's tournaments that pit Fireblood prisoners against Frostblood champions. Now she has only one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who has taken everything from her - and from the icy young man she has come to love.

Vivid and compelling, Frostblood is the first in an exhilarating series about a world where flame and ice are mortal enemies...but together create a power that could change everything.

©2017 Elly Blake (P)2017 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"Ruby's a spitfire who faces her challenges with grit...." ( Kirkus Reviews)
"This is an enjoyable, fast-paced debut that blends romance into a story of suspenseful battles, royal prisons, and rebel schemes.... This series opener is perfect for fans of Red Queen and will delight those who love fantasy, adventure, and romance. A strong addition to any YA fantasy collection." ( School Library Journal)
"This enchanting and fast-paced debut lights up the page with magic, romance, and action, all of which is expertly interwoven throughout the text. Readers will be eagerly anticipating the next book in the series." ( Booklist)

What listeners say about Frostblood

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    253
  • 4 Stars
    109
  • 3 Stars
    49
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    259
  • 4 Stars
    86
  • 3 Stars
    33
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    225
  • 4 Stars
    94
  • 3 Stars
    50
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this book

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Absolutely, I think this is my new favorite book!

What other book might you compare Frostblood to and why?

It almost reminds me of the series' 'Throne of Glass', 'Poison study', and 'Possession'. Almost but not really.

What about Jennifer English’s performance did you like?

I loved how she narrated it, her emphasis, the way she genuinely sounded happy when the book needed it, and also just her voice.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Not sure

Any additional comments?

Later in the book, I found myself guessing most everything that was going to happen. Which wasn't such a bad thing, keeping me snared. Finishing it in only one night, I am antsy to read the next.
-Kate

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Too YA for Me...

There are many small reasons why I don't like this book, which made it a little hard to give up on it. But the truth is every 15-20 minutes I thought, "I don't want to listening to this." Followed by, "I'll give it a few more minutes." Until finally I decided it wasn't worth the back and forth. Sometimes the narrator's voice made me uncomfortable (for lack of a better word). There were times when I really didn't care what happened to Ruby because I found her to be a little selfish. I'm usually a big fan of YA. I like the genre's non-lustful love stories. But this one tipped too far into wishy washy for me.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good book, sappy romance

Enjoyed the overall story but could have done without the over the top sappy romance. Also tends to be overly descriptive writing.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Did not want to stop listening

Well written fantasy. Likeable heroine, action packed with a little romance. Looking forward to book #2.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Totally worth it! Give it a try!

I will admit the first 2 chapters were a little slow. I had to start over a few times. But by chapter 3 I was hooked. I found myself holding my breath in anticipation for what was coming next. Think hunger games with the action of red rising mixed with a little of the teenage angst from twilight. A sure hit. can't wait for book 2

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great Story

*spoilers*

Overall my eldest and I enjoyed this book. It starts out as a slow burn but well worth the wait. There was one part around the middle where Ruby is being pushed to her limit by Arcus and then he lashes out when she fights back. Then SHE has to apologize. This was the only part I had an issue with since this is a very toxic trait and this book is meant for young, impressionable people. Also, this part conflicts with the character portrayal of such a strong female character. The rest of the story was original and captivating and I would still highly recommend.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

sooooo good!

This book was great. The plot was a little predictable, but with enough twist and turns to keep me from being able to put it down. cant wait to start the next book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Painfully slow.....

This was painfully slow.... I mean I literally skipped through the first 10 chapters and this was after trying to get into it after putting the audio down several times. However, after some determination to finish I’m somewhat glad I did. I say somewhat because certain aspects of the story I was not thrilled with such as “possessions” which I really wouldn’t let my teens read. Besides that after getting into it I couldn’t put it down till the end. Not sure about finishing the series for me it’s a meh. I did enjoy the banter between the H&h.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • TY
  • 04-04-19

Enjoyable Book

I really enjoyed this novel a lot more than I thought I would. The reading wasn’t crisp and clean but the narrator did a wonderful job separating voices and emphasizing important portions of the story. Definitely worth the credit!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

ok not great

it was interesting but boring in spots the end wasn't bad but way to predictable.

1 person found this helpful