Regular price: $15.98

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!

When the Eagle Hunts is the compelling third novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. For fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

Britannia, AD 44. Cato, a thoughtful junior officer in the Roman army, and his commanding centurion, Macro, are simply pawns in Rome's lust to conquer Britain. During the freezing winter, the two men and their legion fight the native savages in hand-to-hand battles that haunt Cato for days after. But in a place full of enemies, the most vicious are the Druids of the Dark Moon; brutal, merciless men who have captured the wife and children of General Plautius himself. So Macro and Cato are given a mission: to travel deep into enemy territory and recover the hostages. If they fail, the fate of the Roman army may just hang in the balance....

©2002 Simon Scarrow (P)2013 Headline Publishing Group Ltd.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    136
  • 4 Stars
    65
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    137
  • 4 Stars
    48
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    115
  • 4 Stars
    59
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jean
  • Santa Cruz, CA, United States
  • 03-01-16

Lots of Action

This is the third book in the series. Audible did not have book two available. The year is 44 AD during the Roman invasion of Britain. This is a historical military novel about two soldiers Macro and Cato of the Roman Second Legion.

A sudden storm strikes the Roman fleet bringing food, supplies, reinforcements and the wife, Lady Pomponia, and children of commanding General Plautus. The lead ship with Lady Pomponia aboard is driven off course before crashing against the rocks while attempting to beach the ship. The family is captured by the Druids. The Druids are attempting to exchange the General’s family for a number of captured Druids. Macro and Cato are sent to free the General’s family.

The book is well written and the plot is strong. Scarrow has some dramatic battle scenes along with lots of action. A major battle is fought at Camulodunum or what is modern day Colchester. The author also provides insight into the soldier’s life in the Roman Legion. Scarrow also provides some information about Celtic culture and religion as well as information about the Druids. I am not an expert about this time frame in history so cannot say how accurate Scarrow is in the historical information. I did note two items, first, he said the ships had slave chained to the oars. I know this is inaccurate as the Roman’s only had free men on the oars of ships. The second item he gives the impression the Druids are a tribe and the Celts are a tribe. It is my understanding that the Druids were the educated class of the Celtic peoples not a separate tribe of people. The book is easy to read and is a real page turner. David Thorpe does an excellent job narrating the book.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great narration, great book.

I wasn't so keen on the author when i started the series of books but he's grown on my and class him as one of my favourite narrators. I was sad to find he's not doing the subsequent books, so I doubt I will continue the series on Audible. The story itself is great though, so maybe i'll just buy the hardcopy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

worth the time

i read the books. so, i already was familiar with the writing. the narrator was a pleasant surprise. I thought he was truly more than one person his voice characters were so distinct. top notch narrator. buy the book for him even if Roman soldiers isn't your thing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Caeser ?

To heck with Caesar, all hail Macro and Cato !! Another great performance of another great book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Nice historical fiction

Great reader
Consistent characters
Who are likable
Would recommend
Similar to Bernard Cornwall
With plenty of shield wall and squares
To fight in

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Erik
  • Sooke, British Columbia, Canada
  • 04-12-14

Still entertaining!

The story line for this 3rd novel isn’t quite up to par with the previous two, but is still good. Simon Scarrow’s narration continues to greatly add to the audio version, and I certainly hope they don’t change narrators for follow on books.

If you haven’t been introduced to this series, I might want to start with the first book. If you’ve finished books one and two, and are considering the third book, I recommend you do so.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Simon
  • 09-09-15

And here I'm stuck!

It's a real shame (at least at the time of writing). This is such a great series, extremely well narrated, I love the characters but there are unfortunately gaps after this in the series which even after a year or two show no sign of being filled on Audible.

I'm determined to listen to these in order so will just have to wait. These books are still definitely worth reading but check out the gaps in the series first so you know what the situation is.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • jamie
  • 09-23-16

I love it

I absolutely adore this book and the eagle series as a whole. It's a complete tragedy they aren't all available through audible

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Oliver
  • 06-15-18

Another excellent book

Scarrow's writing evokes lots of feeling towards the charaters. This book is another success and I look forward to 'reading' the next one

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Vic Tye
  • 05-24-18

Love it but....

Well read, caught and grabbed my attention and the pace was perfect BUT he's pronounced Kay=Toe not Car...
Didn't really stop my enjoyment though

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Abigail Wheatley
  • 01-22-18

Great story. Good narrator.

Another great adventure for Macro and Cato. Well written. I love these characters. Edge of your seat listening.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sarah J
  • 10-17-17

Fabulous

I just love this series of books! I can’t wait to download book 4 and tune in to more in the life of these two characters!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ray Williams
  • 06-12-16

Great story

I found myself immersed in this story from the start. Very well written. Good continuation of the stories previously written.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • I WHITE
  • 06-11-16

Great tale

Would you listen to When the Eagle Hunts again? Why?

Great follow up to the first 2 books in the series.Can't wait for the next one.

What other book might you compare When the Eagle Hunts to, and why?

I try not to compare. I take each book on its own merits.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

Storming the Hill Fort.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

No

Any additional comments?

Would recommend to anyone.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Roy
  • 03-17-16

Does what it says on the tin.

familar hero's mixed with true historical names makes for a wining combo. I loved it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-22-16

great listen.

engaging story with engaging characters. I find myself looking for the next in the series when I have finished a book.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-16-18

Superb story and narrator

David Thorpe does an excellent job in all of his narrating in Eagles of the Empire. His character voices give the listener a visual image of the person. I look forward to more from him!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • kevinplee@hotmail.com
  • 03-04-18

Entertaining next chapter

Cato is an intelligent soft ex-imperial slave freed into the harsh life of the Roman military, it is his quick thought that wins out against the aggressive and brutal. It's great to follow this tale of friendship with a stereotypical bullish centurion and better still with this ending.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • jarrod
  • 11-16-17

Best in the series yet

Brilliant entry. A bit of a change but still a great listen. Can't wait to get through the next one in the series.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • V. Christoforou
  • 01-18-17

Very informative and entertaining

What made the experience of listening to When the Eagle Hunts the most enjoyable?

I love this series because Simon Scarrow has done a marvelous job of weaving fiction and truth together. You get the best of both worlds, entertainment and you get to learn a lot about the inner workings of the Roman Empire, the Legions which furthered the Roman ideal and were the backbone of all power in Rome and of course some great characters that you can follow and really get to know more and more as the stories develop!

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

It made me laugh, it made me a little anxious but all in all I was glad to have my eyes opened to the world of Ancient Rome that much further.