Regular price: $8.77

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Life is savage aboard a Viking raider. When young Orm Rurikson is plucked from the snows of Norway to join his estranged father on the Fjord Elk, he becomes an unlikely member of a notorious crew. They are the Oathsworn, so named after the spoken bond that ties them in brotherhood, and they ply a casual trade on the ocean wave, selling their swords to the highest bidder.

But times are changing. Loyalty to the old Norse Gods is fading, and the followers of the mysterious "White Christ" are gaining power across Europe. Hired as relic-hunters by the merchant rulers of a bustling city, the Oathsworn are sent in search of a legendary sword of untold value to the new religion. With only a young girl as guide, their quest will lead them onto the deep and treacherous waters of the "whale road", toward the cursed treasure of Attila the Hun. And to a challenge that will test the very bond that holds them together.

A significant new voice in historical fiction, Robert Low has created a startlingly modern tale in the style of the great Viking sagas. A heady mix of powerful suspense, blockbuster battles and religious intrigue, The Whale Road is a must for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Tim Severin.

©2007 Robert Low (P)2007 HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, London UK

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • David
  • High River, Alberta, Canada
  • 02-10-08

A great listen!

The Whale Road is a great escape into the fictional life of a young Viking -- the battles, travels, and intrigue of midievil culture and worldview. An enjoyable,extremely well-written and narrated book - perfect for those (like me!)who have enjoyed Cornwell's Saxons stories. This one will not disappoint! Here's hoping more stories are forthcoming...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rob
  • 04-08-13

Brilliant book broodingly broadcast by Rintaul

I am a lover of Robert Low's intelligent yet bloody Viking sagas. But I wondered how his rich tales would translate audibly. So I gave his David Rintaul-read Whale Road a try. Rintaul's Scots voice is charismatic,characterful and Viking enough for me. His theatrical, engaging delivery was a joy to listen to: from capturing the brooding hero Orm, to brutal battles and Low's bountiful insights to the Viking world. I recommend it thoroughly, and wish that more of Low's Oathsworn books would be recorded by Rintaul!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Chris dunnington
  • 01-24-18

tremendous

If you could sum up The Whale Road in three words, what would they be?

superb viking story

What did you like best about this story?

fast paced, the narrator is superb. i am devastated the other books in the series are not currently available..

What does David Rintoul bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

just a superb narrator. i will be looking for more titles read by him

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

the description of the main character having to climb through an enclosed area actually made me feel queasy they were that well narrated

Any additional comments?

if you loved the saxon stories, you will enjoy this.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dave Coleman
  • 09-16-16

A good Viking saga!

Good story, historically sound and well performed. Took a bit to engage with initially but worth it: a satisfying listen well worth 5 stars.