We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Silver Linings Playbook Audiobook

The Silver Linings Playbook: A Novel

Regular Price:$20.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

During his years in a neural-health facility, Pat Peoples has formulated a theory about silver linings. He believes that his life is a movie produced by God, that his mission is to become physically fit and emotionally supportive, and that if he succeeds, his happy ending will be the return of his estranged wife, Nikki.

When Pat goes to live with his parents, everything seems changed: no one will talk to him about Nikki, and his new therapist seems to be recommending adultery as a form of therapy. Then, Pat meets clinically depressed widow Tiffany, who offers to act as a liaison between him and his wife - provided he agrees to a secret contract that includes giving up football and performing in the next Dance Away Depression competition.

©2008 Matthew Quick; (P)2008 Blackstone Audio

What the Critics Say

"This offbeat story has all the markings of a crowd-pleaser." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (3182 )
5 star
 (1567)
4 star
 (1099)
3 star
 (388)
2 star
 (81)
1 star
 (47)
Overall
4.3 (2876 )
5 star
 (1446)
4 star
 (932)
3 star
 (378)
2 star
 (80)
1 star
 (40)
Story
4.4 (2872 )
5 star
 (1649)
4 star
 (902)
3 star
 (249)
2 star
 (39)
1 star
 (33)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Annie M. 04-23-13
    Annie M. 04-23-13 Member Since 2009

    Say something about yourself!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1219
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    187
    81
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    214
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Listened to it after the movie--loved both!"
    Would you listen to The Silver Linings Playbook again? Why?

    I was quite fascinated by the transformation of this funny, sad, touching tale from book to movie. I thought Ray Porter hit just the right notes with each character. I found myself laughing out loud, and crying a bit. Just like during the movie.


    What did you like best about this story?

    I am always captivated by characters who endeavor to create a beautiful life for themselves, even though life hasn't done them any favors to begin with. I also loved the fact that Mathew Quick was able to bring out the humor in what is a difficult situatuion, showing that "funny" can be found just about anywhere, if you're willing to open your heart.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    There is no particular scene that stands out for me, but I really loved the interactions between Pat and his psychiatrist (and fellow Eagles FANatic), Cliff. There was so much gentle wisdom there. I also liked the idea that, within ourselves, we can almost always find the right answer...if we just can quiet ourselves long enough to listen.


    Who was the most memorable character of The Silver Linings Playbook and why?

    Obviously, the two main characters stand out for me. I especially loved Pat's sweetness, which keeps coming out despite people constantly misunderstanding him. You simply cannot stop yourself from rooting for him.


    Any additional comments?

    For fans of the movie, this book version offers a glimpse into the world of screen writing. It is really interesting to see how the book was a springboard for the film, yet the two are quite different.

    I bought this book because 1) it was on sale and 2) another reviewer commented that it was the perfect companion to the movie. Even though the two versions differ, both are beautifully crafted, funny, and insightful.

    For fans of books like TRUTH IN ADVERTISING, ONE LAST THING BEFORE I GO, and BRIDGET JONES' DIARY. Oh, yeah...and also for fans of the Oscar-winning movie version.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Greg Wichita, KS, United States 03-29-13
    Greg Wichita, KS, United States 03-29-13 Member Since 2010

    Tell us about yourself!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    53
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    101
    54
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Is the movie better than the book???"

    The narration was great and the story moved right along, but there was nothing earth shattering or surprising. I kept hoping for a twist, but alas - nothing abnormal. I will watch the movie and see what all the fuss was about.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mom2pugs 03-03-17
    Mom2pugs 03-03-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Ray Porter is a fantastic narrator!"

    I loved this book! I have never seen the movie- only clips on YouTube. The book seems like it is much better than the movie. Pat and Tiffany are truly authentic characters, and Ray Porter does an amazing job bringing them to life. I really enjoyed being on the journey with Pat as he came to understand himself and his illness.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    carlie ackerman 02-09-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved this book!"

    I have loved this movie since it was released, now that I have heard the book- it is even more endearing. I think it is a great book for people who are struggling or know someone battling depression and mental illness. I would recommend it to anyone over 16!

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    01-09-17
    01-09-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    "Good his been"

    History been keep from race love been good come most August local area years focus

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    kschneider 01-05-17
    kschneider 01-05-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Better than the movie!"
    What made the experience of listening to The Silver Linings Playbook the most enjoyable?

    The story is constantly going and does not have dull moments. The change of voices helped keep my attention as well.


    What did you like best about this story?

    How it validated that rituals are therapeutic for a tramatized mind and the different views of PTSD and other mental illnesses that are not normally written about.


    What does Ray Porter bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    The expression of the characters.


    If you could take any character from The Silver Linings Playbook out to dinner, who would it be and why?

    Pat's mom. She seems like an amazing woman who has worked so hard to keep her family together and happy. No one wants to hear her point of view or her story and I would love to listen to it.


    Any additional comments?

    As a student in the psychological field, I appreciated the different perspective on the therapist / client relationship. I liked how he didn't remember the incident that put him in the "bad place" until the end. Whereas in the movie, it reveals that immediately. The book gives a better understanding and perspective on Dissociative Amnesia and also many different factors of PTSD that is generally not spoken of.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John & Donna Walsh 11-17-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Inspiring"

    Such an inspiring story about a serious issue. Laughed and cried as the story unfolded

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Laurie Kreitzer 11-03-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    55
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Ray Porter is magical"

    Normally I would avoid a book with so much family conflict but listening to it read exactly as I imagined it should be made such a difference. I loved the repeated Eagles cheer and detail every time of how they make the letters with their bodies. I can practically sing the fight song now and I'm not a football fan. The underlying themes that run through Pat's self talk are so realistic and rational, I agreed more with him than most non-medicated people. I liked the mantras and all of the imperfections the characters had. I did laugh but it is in no way a comedy. It's a well told story of someone lucky enough to have figured some things out.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mmm Colorado 10-15-16
    mmm Colorado 10-15-16 Member Since 2014

    mmm

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    136
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "love love love this book"

    Narrator brought the book to life. Happy to say this was one of the few books I've read that the movie did it justice.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer Florida 09-21-16
    Kindle Customer Florida 09-21-16

    Faithful

    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    "The movie is better"

    I loved the movie and read the book thinking the books are always better than the movies . not this time.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.