We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Potato Factory Audiobook

The Potato Factory: The Australian Trilogy, Book 1

Regular Price:$34.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Always leave a little salt on the bread...

Ikey Solomon's favorite saying is also his way of doing business, and in the business of thieving he's very successful indeed. Ikey's partner in crime is his mistress, the forthright Mary Abacus, until misfortune befalls them. They are parted and each must make the harsh journey from thriving nineteenth century London to the convict settlement of Van Diemen's Land.

In the backstreets and dives of Hobart Town, Mary learns the art of brewing and builds The Potato Factory, where she plans a new future. But her ambitions are threatened by Ikey's wife, Hannah, her old enemy. The two women raise their separate families, one legitimate and the other bastard. As each woman sets out to destroy the other, the families are brought to the edge of disaster.

©1995 Bryce Courtenay; (P)2000 Bolinda Publishing Pyt Ltd by arrangement with Penguin Group (Australia)

What the Critics Say

"In the tradition of Charles Dickens, Courtenay creates a unique cast of characters from the outset of this epic novel....Humphrey Bower's performance is a marvel...making this one of those rare books with a sweep of characters the readers come to care about deeply." (AudioFile)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (4857 )
5 star
 (2903)
4 star
 (1281)
3 star
 (393)
2 star
 (142)
1 star
 (138)
Overall
4.4 (3751 )
5 star
 (2346)
4 star
 (910)
3 star
 (286)
2 star
 (113)
1 star
 (96)
Story
4.6 (3749 )
5 star
 (2832)
4 star
 (644)
3 star
 (167)
2 star
 (49)
1 star
 (57)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Monnie J Heisler 09-07-15 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    74
    10
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Exception on the second read"

    Thanks Bryce and Humphrey! You two write and perform with exceptional talent! I am as drawn in by the characters and storyline as I was the first time reading!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    K. Lilienthal 08-03-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    147
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another great tale by Bryce Courtenay!"

    This is the 4th Courtenay book I've read, and I was not disappointed. Can't wait to start the next book in the series. Narration by Humphrey Bower was terrific!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    brian odom 07-24-15
    brian odom 07-24-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful story"

    Fantastic historical fiction with an all-time great antihero. A great story with profound characters that captures both the good and the bad in the people and world of Ikey Solomon.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sarah 07-08-15
    Sarah 07-08-15 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it more than I imagined I would!"

    Blew me away. A touching, lovely and beautiful story. Brilliantly narrated, with great cadence and voice inflexion.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. James 07-06-15
    J. James 07-06-15 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thrilling history"

    Easy to listen to , learned a little.. Finding a new series to go through

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jill 06-24-15
    Jill 06-24-15 Listener Since 2002
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    61
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it!!!"

    It was perfect! Humphrey is amazing at reading the story. I couldn't wait to listen. 24 hours well spent.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Baysmom04 06-12-15
    Baysmom04 06-12-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing"
    Would you listen to The Potato Factory again? Why?

    No. There are too many others that I want to listen to!


    What did you like best about this story?

    Rich characters, beautifully descriptive setting!


    What does Humphrey Bower bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Absolutely!


    If you could take any character from The Potato Factory out to dinner, who would it be and why?

    I would love to meet Hawk and Tommo.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kyle Vilas, NC, United States 05-05-15
    Kyle Vilas, NC, United States 05-05-15 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story"

    The audio equivalent of a "page turner" the story moves fast covering a lot of historical, cultural, and geographical content. I especially enjoyed the cameo appearance of Charles Dickens. Very entertaining.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    MetaDreaming 05-03-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful story, rich with historical detail."

    Compelling setting and characters, and superlative narration make this story come alive. It was hard to put down and now that I'm done with the first volume, can't wait to start the next.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    RLS 03-26-15
    RLS 03-26-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    116
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Exceptional!"

    Could not wait to get back to this reading each time we were called away! Eager to begin the next.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.