Regular price: $27.93

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the vein of Maeve Binchy, Rosamunde Pilcher, and Nicholas Sparks, New York Times best-selling author Robin Pilcher returns with his most enchanting novel yet, filled with captivating twists and turns of heart.

When Claire Barclay receives news that her beloved stepfather has had a stroke, she’s more than a little shaken. Leo is her last real relative, and his own children rarely check up on the old man. Claire and her husband, Art, leave New York and fly back to Scotland to care for him during the summer. Their visit makes clear that Leo is no longer capable of living on his own, but he is determined to stay in his beloved old house. Art comes up with the idea of turning the place into a conference center, thinking they could purchase the place from Leo and build him a cottage on the property. But the situation is much more complicated than it seems. Claire’s old flame, Jonas Fairwether, has become Leo’s caretaker and trusted confidant.

Though Claire distrusts Jonas’s motives, Leo chooses to take his advice to put the house up for public auction rather than sell directly to Art and Claire. Claire is immediately suspicious, and even more so when she finds out that another application has been submitted to develop the property. Does Jonas Fairwether want to knock down the Leo’s house and build a development? It looks like whoever is behind the plan is being driven by financial gain, but there may be an even stronger motive. The Long Way Home will keep readers on the edge of their seats. This is a masterful novel from a master storyteller.

©2010 Robin Pilcher (P)2010 Macmillan Audio

Critic Reviews

The Long Way Home is Robin Pilcher at his best. I devoured every word of this masterful storyteller.” (Debbie Macomber)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

incorrect Publisher's Summary

I read this book, thinking that it was the first, and that A Matter of Trust was the second. I enjoyed the book, but the Publisher's Summary for this books is incorrect- the correct summary is actually the one for A Matter of Trust. After downloading both, reading this one first, and then beginning the second, I realized they were the same book. I contacted Audible, who credited my account for the second and did agree, they are the same book, but different title because of different publishers. I think this should be noted so the same mistake is not made- Don't buy them both!
As for the book itself, the characters were fairly well-developed, and did indeed remind me of a Rosamund Pilcher book. I generally read thrillers, mysteries, and alternate with science fiction/fantasy and historical novels, but occasionally pick up Maeve Binchy, and have read Rosamunde Pilcher in the past. This was a nice change, certainly worth reading.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a wonderful story!

This is one of those books where the characters stay with you long ater you've finished it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Feel Good Book

What did you like best about this story?

I miss reading books by Robin Pilcher's mother Rosamond so I finally decided to give Robin a try. This story was refreshing - real people doing real things. I love books that take place in Scotland and/or England. The characters are so full of life and outspoken.

What about Kate Reading’s performance did you like?

I really like Kate's narration. I have heard her on other books and though I didn't retain her name, her voice was immediately recognizable. She has a good storytelling voice for this type of book. If there was anything that was off about her narration perhaps it was that I kept thinking she could have been younger.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

I don't want to give the ending away but I would say it was my favorite part. Relationships weren't destroyed.

Any additional comments?

I think I may give Robin Pilcher another chance. If you like his writing try "The Shell Seekers" by Rosamond Pilcher.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Love/Hate relationship with this book

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes. It has just enough mystery on why things are the way they are and it has a good ending although it made me cry

Who was your favorite character and why?

Jonas is my favorite. he did wrong and did whatever he could to help make up for it even though it didn't really benefit him at all.

What about Kate Reading’s performance did you like?

She did awesome! some readers i get a bit bored of their voices but hers was soothing even during the parts that wrenched my heart out. it was great

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes and No. I wanted to know what was happening so i wanted to keep reading it but the heartbreak of it made me want time to realize i wasn't these characters

Any additional comments?

Great Awesome book. Could have done without the flipping back and forth in time and between people so much, but the story needed it done that way to keep the suspense of what happened in the past that effect their future and how they moved forward with their lives

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The Long Way Home is Worth the Trip

After her mother's death, Clair Barrington returns to the Scottish mansion in which she had spent her formative years when her mother married her beloved stepfather, Leo. Clair's homecoming is filled with happy and sad memories of her best friend and unrequited love, Jonas, whose sudden rejection of Clair caused her to leave Scotland when she was a teenager. This mystery is added to others as Clair seeks to find her way home.
The Long Way Home received 4 stars from me because it isn't just a simple tale of romance lost; it evolves into an intriguing mystery. Pilcher paints fully developed characters and gives a satisfactory conclusion without trite sentiment. Excellent, light entertainment!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Pilcher never disappoints.

I love well rounded need of his stories . They take you all over the place only to bring you back home to a satisfying ending.