We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Eagle's Prey Audiobook

The Eagle's Prey: Eagles of the Empire, Book 5

Regular Price:$20.65
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The Eagle's Prey is the thrilling fifth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. A must-listen for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

It is late summer AD 44, and the battle-weary Roman legions are in their second year of campaigning against the British tribes. The troops' commander, General Plautius, is under pressure from the emperor to crush the natives once and for all.

Centurions Macro and Cato are with the crack Second Legion under the precarious leadership of Centurion Maximus, and it's their task to hold a ford across the river Tamesis when the natives are forced into a trap. But Maximus' nerve breaks at the critical point, allowing the enemy leader, Caratacus, and his men to escape.

Outraged by this failure, General Plautius orders the decimation of the unit. Their choice: die, or escape to become fugitives pursued by soldiers of their own ruthless army. Hiding from their former comrades as well as the Britons, Cato's small band of fugitives have only one chance to redeem themselves before they are hunted down like animals.

©2004 Simon Scarrow (P)2017 Headline Digital

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.8 (58 )
5 star
 (48)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.7 (55 )
5 star
 (44)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.8 (55 )
5 star
 (49)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Stephen Marietta, GA, United States 04-22-17
    Stephen Marietta, GA, United States 04-22-17

    I have nothing to offer anyone except my own confusion.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    23
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    54
    27
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Glad I finally got to hear it"

    I travel constantly so audiobooks are about the only way I get to read - and I don't know why Cato & Macro 4 & 5 were never available in the States, but I'm glad they finally are. I can give a review in one sentence: I liked the book so much I finished it in less than a day.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Timothy 09-09-17
    Timothy 09-09-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Solid Book."

    Solid book. Narrator was good but enjoyed the narrator of the first two books better.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Simon
    Waterlooville, UK
    6/2/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Pawns Are Important Too!"

    Once again our two heroes battle it out with both the belligerent British and the enemies from within including both incompetent senior officers and the devious upper echelons of the Roman army and Roman politics. This is a series that contains a lot of very good historical detail without ever taking itself too seriously. The chemistry between the introspective and academically-minded Cato and the bluff, straightforward Macro are what really makes these books. There is also of course great battle action plus some clever intrigue and with Jonathan Keeble at the microphone it will always get a fine airing.

    As I get into the later stages of the series it will be interesting to see if Simon Scarrow manages to keep up this good form. So far, and for the next two which I have also read previously, so good.

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful
  • val wills.
    7/29/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "excellent, as always"

    loved it. Jonathan keeble narration very good, very enjoyable, superb voices and easy to recognise.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • D
    7/19/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great read"

    didnt want to put it down, loved the story, looking forward to the next book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • goldcross
    7/10/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "as always brilliant "

    fantastic from start to finish
    even though i listened out of sequence it was easy to follow and a pleasure to be part or the Roman conquest of Brittania

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Beady
    5/25/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An expert glimpse into a Roman soldier's life"

    A nail biting adventure for the reader experiencing the tempestuous life of two centurions in Brittania. The battle scenes are described in detail and brought alive by the narrator, so real I could only listen in small chunks in case the blood and gore sprang out over me. The contrast with the older, gruff, typical soldier,Macro, and his younger companion Cato who thinks deeply but who is no less committed to the life of a soldier is expertly portrayed.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • trawler
    5/22/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Epic"

    Such a good series of books. Keeps you absolutely gripped throughout. I have been unable to stop listening.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Ferdinand
    5/9/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "one of the most gripping in the series"

    despite knowing the rough outcome from later books, this was incredible!
    so glad book 4 and 5 were finally released in audible!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • CT
    5/4/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Always a good series"

    This fills the gap that there has been in the series. Glad to have had it finally.
    I have now listened to the whole series.
    Hoping for another soon.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.