Regular price: $20.65

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The Eagle's Prey is the thrilling fifth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. A must-listen for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

It is late summer AD 44, and the battle-weary Roman legions are in their second year of campaigning against the British tribes. The troops' commander, General Plautius, is under pressure from the emperor to crush the natives once and for all.

Centurions Macro and Cato are with the crack Second Legion under the precarious leadership of Centurion Maximus, and it's their task to hold a ford across the river Tamesis when the natives are forced into a trap. But Maximus' nerve breaks at the critical point, allowing the enemy leader, Caratacus, and his men to escape.

Outraged by this failure, General Plautius orders the decimation of the unit. Their choice: die, or escape to become fugitives pursued by soldiers of their own ruthless army. Hiding from their former comrades as well as the Britons, Cato's small band of fugitives have only one chance to redeem themselves before they are hunted down like animals.

©2004 Simon Scarrow (P)2017 Headline Digital

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.9 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Solid Book.

Solid book. Narrator was good but enjoyed the narrator of the first two books better.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Stephen
  • Marietta, GA, United States
  • 04-22-17

Glad I finally got to hear it

I travel constantly so audiobooks are about the only way I get to read - and I don't know why Cato & Macro 4 & 5 were never available in the States, but I'm glad they finally are. I can give a review in one sentence: I liked the book so much I finished it in less than a day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Simon
  • 06-02-17

Pawns Are Important Too!

Once again our two heroes battle it out with both the belligerent British and the enemies from within including both incompetent senior officers and the devious upper echelons of the Roman army and Roman politics. This is a series that contains a lot of very good historical detail without ever taking itself too seriously. The chemistry between the introspective and academically-minded Cato and the bluff, straightforward Macro are what really makes these books. There is also of course great battle action plus some clever intrigue and with Jonathan Keeble at the microphone it will always get a fine airing.

As I get into the later stages of the series it will be interesting to see if Simon Scarrow manages to keep up this good form. So far, and for the next two which I have also read previously, so good.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Kindle Customer
  • 10-24-17

Britannia battles on

Good read/listen, a bit relentless if your not keen on blood and guts. But enjoyable none the less

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • val wills.
  • 07-29-17

excellent, as always

loved it. Jonathan keeble narration very good, very enjoyable, superb voices and easy to recognise.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • D
  • 07-19-17

great read

didnt want to put it down, loved the story, looking forward to the next book.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • goldcross
  • 07-10-17

as always brilliant

fantastic from start to finish
even though i listened out of sequence it was easy to follow and a pleasure to be part or the Roman conquest of Brittania

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Beady
  • 05-25-17

An expert glimpse into a Roman soldier's life

A nail biting adventure for the reader experiencing the tempestuous life of two centurions in Brittania. The battle scenes are described in detail and brought alive by the narrator, so real I could only listen in small chunks in case the blood and gore sprang out over me. The contrast with the older, gruff, typical soldier,Macro, and his younger companion Cato who thinks deeply but who is no less committed to the life of a soldier is expertly portrayed.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • trawler
  • 05-22-17

Epic

Such a good series of books. Keeps you absolutely gripped throughout. I have been unable to stop listening.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Ferdinand
  • 05-09-17

one of the most gripping in the series

despite knowing the rough outcome from later books, this was incredible!
so glad book 4 and 5 were finally released in audible!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • CT
  • 05-04-17

Always a good series

This fills the gap that there has been in the series. Glad to have had it finally.
I have now listened to the whole series.
Hoping for another soon.

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Pamela
  • 08-16-17

love the series and the people

Interesting time of history, interesting and likable characters, great adventures, not too grim, not flufffy. Perfect escapist listening!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Craig
  • 05-31-17

love this adventure!

love this adventure! Macro is a legend and Cato is very interesting. For Rome!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Delmar
  • 04-19-17

Superb adventure

Well narrated, with excellent character voices.An exciting story in the lives of Cato and Macro.