We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Eagle and the Wolves Audiobook

The Eagle and the Wolves: Eagles of the Empire, Book 4

Regular Price:$21.31
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!

The Eagle and the Wolves is the gripping fourth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

Britannia, AD 44. Occupation is never easy. The enemy is butchering their supply convoys, their garrison town is starving and the truce with the locals is uneasy at best. Young Cato, newly promoted, and veteran centurion Macro are ordered to train the Wolves and the Boars, two cohorts of barbarian Britons, and introduce them to the brutal drills of the Roman Imperial Army. Macro is confident they'll win the natives over, but Cato worries about putting weapons into the hands of potential rebels. Ultimately, only one thing matters: is there a difference between the enemy at their gates, and the allies in their own camp?

©2003 Simon Scarrow (P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Ltd.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (64 )
5 star
 (48)
4 star
 (13)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.8 (60 )
5 star
 (49)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.8 (61 )
5 star
 (49)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
Sort by:
  • jamie
    6/28/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Why was this released in a weird order?"

    loved it but It was released a long time after book 11. Why? I enjoy the stories so it makes little difference but now I have the time line messed up

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Simon
    Somewhere between a pair of headphones.
    3/26/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Boys are Back in Town"

    At last this book is available on Audible UK with the next following soon. A great present from our friendly audiobook supplier!

    Macro and Cato are once again thrown into misadventure as they are unwittingly placed into the heart of the Emporer's campaign for Britain both in terms of the military and diplomacy. As ever our chalk and cheese leads approach the situation in their own unique ways with, needless to say, mixed results. It all builds very enjoyably until the final few hours of the book which bring it to a close with a crunching set of action set pieces brimming with fine detail.

    I think this is as good as anything else I've read in the series to date.and I'll be lapping up the next one as soon as I can!

    5 of 7 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.