Regular price: $21.31

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!

The Eagle and the Wolves is the gripping fourth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

Britannia, AD 44. Occupation is never easy. The enemy is butchering their supply convoys, their garrison town is starving and the truce with the locals is uneasy at best. Young Cato, newly promoted, and veteran centurion Macro are ordered to train the Wolves and the Boars, two cohorts of barbarian Britons, and introduce them to the brutal drills of the Roman Imperial Army. Macro is confident they'll win the natives over, but Cato worries about putting weapons into the hands of potential rebels. Ultimately, only one thing matters: is there a difference between the enemy at their gates, and the allies in their own camp?

©2003 Simon Scarrow (P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Ltd.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

great story series with excellent narration.

read the series in order. much knowledge and enjoyment to be found. the narrator uses, with a few exceptions, classical Latin pronunciation, which alone is worth the money to me.

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • jamie
  • 06-28-17

Why was this released in a weird order?

loved it but It was released a long time after book 11. Why? I enjoy the stories so it makes little difference but now I have the time line messed up

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Simon
  • 03-26-17

The Boys are Back in Town

At last this book is available on Audible UK with the next following soon. A great present from our friendly audiobook supplier!

Macro and Cato are once again thrown into misadventure as they are unwittingly placed into the heart of the Emporer's campaign for Britain both in terms of the military and diplomacy. As ever our chalk and cheese leads approach the situation in their own unique ways with, needless to say, mixed results. It all builds very enjoyably until the final few hours of the book which bring it to a close with a crunching set of action set pieces brimming with fine detail.

I think this is as good as anything else I've read in the series to date.and I'll be lapping up the next one as soon as I can!

5 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Mr. Anthony D. Bateman
  • 12-09-17

fight or die

The toughest mission yet for our heroic duo. As usual a brilliant mix of fact and fiction you can't put down, (or press pause).

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Patrick S.
  • 11-24-17

Narration

Just listened to the first three narrated by David Thorpe and loved them. Doesn’t have the same vibe to it with the new narrator, so can’t stick with it. Story rating is default as I didn’t make it past chapter 2. Shame. Always stick with the same narrator I think.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Graeme Keenan
  • 10-27-17

Misslng link

This wasn't available when I first listened to the series so it filled in a few small gaps but as usual just great Macro and Cato story

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Pamela
  • 06-13-17

ripping historical yarn

I'm invested in the characters, and they are set in a great sweep of history. I intend to keep going with the series

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Sue Shailer
  • 04-02-17

Simon Scarrow excels again

Once again Simon Scarrow hits the mark with this historical tale of Roman legions invading Britain. Descriptions of daily life, tribal customs, and frenzied battles are balanced with the mateship of Cato and Macro and their witty repartee. I would recommend to all who like a good adventure story, anyone who likes historical novels, and everyone who likes "buddy" stories as these two have the best bromance ever.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Delmar
  • 03-29-17

fantastic story and excellent narration

A great story and well read, excellent voices for Macro and Cato! Jonathan does s superb job.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-27-17

Don't go backwards!!!

Somewhat disappointing. Love Jonathan Keeble but allowing this to be published on audible after invader and also after Cato an Macro have gone through many adventures, didn't allow for Cato to be as "junior" a centurion as I would have hoped. Just proves that books should be published in order. And, with the introduction of the Invader series before this was "audibled"!! Doesn't help. Love the Figulus character and the overlap is good but it's all got a bit higgledepiggldldy, if you know what I mean??????