We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Cold Dish Audiobook

The Cold Dish: A Walt Longmire Mystery

Regular Price:$38.47
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Introducing Wyoming's Sheriff Walt Longmire in this riveting novel from the New York Times best-selling author of Dry Bones, the first in the Longmire series, the basis for the hit Netflix original series Longmire.

Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr, and Robert B. Parker will love this outstanding first novel, in which New York Times best-selling author Craig Johnson introduces Sheriff Walt Longmire of Wyoming's Absaroka County. Johnson draws on his deep attachment to the American West to produce a literary mystery of stunning authenticity, full of memorable characters. After 25 years as sheriff of Absaroka County, Walt Longmire's hopes of finishing out his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Pritchard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody has been one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a local Cheyenne girl. Somebody, it would seem, is seeking vengeance, and Longmire might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 rifle.

With lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and a cast of characters both tragic and humorous enough to fill in the vast emptiness of the high plains, Walt Longmire attempts to see that revenge, a dish best served cold, is never served at all.

Listen to all of Craig Johnson's Walt Longmire mysteries.

©2004 Craig Johnson (P)2006 Recorded Books LLC

What the Critics Say

"A strong sense of place, a credible plot, and deft dialogue lift Johnson's good-humored debut novel." (Publishers Weekly)
"Johnson, who lives in Ucross, Wyoming, knows the Western landscape well, and creates stunning and violent scenes of the Rocky Mountains." (Bookmarks)
"We in the West have a major new talent on our hands." (The Denver Post)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (8780 )
5 star
 (5414)
4 star
 (2389)
3 star
 (686)
2 star
 (171)
1 star
 (120)
Overall
4.5 (7430 )
5 star
 (4608)
4 star
 (2018)
3 star
 (581)
2 star
 (131)
1 star
 (92)
Story
4.6 (7444 )
5 star
 (5509)
4 star
 (1450)
3 star
 (317)
2 star
 (97)
1 star
 (71)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Dataman 09-12-12
    Dataman 09-12-12

    Say something about yourself!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    427
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    867
    41
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    30
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not Your Ordinary Western Novel (Series)"

    This is the first book in a very good series. I can not add much to the many reviews already posted but what impressed me the most was how descriptive this author is for both the characters and the environment. Like "Fargo", the cold just seems to seep into you as you listen. Have a sweater close by even if it is summer. The characters sparkle in depth and breadth and are not always what they seem to be. Read this first one and I wager you will read them all.
    If this review was helpful, please let me know. Cheers!

    177 of 182 people found this review helpful
  •  
    DMHVetSurveyor Western Wisconsin 01-13-07
    DMHVetSurveyor Western Wisconsin 01-13-07 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    669
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    344
    92
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    40
    0
    Overall
    "Send more dishes please!!!"

    A very well written book with superior narration. The author takes you into the troubled life of a rural county sheriff in Wyoming. By the end of the book the area seems like home and most of the characters seem like old friends you don't want to leave. Well designed plot, but the journey 90% of the enjoyment. Buy, read & enjoy! This book is a can't miss.

    87 of 93 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Chris 01-21-07
    Chris 01-21-07

    I enjoy listening to audiobooks while working in my shop or around the house -sort of mental multitasking.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    219
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    420
    41
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    0
    Overall
    "Cold Dish"

    I have downloaded hundreds of things from Audible over several years. This is among my favorites. The narrator is excellent. The characters are believable. The plot is believable, but not obvious. I recommend it.

    117 of 126 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carol 03-29-13
    Carol 03-29-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    85
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    30
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Outstanding!!!"

    Oh Lord, Please don't let anything happen to George Guidall. Keep him safe for all who listen to his wonderful narration of the Walt Longmire Mystery series. He brings it to life. I was waiting in an office recently while listening to his narration of "Cold Dish" and suddenly barked out a laugh I couldn't control. All heads turned my way, and I apologized and stated it was an audible book I was listening to. Smiles all around. The series by Craig Johnson is as wonderful as the narration. Thank you audible.com for much enjoyment!

    85 of 92 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Gotta Tellya Knoxville, TN 04-24-15
    Gotta Tellya Knoxville, TN 04-24-15 Member Since 2013

    KEC

    HELPFUL VOTES
    456
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    174
    154
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    24
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Liked The Cold Dish, but..."

    There is so much I liked about this story. The characters are well developed, realistic and appealing. The plot had a good share of twists and turns and who-done-it suspense. I couldn't wait to reach the conclusion, yet didn't want the story to end. The narrator voiced the characters well. All good things, right? My only disappointment, and I felt it throughout, was that the story did not flow. It seemed to drag. The percentage of story devoted to action was too small. Descriptions and explanations took up much of this book. While listening, I often thought, "Get on with the story!" It was hard to tell if the problem was with the leisurely narration or the author's style or both. Sometimes I felt so frustrated that I skipped ahead. I even dozed off while listening--more than once. Even so, I did love the characters and want to read/hear more about them. I hope sequels will move at a quicker pace.

    28 of 30 people found this review helpful
  •  
    C. Telfair Shepherdstown, WV, United States 11-13-12
    C. Telfair Shepherdstown, WV, United States 11-13-12

    Audible has changed my life! Dry , itchy eyes were destroying one of my greatest pleasures - reading. Now I am experiencing books again!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3408
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    354
    317
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    365
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "How Did I Miss This Series?"

    So glad Audible listeners put me on to this one! Somehow I had missed the Longmire series. George Guidall brings the perfect raspy voice and wry humor to make these characters come alive. Just a great listen!

    27 of 30 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Optimistic skeptic 09-15-09 Member Since 2014

    Terry McArdle

    HELPFUL VOTES
    114
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    89
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    "Dave Robicheaux in Wyoming"

    Perfect narration, as ever, from George Guidall.

    As Walt Longmire struggles with grief, alcohol and a police force that's either competent and irascible or neither, he somehow rises. He links with his community, Indian mysticism and long-hidden secrets to figure out who's killing some young men who richly deserve it.

    Walt has credible relationships and shortcomings even as he's brave and relentless on the way to saving a friend and finding a killer. I was sad to see it end.

    62 of 71 people found this review helpful
  •  
    NOKWISA Garland, Texas, United States 06-14-12
    NOKWISA Garland, Texas, United States 06-14-12 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    435
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    263
    147
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    59
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thoughly Enjoyable"

    Great story telling. With Mr. G doing the narration this more like sitting around the fire on a cold winter night with a great story teller. I really enjoyed all the characters in this book. Walt's relationships with each one is unique, but the bond between Walt and Bear is outstanding. Loved the voices Mr. G uses for Walt and Bear. Having been in or at least through many places spoken of in the book was really fun for me. Love Bear's Rez Rocket. In this series you will get a good picture of what life IS really like on reservations with a murder mystery thrown in for good measure. Oh BTW, be prepared to laugh out loud at the barbs these characters throw at each other. Just totally enjoyable.

    24 of 27 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael Delp 06-22-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    53
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story but course language"

    It was a good story but way too much profanity. I listen to books when I travel and had to turn this one off with my daughter in the car.

    53 of 63 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Juanita Whitehall, Virgin Islands (U.S.) 08-06-07
    Juanita Whitehall, Virgin Islands (U.S.) 08-06-07
    HELPFUL VOTES
    30
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    415
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    5
    Overall
    "Great Read!"

    Johnson writes on a par with Pat Conroy...(Beach Music). He does his homework ... he is authoritative whether talking about fly fishing, Wyoming, Medical injuries, wine, firearms, or forensic matters.... His descriptions of scenes and characters are vivid. It is not the story but the storytelling that makes this book remarkable. I have just bought his next two in the series and can't wait to start them.

    25 of 29 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.